Home > IComLeavWe, Musings > ABCs of Me

ABCs of Me

I started this in yesterday’s post, but I thought it was making it rather long-winded, so have made it a separate post.  I was thinking of IComLeavWe introduction posts from last month that I particularly enjoyed, so have decided this month to do one of those ‘ABC of me’ type posts.  Maybe it will bore you to tears, or maybe you’ll find it interesting.  Being 26 different things about me it actually touches on some non-IVF things.  I’m just going with the first word beginning with the letter that comes to mind, so it’s fairly random:

  • A: Australia My home.  I wasn’t born here; I had to travel the world for years to find home in an unlikely place.
  • B: Blobby My dear boy, ‘born sleeping’ at only 14 weeks 2 days.  ‘Blobby’ might sound like a disrespectful name to you, but we meant it only with love and affection.  We couldn’t help it; he just looked like a blob at the first ultrasound and the name just stuck.
  • C: Crinone The disgusting goo I’m squirting ‘there’ morning and evening ever since my embryo transfer on Monday.  It’s one of those things that make me certain that drug companies are staffed only by males who, when thinking up new IVF related drugs, get drunk in the middle of the design process.  I can just hear the words of the Einstein who came up with Crinone: ‘And the delivery method from the medication can be a really disgusting gel that makes those desperate-to-be-pregnant women walk around with cottage cheese in their panties for two weeks.  That on top of the other side effects would be hilarious!  Another round of drinks for me and my mates!’.
  • D: Depression My constant friend and enemy on this journey.
  • E: E147 The beginning of the longitude where I like.  One of my hobbies involves GPSrs and bushwalking and such.  But I’m NOT a geek.  Definately.
  • F: Flare My last few stimulated cycles have been flare cycles.
  • G: Geocaching That’s the hobby referred to in ‘E’.  I’m a geocacher.  It’s basically a hi-tech treasure hunt using info from the internet and coordinates you put into your GPSr.  People like doing it for all different reasons.  I like that it introduces me to new places: new bushwalks, hidden spots I’d have never known about if there wasn’t a cache there to point it out to me, and can be a bit like having a local tour guide when you’re travelling.  I’ve geocached not just in my home state (Tasmania) but also on mainland Australia, the Western US, New Zealand, Japan, Easter Island, Peru, etc.
  • H: Husband I have one, and usually he’s wonderful.  Would you be shocked to learn he doesn’t know I keep this blog?  I have another blog about other aspects of my life he certainly knows about, but when I created this one I didn’t say anything to him about it.  Don’t know if I ever will either.  I think it’s because I know that sometimes he needs his own space to deal with IVF / the death of our baby / etc on his own, so this is my place to scream at the universe without disturbing or leaning on him.
  • I: ICSI Our S & M hobby.  Seriously, is there any point to this?!?!?!
  • J: (Allison) Janney See, I said this would just be whatever random word beginning with the letter occurred to me!  I like Allison Janney, and I love The West Wing.
  • K: Kiwi fruit I just ate one.
  • L:  Lottie My darling dog.  She’s always happy to keep me company in bed.  Or anywhere, really.  She even follows me into the loo.
  • M: Maryland The US state where I was born.  I think the last time I was there I was 10, but I remember it being a great place.  I hope my husband and I can visit sometime.
  • N: Netbook I love mine.  I love gadgets.  No, I am NOT a geek.
  • O: October That’s what it feels like the month should be to me, not April.  It comes from spending most of my life in the Northern Hemisphere.  I’ve lived in many countries, but Australia was the first place in the Southern Hemisphere I’ve lived.  I hadn’t realised before coming here how much I associate things with the season they occurred in.  Now when thinking back to an event, I have to not just think about the season but what hemisphere I was in in order to get an idea of when it happened.  It’s odd.  In no way do I consider myself anything but Australian now.  To visit the US is to visit a foreign country.  And yet there are ways I’ll always be different.
  • P: Photography I love taking photos.  I take billions of them.  I have thousands up on Flickr.
  • Q: Quilt I’m not a quilter, and the Things I’ve been making recently aren’t really quilts.  They are just Things to distract me.  So why did my mind bring up ‘quilt’??
  • R: Roller Coaster Rider The name I’m known as in the forum where I and other women who go to the same RE hang out.  If you are a patient of Bill Watkins at TasIVF, we hang out here.  The name I usually go by on the internet (and in geocaching) is Snuva.  I suppose my name here is TasIVFer.  None of these are my name in the meat world.
  • S: S42 The latitude at which I live.  (See ‘E’ and ‘G’ above if this seems an odd thing to know!)
  • T: Tokyo My husband and I visited Tokyo briefly in 2007.  We LOVED it but haven’t travelled much because we’re always doing IVF.  Sigh.  We’ll be free some day – one way or other.
  • U: Uterus My uterus and I aren’t really on speaking terms.
  • V: ______ A much tortured body part that shall remain nameless.  It’s still a bit upset from the ovum pick-up on Friday.
  • W: Wallaby I see wallabies often while bushwalking, and my dog Lottie is fascinated with them.  Therefore she isn’t allowed off-lead when we’re in the bush.  She wouldn’t hurt them I’m fairly sure, but she would stress them which isn’t fair.
  • X: Xerox The company my father worked for most of his life.  He hated Xerox (which was more to do with evil managers than Xerox as a whole!).  I hope to never hate a job as much as he hated his.  But I also can’t understand working for one company for so long.  For the record, I’m a business analyst and project manager and work for the Tasmanian state government.  Sometimes I love it; sometimes I hate it.  But I never hate it as much as my father hated Xerox.
  • Y: York I did a postgraduate degree at the University of York.  I loved York.
  • Z: Zeehan It’s a town in western Tasmania – and the first z to come to mind.  Before IVF, my husband and I used to go camping all the time.  We have a van with a bed in the back, and we could just spontaneously leave and visit wonderful places.  We’d geocache, bushwalk, enjoy the views, visit friends, and get bitten by mossies.  But since 2006 we’ve hardly gone camping at all.  It seems I’ve always either got medication that needs to be refrigerated, or am recovering from a cycle, or am just to depressed.  And the same goes for dinner parties.  I’m not a great cook but I do enjoy doing it and I love having people over for dinner.  However we hardly do this anymore.  IVF has stolen a bit of ourselves from us.
  1. 22/04/2010 at 11:15 am

    I love this, and wish I could meet you in person. You have just the right wry sense of humor. Keeping fingers xx’d for you …

  2. 22/04/2010 at 12:23 pm

    I love this post! I feel like I know so much more about you. Thanks for always giving me so much encouragement. I also wanted to say that I hate the damn Crinone, too. I hope this is your cycle!!!!

  3. 22/04/2010 at 2:18 pm

    This list is great! Thanks so much for the introduction.

    Good luck to you for this cycle. I hope this leads to a BFP!!

    ICLW

  4. Kim
    22/04/2010 at 9:49 pm

    Hi! Here via ICLW. I love your list, very creative. I am from Australia as well.

    Good luck with this cycle, fingers cross that this is the one!

  5. 23/04/2010 at 2:13 am

    Your ABCs are great!!!

    I have a cupboard full of crinone from my last cycle. It is messy but I would hate to do the IM shot instead…

    ICLW
    http://daega99-arewethereyet.blogspot.com/

  6. 23/04/2010 at 7:44 am

    This is a great list! And, I’ve always thought geocaching sounded so cool!

    ICLW

  7. 23/04/2010 at 11:55 pm

    what a great post! How fun to learn so much about you. I also have lots of photos up on flickr too. You can come find me on there, my name is “jesstutt” and I will totally friend you. But I bet you have more amazinger photos of Australia!

    I can completely relate- I HATE that IVF makes it hard for us to travel- I miss it. We’ll do some camping this summer to make up, just don’t know where/ when yet. It depends on what the gods of infertility deem appropriate this summer.

    I love roller coaster too!

  8. 24/04/2010 at 1:53 am

    What a neat list of ABCs. I’m also a geocacher with my husband- we started doing it last fall. We try to look up a couple of geocaches anytime we go a new place, even if it’s just a day trip to somewhere in Massachusetts, where we live. It adds such a fun dynamic when we travel, even for just those little day trips 🙂

    Happy ICLW!

    ~Miriam (ICLW #67) Hannah Wept, Sarah Laughed

  9. 24/04/2010 at 4:45 am

    Fun list!

    I also live in a place where I wasn’t born but is my home. I think we will be leaving it in the next couple of years and it brings me so much sadness and anxiety. But I love my husband, and sadly this isn’t home for him.

    My dogs also join me in the bathroom. I think they think I go in there just to sit down in order to pet them.

    And I love taking photos too. One of my goals is to take one class to help me learn how to better use my camera and another to leern about taking portraits. 🙂

    ICLW

    • 24/04/2010 at 11:19 am

      We sound almost like twins! 😉 Except my husband is home two; he was born here and appreciates its wonderfulness. I’m more into landscape photography than portraits. Wouldn’t mind being better at taking portraits of my dog, though!

  10. 25/04/2010 at 8:42 am

    came over from ICLW!

    loved your list and the ABC… idea. I may steal it :).

    I hope you get your positive this cycle!

  11. 25/04/2010 at 1:21 pm

    What a great list. I love all the fun facts people share this way.

    I hope this cycle is a success. Good luck.

    ~ICLW

  12. 26/04/2010 at 1:17 pm

    I thought your post was really interesting…what I great way to get to know you! I have heard that a lot of people really like geocaching. I have never tried it, but it seems interesting.

  13. 26/04/2010 at 6:51 pm

    This is such a cool post. I didn’t know about your loss of Blobby, sweetie I am so sorry you lost your precious baby. I think it’s OK that DH doesn’t know about this! You need the venting space and I feel exactly the same-I try to write on my blog things that I’d rather protect DH from sometimes. I love the Aussie bush and wish that I could go bushwalking with you!! Hope your 2ww is flying by 🙂

  14. 26/04/2010 at 6:53 pm

    Hey sweetie that was me, DH was logged in again LOL!

  15. 29/04/2010 at 1:19 pm

    I love your ABC’s! It gave a great insight on who you really are! I might have to use it on my blog, if you don’t mind!!

    Happy ICLW

    stop by any time: http://www.babywid.blogspot.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

