Home > Stim Cycle #12 > Another OPU Under My Belt

Another OPU Under My Belt

Yesterday was the ovum pick up.  I woke at 5 am, had a shower, and dressed in loose clothing and my new socks.  (Buying new socks for an ovum pick up has become a bit of a ritual; the only clothing of mine I can wear into the theatre is my socks, so I make them count.)  Our taxi drive was very punctual – and very chatty.  But a nice enough guy, even if the techno at 6 am didn’t really fit my sober state.  My husband and I always get the ‘couple’ room at the IVF Unit (room 318 instead of 319).  I could answer all the questions off before they were asked: when did you have the trigger, any allergies, any jewellery, any prosthetics, etc etc.  And then it was into the theatre.  Lynne was the anesthetic nurse and was happy to give me and the anesthetist shit in such a way I was distracted.  Then the pain in the back of my hand, the cold running down my arm, the taste of chemical in my mouth. . .and then I woke up with Julie beside me.  And the news they’d gotten 7 eggs.  My husband visited me briefly in recovery on the way to his biopsy, so I told him the eggs count.  Eventually we were in a taxi going home to our dog and spent the rest of the day napping and watching DVDs.  That was yesterday.

The phone rang a while ago; I was so nervous that it would be TasIVF and that my husband would pass the phone to me instead of talking to them himself. But I heard him chatting away so came out from the back of the closest where I’d hidden. Lisa from the lab had phoned. Apparently there were 4 suitable eggs, and from them we have 2 embryos. Who knows if they’ll survive the weekend, but for now they are ours. I feel a strange urge to visit St Helens and wish we could look through the window of the lab like people looking through the glass in the hospital to their offspring in humidicribs. Just so the embryos could look up and see we are ready to welcome them. And we even have a great dog who would love to be someone’s first pet.

  1. 18/04/2010 at 2:53 am

    so that is exciting right? I haven’t gotten as far as IVF…but, two embryos sounds good to me…when will they transfer them?

    • 18/04/2010 at 6:25 am

      It’s not GREAT – not like I have tonnes of embryos and can freeze some for later. But after having no embryos last cycle it is SUCH an improvement! They’ll be transferred on Monday – which for me is tomorrow. Actually, my appointment is in exactly 28 hours (not that I’m counting).

  2. 18/04/2010 at 8:58 am

    hi , i just stumbled upon you in internet land, i’m up in lonnie, currently on my 2ww day 7 after embryo transfer . this is my second cycle. i wish you loads of luck for your transfer and loads of sticky dust that they will stick! are you having them both put in? xxx anne

    • 18/04/2010 at 11:06 pm

      Yes, if they survive the weekend we’ve have but transferred. I will know 12 hours from now!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

