Home > Donor Conception > Not So Good With The Sharing

Not So Good With The Sharing

I’m just back in the office from seeing the donor coordinator.  I have half a donor.  With the rarity of donors, and because 2 of us on the waiting list are a good match for this one, they will be splitting the harvest.  We’ll get half her eggs and another couple will get the other half.  We’ll only have to pay half the fees.  Perhaps I missed some essential developmental stage, but I don’t want a discount.  I want the eggs!

My husband is all smiles and over the moon.  He’s joking that maybe we’ll be lucky for once and other couple will be in a car accident.

I don’t know how I feel.  It still might not work.  And I only get half the eggs.  Have I mentioned that?  Have I mentioned I want them all?!

FET is still on for Friday.  I said I’d be happy to cancel if it meant things could get started more quickly, but my FET won’t delay anything.

Categories: Donor Conception
  1. a
    06/10/2010 at 12:43 pm

    I hate sharing also…but if that’s all I can get, I’ll take it! Good luck – hoping the FET is successful and you don’t have to worry about all the eggs.

  2. 06/10/2010 at 1:55 pm

    Half a donor seems better than no donor … but I’m with “a” … hopefully you won’t need any of the eggs!

  3. thecrazycatwoman
    06/10/2010 at 2:39 pm

    Well I’m glad the donor thing is going ahead. Half the eggs is disappointing though. Can you ask for the BEST half?

    I’m interested to know what “a good match” means though? Blood type? Hair colour? IQ? Hobbies, sports and interests?

    All the best for your FET. I hope that you won’t be needing the donor, then you’ll be happy for the other couple to have all the eggs.

    • 06/10/2010 at 5:06 pm

      I’m not entirely certain what ‘good match’ is either, but I think it might be hair colour, skin colour, background, etc. I think.

  4. 06/10/2010 at 2:43 pm

    Well, let’s just hope she makes a whole bunch o’ eggs! I think it’s pretty exciting to be matched. Good luck with the FET, too!

  5. 06/10/2010 at 3:34 pm

    I will agree with Justine. Given the rarity of donors in AU I think this seems good; but hopefully you won’t need it at all. 🙂

  6. 06/10/2010 at 10:09 pm

    Oh the only child in me would hate sharing so I can so relate to what you are going through at the thought of sharing eggs. Let’s just hope they are the very best quality and chromosomally perfect. Please keep us posted on FET v DE-IVF. Keeping you in my thoughts.

  7. 06/10/2010 at 11:54 pm

    when they stim donor’s, don’t they stim them harder to get more eggs since the risk of ohss is just about nonexistent for the donor? i will have my fingers and toes crossed that YOU GUYS get the *good* eggs. the ones that will become babies!!

  8. 07/10/2010 at 9:29 am

    I still think this is fantastic news. At least you don’t have to wait any longer for a donor. Still hoping for success from this FET but really excited you have this option now too 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

