Home > Show and Tell > Show and Tell #4

Show and Tell #4

Stirrup Queens may not be doing show and tell any more, but I thought I may as well keep it going in my blog.

Well, I finished the ‘thing’ I made for the friend who is due the day after I was.  It’s not great but wasn’t too bad – which is good as it wasn’t tooo embarrassing to give her.  She and her partner said they love it.  They don’t have to.  I do hope they get some use out of it, but mainly I hope receiving it means they know I care about them and their little one.  I think they still feel bad that I’ve been trying for so long but my baby died.  I think they worry that her pregnant-ness is a constant reminder of what I don’t have.  Which it is, but I don’t wish their baby had died too or anything.  I teared up a little when they opened it, but I kept a happy face.  Here it is:
The Thing

In my last ‘Positive Changes’ post I mentioned I was going to make one for our baby – the one we may never have.  Well yesterday was the first day of my injections for this cycle, so I gave it a start:

Oh no - I'm thinging again!

I don’t like all of the blocks (especially some in the back row), but I figure I’ll make a bunch, use the ones I like, and toss the rest.  There will be solid blocks alternated with these blocks.  The colours are better in real life – this wasn’t a great photo, but I took it quickly to show a friend.  So there it is.  It may never be used, but I’ll be ready.  I already love my baby who doesn’t exist, just as I love my first baby more than you can know.  Too bad he never had a chance to find out.

  1. 01/04/2010 at 2:37 pm

    I know what you mean about the loss and other people…I am truly happy for others…but, bottom line is I’m jealous!!!! It is a beautiful quilt! I always wanted to learn how to quilt…my mother in law was going to make my sons bedding…no need now 😦

    • 01/04/2010 at 3:23 pm

      I wouldn’t say I’ve learned how to quilt! I have friends who quilt – and one who is a professional quilter – so I don’t feel like I can call what I make a quilt. It’s just a thing!

      It’s nice you have people that will be excited about your baby when you have your second. My mother-in-law couldn’t care less, and I don’t live in the same country as my mother. Plus my relationship with my mum is. . .complicated.

  2. 03/04/2010 at 11:15 pm

    Hey there!
    thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. The quilt is so beautiful as is the new one you are starting. Good luck with this cycle. I am just now contemplating the rollercoaster of IVF but not there yet.
    Also I am so sorry for the loss of your little baby, how difficult to go through all of this and then to lose the baby you worked to so hard to get. Hoping that you get your rainbow baby…and soon!

  3. Eve
    17/04/2010 at 4:46 pm

    I love the quilts, especially the bottom one. I’ve never done any quilting but I was planning one for our baby, and I’ve been thinking I might still make it even without our baby… I currently have this book out of the library. I’ve been thinking I might do a landscape applique rather than traditional quilt –

    http://books.google.com.au/books?id=7yYvD2ZSevkC&lpg=PA1&dq=beyond%20the%20horizon&pg=PA1#v=onepage&q&f=false

    I like this bird quilt too:
    http://www.sewgirlyalterations.com/2009/02/18/bird-mobiles-and-quilts-oh-my/

  1. 08/06/2010 at 5:26 pm

Leave a Reply

