Home > Musings > Spontaneity

Spontaneity

I probably won’t be publishing any other posts or visiting your blogs this week; I’m off to Adelaide on Wednesday.  I think this is the first time I’ve ever bought plane tickets with less than a week to go before I’d be leaving.  But a cheap, cheap airline will stop flying to/from Hobart this weekend, so on an impulse I got some cheap flights to/from Adelaide.

I feel like I’m staging a prison break.  I don’t know how I’ll be.  I’ll be staying with some friends I know through geocaching / Twitter.  We share most of our days together, but we’ve never met.  We’ve all had a bit of stress in our lives lately, so I hope this is a bit of a break from all that for us.  I hope we don’t wind up sharing so much sadness we wallow.  I really don’t think we will.  I expect we’ll be chatting and cooking together and geocaching.  Oh – and visiting Ikea!!

It probably won’t surprise anyone to find out I’ve found a way to stress out about this trip.  I was supposed to be doing a long weekend taketina session on Friday and Saturday, and I’ve really been looking forward to it (and paid in advance).  But the instructor didn’t think she’d have the numbers to make the session worth while, which is when I looked into flights.  Now she’s decided to go ahead and do the session regardless of whether or not it’s not as many people as she wanted – and my friends in SA are too excited for me not to go.  So now I feel like I’m letting her down.  Only I could get stressed over going away for a few days.  Only I could completely stress myself out as I feel obligated to do something I shouldn’t have to feel obligated about.

Anyway, I’m certain I’ll be more excited and less stressed when I get on the plane!  And even more so when my friends pick me up from then airport and we take that 5 minute drive to Ikea.  🙂

Categories: Musings
  1. a
    27/07/2010 at 1:38 am

    Have a great trip – and don’t worry about the instructor. She shouldn’t be mentioning that she’s thinking of cancelling without expecting that people might make other plans.

  2. 27/07/2010 at 3:19 am

    Good for you … and the class might not even be good if so few people are coming that the instructor was thinking of cancelling! Enjoy the well-deserved break!!!

  3. 27/07/2010 at 4:37 am

    Enjoy your trip! You deserve it!

  4. 28/07/2010 at 2:09 pm

    Have an awesome time! Don’t feel guilty about stressing, sometimes you just can’t help it. I will miss you lovely presence but am glad you are taking a break 🙂

  5. 29/07/2010 at 9:59 am

    Have a wonderful trip! And spend lots at Ikea. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

