Home > Musings, Thaw Cycle #4 > This Time Friday. . .This Time Last Year

This Time Friday. . .This Time Last Year

The results of my blood test say I’ll be having a frostie transfer on Friday.  At 9:45 am.  I think I confused the lovely nurse when I asked her to double-check that the lab knows to try thawing the 1 day younger embryo a day ahead of the others.  It took a while, but she understands enough to get the message through to the lab.  I just don’t trust that Bill will remember, and I want to have 3 chances to get 2 embryos to transfer.  Or 3 chances for 1.  I don’t feel hope or excitement at all – it’s just something to go through.  These are the embryos that were 3rd best before freezing.  What chance do they have now?

On the other hand, I felt no hope for my 10th stim cycle.  I was over IVF at that point.  It felt much more like a masochistic hobby than something that might mean I’d have a family of my own.  I just kept going because my husband still had hope of it working.  This time last year I was a week away from my blood test, and I didn’t know I was pregnant with my dear little Blobby.  I keep trying not to remember the dates as they pass – Blobby’s OPU, Blobby’s transfer – but it’s not something I can easily forget.

Categories: Musings, Thaw Cycle #4
  1. 05/10/2010 at 10:40 am

    It’s so hard to remember those times that made you so happy, but now are also painful. I am still excited for you and hopeful for this cycle, but you are entitled to feel anyway you like. Of course you can’t forget-that was such an amazing, special time in your life. Sending you huge (((HUGS))) during this difficult time.

  2. 05/10/2010 at 1:21 pm

    I don’t think it’s a bad thing to remember … remembering is a way of grieving, isn’t it? And Blobby was very much a part of your life, even though it may not have been for long. I don’t think it gets easier with time … but do I think we get better at coping with the painful parts of our memories.

  3. Bec
    05/10/2010 at 3:08 pm

    With you all the way. XXX

  4. 05/10/2010 at 10:22 pm

    hi disa, i’ll be thinking of you on friday hun hope you have your socks all picked out, sending love to you and to your sweet blobby too xxx

  5. 06/10/2010 at 12:11 am

    Thinking of you and little Blobby.

    It’s difficult to predict success based on embryo appearance. There’s a chance one of these might be the one. Fingers crossed for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

