Home > Stim Cycle #12 > OPU #12 on Friday

OPU #12 on Friday

Just back from my second follicle scan.  My right ovary had follicles measuring 9,  19, 14, 19, 15, and 14 mm.  My left ovary had finally woken up and had lots of follicles, but the largest was only 11 mm.  Bill isn’t going to wait for the left ovary; my ovum pick up will be Friday.  I’m not keen on Friday OPUs; my favourite day to have an OPU is Wednesday as our clinic then does a 2-day transfer on the Friday – and then I can spend the weekend being horizontal.  I know they say it makes no difference, but it doesn’t feel right to ‘resume normal activities’ after an embryo transfer. So IF I have any embryos (not likely) the transfer will be Monday.  I’ll be able to take the rest of Monday off work, but it will be back to the office Tuesday.

Whatever.  I don’t expect much; I don’t expect any embryos.  ICSI is just my S&M hobby.

In other cheerful news, one of my favourite people in the forum where I and other women who go to my RE hang out found out she’ll be miscarrying.  She had some more bleeding and was worried, so went in for another scan and there was no heartbeat.  I’m just devastated.  And there’s nothing I can do or say.  She doesn’t even know how much I care – and I know that even if she did it wouldn’t matter.  I hate that she has to go through this.  I already have; why can’t I just have all the pain in the world and spare her?  What can help when your first child dies?

  1. 13/04/2010 at 11:52 am

    people standing next to you helps…when your first child dies your whole world stops…but, people like you caring does help!! I will be praying for embryos!!!

  2. 13/04/2010 at 1:04 pm

    Hi darl, just being there for her will help. I know she will appreciate if you just keep asking how she is even a few weeks, months down the track…that was what hurt me the most that people just seem to forget.
    On the other issue, well I haven’t had IVF yet but I know what you mean. I’d want to rest as much as possible too but I get that you can’t take Tues off work. If we go ahead in June I am trying to get it to coincide with some annual leave.
    The follie sizes sound great!! I will be thinking of you 🙂
    Thank you for your comments, I really appreciate them!

  3. 13/04/2010 at 1:06 pm

    Hey sweetie I just wrote a comment but I realised DH’s account was still logged in.
    I will be thinking of you and hoping the OPU goes well.
    Be there for your friend and ask after her, can you PM her on this board? Just check in with her over the next few weeks & months because it hurts so much that people expect you to move on and forget. Hope that helps.
    Thankyou for your sweet comments 🙂

  4. Eve
    17/04/2010 at 4:35 pm

    Snuva, I have been procrastinating surfing the net all day instead of working on an assignment that I should be doing. I just followed the link to your blog from your signature on the forum. I am really, really touched by your words. They made me cry (but then most things do at the moment…). I agree with the comments above – it does help to know others care. I am continually amazed by your kindness and your ability to feel so much for others whilst you are going through such a hard time yourself. I will be following your blog, as well as your forum posts and look forward to hearing GOOD news from you on Monday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

