Home > Stim Cycle #13 > 5 Eggs Amid Much Drama

5 Eggs Amid Much Drama

Just a quick one from me today as I really want to be back in bed, but I wanted to record the last 48 hours as I don’t entirely believe it myself.

I’m a geocacher, and Thursday evening (the night before my OPU) I was at a pub waiting for an event to start.  I wasn’t going to stay there long as 1) I hate the food at that pub and 2) I still have a horrible sinus infection.  I was inside waiting for others to arrive as I’d gotten there straight from work when my husband phoned me.  He’d twisted his ankle walking home from work and would I please pick him up.  Alarm bells started ringing in my head: although a man, my husband would never ask for a lift if he could at all possibly walk home.  He’s even pretty stoic when he gets a Man Cold.  I picked him up and kept asking if we should get him to a hospital to have it looked at.  Despite being unable to put any weight on it and his ankle swelling up over twice its normal size, he insisted he just needed to sit down.  Hmm.

After a sleepless night for both of us – him because his ankle hurt him so much and me because I can’t breathe through my nose – we got up to get to the hospital for my ovum pick up.  He admitted his ankle was still extremely painful (he went down the stairs on his bottom and hopped everywhere) but that he’d not wanted to say how much it hurt the night before as he was worried him going to get his ankle examined might somehow interfere with the OPU.  We got to the hospital, I had my OPU and they retrieved 5 eggs, and my husband even got a break as his frozen sperm defrosted fine and he wouldn’t need another fine needle biopsy.  But I knew what would need to happen: he really needed to get to a hospital to have his ankle looked at.  So I discharged from the IVF Unit, but left pushing my husband in a wheel chair.  We then had to wait for a taxi as that hospital doesn’t has an emergency department.

Wednesday the 16th should have been Blobby’s due date, but this all was happening on Friday 18 June.  Which means exactly 6 months from the day my poor little son died, I was entering the emergency department where this all happened so my husband’s ankle could be looked at.  All I wanted was to be in bed, but I had to go through this as well.  In the end he has a bad sprain but no broken bones.  He’s on crutches in still in a lot of pain, so instead of being able to rest entirely I’m up and about doing things.  But I’ve finished the errands for the day and am now going back to bed.

I have Blobby’s footprints next to my side of the bed.  I still marvel at how perfect they are – his little feet and toes are the most precious things I have.  And as silly as it may seem, it chokes me up a bit that that bit of paper actually touched my son.  Those are his footprints, my last link to him.  I love you, Blobby.

Update: The lab phoned;  3 of the eggs were suitable for injection and right now we have 2 embryos.  I hope they can hang on until Monday.

  1. 19/06/2010 at 1:05 pm

    I’ve actually been geocaching once and it was a lot of fun – what a great hobby 🙂 Congrats on the 5 eggs – I’m thinking good thoughts for you! What an ordeal though – yeesh – I hope your husband’s ankle feels better very soon.

    Sending *hugs* and thinking of little Blobby with you.

  2. thecrazycatwoman
    19/06/2010 at 9:08 pm

    Oh my goodness, you need a break.

    I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been coping with Little Blobby’s due date along with everything else.

    I am glad to hear of your two good embryos though.

    xx

  3. 20/06/2010 at 12:04 am

    Sending you many good wishes on your 5 eggs. And thank you so much for your recent support. Much love to you and Blobby….

  4. 20/06/2010 at 12:24 am

    Wishing you tons and tons of good luck on your 5 eggs! I also hope that your husband’s ankle is better. You’re a great wife and a trooper to do the OPU and be a nurse instead of resting.

  5. a
    20/06/2010 at 4:44 am

    2 embryos! Stay strong and keep growing, little guys!!!

    I’m sorry that you had to visit the ER on the six month anniversary. I hope you and your husband are feeling better soon.

  6. Katie
    21/06/2010 at 2:12 am

    Hol on, little embies. Lots of hope and luck from here. What horrible timing on the husbands part to take a fall. :-/ not his fault but still… I’m so sorry you are going through this. I’m hoping and hoping. Good luck tomorrow!

  7. 21/06/2010 at 3:25 pm

    2 embies is good! all you need is one to work. best of luck with them, i’ll be thinking of you. sometimes its out of all this chaos that something wonderful happens. thinking of blobby too xxx

  1. 10/02/2011 at 12:45 pm

Leave a Reply

