Home > Stim Cycle #14 > Rituals and Deviations

Rituals and Deviations

It’s been over a week since my OPU, but I haven’t written much as first I spent last weekend trying to let my abdomen rest and repair, then I spent Monday and Tuesday relaxing at home with my embryos, then I went back to work and it was crazy because I’d had so much time off.  Whew!

When you do something like this as many times as I have, you develop rituals – almost superstitions – about what to do and not change.  But when you’ve failed in achieving the final goal you also decided to tweek a few things!

There’s a lot in this cycle that was business as usual.  Every day, cycling or no, I take Blackmore’s Conceive Well Gold and low dose aspirin.  As usual I was on 600 iu of Gonal-F.  This cycle I did my normal sock shopping the day before OPU.  When you can’t wear anything of your own except socks, somehow socks suddenly seem really important.  I purchased a couple pairs of socks, and thanks to Annie decided upon the plum ones with fuchsia polka dots.  I’m not usually much of a plum or a fuchsia person, but for some reason liked these socks.  The night before pick-up I had a last glass of water just before midnight.  Maybe it’s from being a bushwalker, but I hate not having enough water and it really bothers me not being able to drink in the morning.  Much more than not eating bothers me.  As usual after pick-up I tried my best to rest as much as possible.  Again, my head tells me it’s fine to do things, but my heart wants my abdomen to repair as much as possible before transfer to prepare for its next job.  My transfer was on Monday, but my favourite day for a transfer is Friday so I can stay in bed quietly letting things settle.  Again, my head tells me the advice the IVF Unit gives says ‘normal activities’ can be resumed, but my heart wants to do whatever might help.

What did I do differently this cycle?  I’ve been taking more fish oil and Vitamin D (I live at S42 and it’s been winter so don’t see much sun).  In addition to Gonal-F I was injecting Luveris and Cetrotide.  I’ve been going to acupuncture.  The doctor doesn’t do it while you’re on stims, but I went a few times before the cycle and went before and after transfer.  I figure if it’s not going to hurt and may help, why not?  The other benefit is it let me stay still for a while after transfer.  At my IVF clinic they don’t let you stay put at all after transfer.  The squirt the embryos in, then you’re up and dressed and out the door.  So although I still had to get dressed and go the acupuncture doctor’s office (in the same hospital) at least I had a nice rest there.  It seems so wrong to just get up and go!  I’ve also been ultra paranoid of letting my tummy get hot.  (Yes Meg, after trying to reassure you that your fever would be OK and your embryos are fine. Go ahead and laugh; I deserve ridicule!)

For me the best thing I did differently this cycle was have my phone with me.  I have a lovely new Garmin phone (no, I’m not a geek at all) and was able to keep in email/Twitter/facebook contact with lovely, supportive people.  Rosie in particular was there with me each moment.  Meg was thinking of me and messaging me too.  Annie gave me sock advice.    So many people sent me virtual love.  I can’t tell you how much it meant to me.  Thank you.

Now if you could just make this %^@&*%$ 2WW go away!  😉

  1. 04/09/2010 at 11:23 pm

    I love your description of your new socks – maybe you should post a photo of your fabulous feet all dressed up for the party? Here’s hoping you never have to buy another pair of lucky socks.

  2. 05/09/2010 at 12:08 pm

    I too love the sock description. We don’t get to wear anything of our own at my place! The one concession they did make was not to tape my wedding ring down as I can’t have surgical tape! Anyway I think all of these changes are really positive things, especially the fish oil! Hope you are all caught up at work now. Thinking of you all the time 🙂

  3. 05/09/2010 at 12:46 pm

    I think your heart is smart. And I completely understand about the socks … often when I go to work in a pantsuit, I wear outrageous socks under my boots so that I can feel like I’ve got my own secret “me” somewhere under all of that faux formality. I’ll hope that yours are bringing you luck.

  4. a
    05/09/2010 at 10:34 pm

    I hope those socks make all the difference!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

