Home > Show and Tell > Show and Tell #2

Show and Tell #2

Here’s my second foray into the Stirrup Queen’s Show and Tell.  I’m still not entirely certain I get how it’s supposed to work, but not knowing what I’m doing shouldn’t stop me trying!

I had a good idea of something for show and tell, however I don’t seem to have a photo of it up on Flickr.  So I’ll just have to photograph it for next week.  So I randomly selected a page of photos in my photostream and came up with this: my glass mosaic house number:

GREEN Grout

Almost complete mosaic house number

I made this in October 2007.  I love making things but rarely do so.  I allow being busy to be an excuse.  But I’d like to make something, and coming across this helps give me a poke in that direction.  Yes, I have a filthy house and my garden really needs a lot of work.  However doing some of that doesn’t mean I can’t find a little time in each week to work on something.  This didn’t take me long to make, was so enjoyable to put together, and is something we see and enjoy every day.

It’s hard to see in this photo, but it is the little green square to the right of our front door:

Number 12 on house (but in shadow)

I’ve recently bought a sewing machine.  Don’t tell my mother-in-law; she gave me her mother’s Singer sewing machine to use.  It is still in good working order, but it is just too beautiful to use.  I haven’t told her this because she never gives me things and I’m rather touched she gave me this.  So I’m thinking of making a small throw of some sort with my new sewing machine.  (I won’t call it a quilt because that’s too intimidating; I have a friend who is a professional quilter and I have neither the talent nor patience to do anything in that league.)  I think this will help me in the changes I’ve been trying to make.  Not only do I think it would be a great thing to take my mind off IVF (helping me with my ‘deal with stress better’ goal), but I actually think I might make it with a baby in mind.  Not that I’ll admit it to anyone except here in this blog, but I’ll know.

I have an online friend who goes to the same FS that I do, and one of her ways of dealing with failed cycles is that she imagines her baby does/will exist bhut it just wasn’t time.  She makes things and does things with this baby in mind.  For me, although my one pregnancy ended too soon I still regret that while I was pregnant I didn’t start preparing for the baby’s arrival.  I ate right, etc.  My husband and I talked and planned.  But we never actually bought something for him or started preparing his room.  If I ever get pregnant again, I want to know that I’ve started welcoming our child.  I don’t want to let fear make me stingy.  Yes, maybe it will hurt if the pregnancy ends early again.  But I’ll know that while that child existed, I was readying a corner of the world for it.

So it might seem rather round-about, but that’s what today’s Show and Tell object means to me.  It’s a reminder not just to take care of myself and enjoy creating something, but also to start caring about any lives that we might create in the future, someday.

Categories: Show and Tell
  1. 18/03/2010 at 5:02 pm

    I love the mosaic house number. And, I do hope that when you make the throw you will share it with us.

    • 18/03/2010 at 5:11 pm

      If I do, I’ll post it as a Show and Tell item. 🙂

  2. pandabox33
    19/03/2010 at 1:33 am

    Oh wooooow not only is the mosaic beautiful, the house looks great ! It’s so féerique !

  3. 21/03/2010 at 2:40 am

    Wow, that is absolutely beautiful. And I love all your flowers in your yard too!

  1. 23/03/2010 at 6:52 am

Leave a Reply

