Home > Musings > OPU Friday

OPU Friday

No, I’m not having an ovum pick up today.  But I know several women who are.  It is funny how sometimes there are these clusters of things – but that’s randomness for you.  So I wanted to put aside being frustrated with my RE for a bit and just think of these women.  And all the other women and couples I know who are going through this journey.

For the beautiful woman at my clinic having her pick up this morning, this would be such a lovely morning to be conceived! I hope you are in one of the recovery bays where you can see the Mountain through the high window. I hope you’re recovering well.  I hope they’ve written a large number of eggs on your hand.  I’m in my office already and spent too much time watering my vegetables to feel I could ask my husband to let me take a photo of Mt Wellington on our way into work, but this is what it looks like now on a web cam:

Rose Bay Web Cam, 8: 12 am on 1 October 2010

What a beautiful day to be conceived!

Update: thecrazycatwoman had 11 eggs at her OPU!!

I don’t know what her clinic’s schedule is like and whether her pick up has already taken place, but I also know someone in Queensland having an OPU today. I hope it is going well. She’s a poor responder cycling while looking for an egg donor. She’s been on extra steroids that have made a big difference in follicle numbers; I hope the quality of her eggs is excellent too!

And I know a woman in South Africa going through this as well.  She and her extremely awesome sounding husband have been dealing with MFI. And they have been interviewed for a national television programme. I think that’s awesome. I think we’ve all felt a bit dark at times about how infertility is something people don’t talk about.  They’re doing something about it! I hope she enjoys the anesthetic as much as last time.

And I know someone in Europe and 2 people in the US also having OPUs today. Knowing so many people who happen to be having an OPU today reminds me of all the others I don’t know. All these people, all across the globe, going through this heartache. For some of them this is the day their child is conceived. For others it won’t be.

Of course when I say I ‘know’ these people, I’ve only met one in the meat world.  One thing I’m glad of in this journey is that I’m going through it at a time when blogs and email and forums make it possible to connect with others who understand. Our invisible net linking us together across the globe. 🙂

Quick update: the DHEA script was in the post last night!  I mentioned before that the only chemist in Tasmania who the RE knows who can make it up is in Launceston (2 1/4 hours drive away in the north of the state).  I faxed the script through to the chemist this morning and before I had a chance to phone them, they phoned me.  They have it all made up, I paid with my credit card, and she said she’d post it on Monday so it’s not in the post all weekend.  Hurray!  Except that the fax number I was given was missing numbers, finally something un-grumpy making!

Categories: Musings
  1. thecrazycatwoman
    01/10/2010 at 1:15 pm

    Thankyou for your kind words. It was indeed a beautiful morning to be conceived. I had the rudest nurse that I’ve encountered there (every other one I’ve met is lovely), but my eleven eggs made up for that.

    I’m glad to hear about the DHEA script coming through!

    xx

    • 01/10/2010 at 2:18 pm

      Hmmm. . .there’s one nurse there I don’t get on with. Once when I was phoning to say another cycle had failed she said ‘You’re not going to do another cycle, are you?’. Which really hurt. Yes, maybe it’s stupid to keep trying, but how dare she when making that phone call is so difficult already!

  2. 01/10/2010 at 6:57 pm

    That is such awesome news about the script!!! YAY 🙂 Finally something happy making xxx

  3. 02/10/2010 at 9:46 am

    Hiya Tas,
    thanks for the kind words and positive thoughts. We had a mixed day, news wise. Unfortunately, we only got 2 eggs from the 7 follicles seen on the scan a few days ago..so the odds are not looking good this cycle. Pretty disappointed, but trying desperately not to give up hope till we get our fert report later today. On the plus side, was told my sample count was 1 million swimmers – a huge milestone for us considering it was zero just a few months ago…so not all bad news.
    Thanks for thinking of us and hoping that the DHEA and the approach of challenging your RE to try new things will pay off soon. Take care.

    • 02/10/2010 at 2:38 pm

      1 million swimmers!! That’s just AMAZING!

  4. 02/10/2010 at 1:17 pm

    YAY for the script being sorted! And so lovely to think of all those others going through OPU today.

    Love the Hobart pics – would really love to visit there some day.

  5. 06/10/2010 at 10:17 pm

    Just catching up on so many blogs I abandoned in thelast few days. Thank you so much for keeping us in your thoughts. As you say the amazing people you get to ‘know’in this modern age really help to keep you going – especially when times get tough!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

