Home > Show and Tell > Show and Tell #3

Show and Tell #3

For my third foray into Stirrup Queen’s Show and Tell, I’d like to present to the class this vase my husband and I bought on our wedding day at the Grand Canyon:
Wedding vases with Anasazi designs

But what’s this? You’re seeing double?  Well, it’s a bit of a story. . .

I’m originally from the US, although I’ve lived in several different countries.  However I’ve now settled permanently in Tasmania, Australia.  I even met my husband here.  Can you believe how silly he was to be hiding in Tasmania – of all places – all those years?  He’s very lucky I found him!  But find him I did.  We actually started going out just over 2 months after I moved to Tassie in 2002.  He proposed on my birthday in 2005.  But where do you get married when your family lives in different hemispheres?  Do you have it where you live, because that’s where more of the people you see day-to-day and are therefore more a part of your life are?  Or do you have it in a different country, where logistics of organising what you want are basically impossible but the friends and family who don’t see you often can see your wedding?  Or do you have a wedding in both places – and if so, which is your REAL wedding?

So we decided to have a private wedding – no family, no friends, just us – and then have a party in each country.  A PARTY, not a reception.  I was never one of those girls who dreamed of an elaborate wedding.  And of course as soon as we told people we were engaged my mother and sister started going crazy talking ‘wedding’ and using it as their new reason to argue with each other.  So we sort of randomly decided to get married at the Grand Canyon.  We organised most stuff via the internet – the celebrant, the photographer, accommodation at the Grand Canyon, dinner that night with a wedding cake.  Then we organised parties, one to take place in California at the winery my sister manages and one here in Hobart.  We told no one where or when we’d be getting married, just that we would.

We flew to the US.  It was my then-husband-to-be’s first time in the US.  So it was always planned that after a few days in the San Francisco Bay Area subjecting him to baseball games and my family we would travel around.  We borrowed my parents’ camper and headed off on a wonderful trip.  And arrived at the Grand Canyon the day before our wedding.  On the morning of our wedding, my husband woke e early to see the sunrise.  (Which sounds lovely, but I hadn’t slept well and was really grumpy I didn’t have my sleep-in!!)  We grabbed breakfast, then headed down the Bright Angel trail.  Our wedding wasn’t until sunset, so we wanted a good walk down into the canyon.  We turned back only a few (7?) miles in as we knew the walk back up to the rim would be uphill and take longer.  However we’re experienced bushwalkers and actually got back to the rim just before noon!

So with time on our hands, we went shopping.  At Hopi House, we decided to buy this vase.  (I know – finally she’s getting to the vase!)  The patterns are inspired by Anasazi petroglyphs; the shape of the vase is that used by native American tribes for wedding vases.  It’s believed that as part of the ancient marriage ceremony the medicine man would prepare a special potion for the couple, who would drink it from the two spouts of the vase.  We not only liked it, but it seemed perfect for our wedding day.  Then we had showers, and at sunset we were married.  Our photographer and his assistant were our witnesses – along with everyone who had come to Grandeur Point to catch the sunset!
Our Wedding Ceremony, Grandeur Point, Grand Canyon

So why are there two vases?  Because my family isn’t good with punctuality or organisation.  The morning we were flying out, my parents were flapping around the house in a panic.  Which I don’t understand as it was my husband and I who needed to be packed and organised – and were had everything under control.  My mum especially was flapping around; she kept ‘helping’ us by picking up our stuff and putting it in different places, moving boxes and things around, etc.  Then as we were all headed out the door to the car she kept insisting on helping us with bags and things – so we had no idea what we had and didn’t have.  When they returned home after getting us on our flight, they found a bag of our souvenirs and gifts in my parents’ ensuite, a place neither Scott nor I had been.  Sigh.  After a wait of several months, our souvenirs and gifts arrived.  Minus our wedding vase.  We asked them about it, and all they could think was that my mum might have put it into a box that was crushed and put into the recycling.

They may not understand punctuality or being organised, but my parents aren’t heartless.  They said nothing to us, but used this as an excuse to visit the Grand Canyon to see if they could get us another vase.  And they found one!  After they got home, and before they’d posted the vase to us, my father was putting some wine into a wine rack – and found the original wedding vase tucked away.  I have no idea what sort of ‘logic’ could have spurred anyone to put it there, but there it was.  So they posted both vases to us, with the orignal carefully labeled as such and the replacement along as ‘insurance’.  So there they are finally – my wedding vase and the spare!

Categories: Show and Tell
  1. Mel
    25/03/2010 at 12:25 pm

    That is such a good story. Much better to have two (even with the frustration that probably went along with hearing that your original vase was possibly tossed) and the story. I love that you didn’t tell anyone that you were getting married and went and did this on your own. What an amazingly gorgeous wedding photo.

    • 25/03/2010 at 12:31 pm

      We couldn’t tell anyone in my family as they would have decided to ‘surprise’ us! It made for such a relaxed, enjoyable wedding!

  2. 25/03/2010 at 1:22 pm

    That photo is awesome! What a great memory. I love the story of the two vases 🙂

  3. 25/03/2010 at 3:33 pm

    What a great story. Congratulations on finding your love, especially since he was hiding so well. : ) Beautiful photo!

  4. 25/03/2010 at 4:29 pm

    Great story. Beautiful photo of the 2 of you. And it never hurts to have a spare. 😉

    ICLW #33

  5. 25/03/2010 at 9:32 pm

    Sweet story, that was so nice of your parents!! Hope the weather in Tassie is treating you well!
    ICLW hugs from a fellow Aussie 🙂

  6. a
    26/03/2010 at 12:56 am

    Great story! My husband and I did something similar (although we only had a distance of 300 miles between our families!) when we got married – sunset cruise/wedding in Key West, FL.

    My cousin, however, had 3 weddings – one in DC, where her husband worked; one in San Francisco where she lived and worked (and where her husband’s family lives); and one in Chicago, where we all grew up. In her case, multiple weddings were somewhat justified – they were waiting for her husband’s annulment to come through so they could be married in the Catholic Church. They had the first two weddings almost a year before the one in Chicago.

  7. 26/03/2010 at 5:47 am

    What a fabulous story and I love the vases!

  8. 26/03/2010 at 10:19 am

    What a lovely story. You can consider your marriage to be doubly lucky.
    We also had a private ceremony and party for our wedding.

    ICLW

  9. 27/03/2010 at 1:25 am

    Love the vases – but what a bunch of runaround to get them! Great wedding photo as well – I’m sure it was so beautiful there that day!

    ~ICLW

  10. 27/03/2010 at 10:09 am

    How wonderful to get married in such a beautiful place. Those vases hold a lot of memories.

  11. 28/03/2010 at 1:43 am

    what a beautiful picture! see, now the vases are going to be around forever with this great story!

    happy iclw!

  12. 28/03/2010 at 9:39 am

    What a lovely wedding spot! And I love how you ended up with two vases–now you always have a backup in case of any future mishaps! 🙂

    • 28/03/2010 at 10:47 am

      Hey yeah – maybe if we EVER actually have a live birth I won’t have to screech quite so much about playing ball in the house! 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

