Home > Thaw Cycle #4 > Lots to Chase Up

Lots to Chase Up

Wow – thank you all so much for your comments to my last post!  I have a lot to chase up and look into!  I really feel like I need to take as much control over things as I can.

I had my first scan of this FET cycle this morning.  The best part of it was meeting up with a fellow blogger/BubHubber/TasIVFer that I’ve actually met in the flesh before who happened to be there for a scan too.  I was REALLY excited to see her.  I’ve been wanting to meet up but I’ve wanted to do it when I was at a point in my cycle when I’m not likely to burst into tears – and they’re far between.  But I think I was so happy to see a friendly face that it was easy to overcome that.  Plus no need to worry that chatting about topics such as the difficulties of giving yourself an injection would make people look at us like injectable drug users; we were in a waiting room full of people doing the same thing.

When I got in to see the RE he said he had been meaning to phone us (groan), but that I could ask my questions first.  I think I was fairly aggressive (as aggressive as you can be while Mr Wand does its business), but he’s pretty thick-skinned.  Some questions he answered, some he didn’t.  Apparently there’s a chemist in Launceston (in the north of our state – 2 1/4 hours drive away) that will make up DHEA; he couldn’t remember the chemist but will look it up and give me a script when I see him next.  So I might have a 5 1/2 hour road trip next weekend for drugs; the things I’m willing to do.  They don’t do testing for implantation failure or NK cells, and I didn’t really get an answer to whether he would treat me as if I do have NK cells to rule them out as an issue.

His question to us was how ready for an egg donor are we.  I responded that we were not only ready but I’d been trying to find one on the Aussie Egg Donors website.  He said there was a donor who was a ‘good match’ for me (no idea what criteria this is based on).  And that although there was someone higher on the list who might also be a good match, he wasn’t certain that they were ready immediately.  He asked what we’d do for example if the donor wanted to do it now – would we choose the FET cycle or donor.  We immediately said donor.  I said my attitude was the frozen embryos would still be there and can wait; a donor would take priority.  So who knows.  He always tries to say things will happen faster than they actually will, so I don’t get that excited by his comments.  My husband is the opposite and seems to think it’s all right around the corner and will happen immediately and we’ll have a live birth and blah blah blah.  I can’t believe after all this time he can still be so naive/optimistic.

The scan showed my ovaries were active but not very far along, as expected right after a stim cycle.  So my next scan is Tuesday.

Categories: Thaw Cycle #4
  1. a
    24/09/2010 at 11:30 am

    Glad to hear you got to take charge – it’s really hard to do that sometimes. And getting to meet up with a fellow blogger – fantastic!

  2. Jen
    24/09/2010 at 11:35 am

    Wow! That’s great news that this donor might be available to you! My donor was the best thing that happened to me in IVF land. I’ll be crossing my fingers that it works out for you. 🙂

  3. 24/09/2010 at 12:49 pm

    Sounds like there’s some good news in here, and that you were able to make yourself heard today! Positive thoughts for a successful next step …

  4. 24/09/2010 at 2:32 pm

    Ooooh. A tiny bit of with the egg donor? I know it’s a long shot, but it’s something. Glad you could finally talk face-to-face with someone else who has gone through all of this too.

  5. 24/09/2010 at 8:47 pm

    Will be holding out lots of hope for yu that the donor comes through or that this FET is the one to bring you your healthy baby in your arms.

  6. 25/09/2010 at 12:15 am

    Good news and good luck with your next steps!

  7. 25/09/2010 at 4:23 am

    Good luck with the donor! Sounds like you guys have a plan.

    Happy ICLW

  8. 25/09/2010 at 10:56 am

    Good news. I hope the donor comes through, that would be wonderful 🙂

    Just to clarify my last comment, I know that there are some docs at SIVF who DO test for NK, although I am not sure which ones. It just wasn’t offered with the doc I saw – but that was a long time ago.

  9. 26/09/2010 at 8:37 am

    This sounds like great news! I hope you are able to get connected with a donor! Best of luck.

    ICLW #43

  10. 26/09/2010 at 10:00 am

    I am so excited for you that there is a possible donor ready! And so proud of you for asking all your questions and just putting the pressure on him. You definitely deserve answers right now!! So this is all great-but I’m sorry about Dh. Yes he is a bit naive probably but I don’t think he fully understands. Luckily you have all of us and we do. Love you heaps!

  11. Sarah
    27/09/2010 at 1:43 am

    sending you lots of baby dust for this cycle!!!!

    Good Luck!!

    ICLW #100

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

