Home > Thaw Cycle #4 > 2 Frosties On Board

2 Frosties On Board

Yesterday I got a phone call from the clinic to say that one embryo didn’t survive thawing.  Since we had 3 frosties (2 from last cycle and one from Blobby’s cycle) we’d still have 2 to transfer.  I was surprisingly OK with it.  It’s not unexpected, and at least I don’t have to wonder what to do with the last frostie.  I was glad we’d have 2!

When I got to the clinic today I found out both survived the night, so I’ve had 2 frosties transferred.  Well, eventually.  Sometimes there’s practically no wait at all when I get there, but today the waiting room was FULL.  However the IVF gods sent me a blog reader who recognised me, introduced herself, and said lovely things to me.  She even has 2 Pomeranians and showed me photos!  It was a great remedy for a long wait.  I do hope you have fantastic luck; please remember that my story is not typical.

I sometimes forget that the people who read this are out there in the real world.  And that I’m letting you all into the dark corners of my brain – not just me and the commentors I ‘know’, but others.  I hope my endlessly long journey doesn’t scare anyone off IVF.  There are so many people who it helps and who it is the magic thing that gets you your family.

When I went in for my transfer, my RE asked if I’d read the article he’d sent.  I said yes but that it was one 2 1/2 year old article and that he didn’t even follow the one thing the article did say can work.  And yes, I do know the difference between implantation and a live birth; I also know that just because your RE and OB say you won’t have a miscarriage doesn’t mean you won’t. (I didn’t say that last bit at the time – he was going to be sticking things in uncomfortable places!)  Anyway, I should stop arguing with Bill here and concentrate on my embryos.  They didn’t say anything about their quality, but they survived to be transferred and that’s all I was hoping for.

So a bit of Pregnyl and that’s FET #4 done.  I test on the 22nd.  It’s a beautiful spring day in Hobart.  Here’s a photo I took this morning in my garden of a snow pea gripping the trellis string; this is what I’m hoping for.  Hang on, little embabies!
Snow Pea

Categories: Thaw Cycle #4
  1. 08/10/2010 at 3:47 pm

    Fingers, toes and everything else crossed. Hoping your snow-babies snuggle in for the long haul…you so deserve it. Good luck with the 2ww and will be thinking of you through the interminable wait!

  2. CW
    08/10/2010 at 4:24 pm

    The snow pea is a sign. A sign of new life and things to come. We will be here watching and waiting and supporting you. Fingers crossed!

  3. Jen
    08/10/2010 at 5:24 pm

    Sending you lots of happy baby thoughts. Hugs!

  4. thecrazycatwoman
    08/10/2010 at 6:29 pm

    Good luck!

    • Meg
      08/10/2010 at 6:58 pm

      Xxoo. It’s Spring, time for new life to grow.

  5. Kim
    08/10/2010 at 7:33 pm

    Wishing you all the best for the next two weeks and beyond.

  6. 08/10/2010 at 10:12 pm

    Welcome home little frosties. I hope that they too are stretching out and grabbing on. Growing, dividing, blossoming. Thinking of you.

  7. 08/10/2010 at 10:51 pm

    Sending you plenty of sticky vibes, hoping that Bloby’s siblings are settling in for the long haul.

  8. 09/10/2010 at 12:37 am

    FX for sticky embies!!
    How crazy to run into someone who regonzied you?!
    When I’m in the RE waiting room, I always think.. do i “know” one of you?

  9. 09/10/2010 at 12:57 am

    I love the snow pea. They’re such delicate little plants … but they’re surprisingly hardy, aren’t they? And they produce such sweet fruits. Hoping for the same for your little frostbabies.

  10. a
    09/10/2010 at 1:43 am

    So, I’m guessing your doctor doesn’t like being questioned…seeing as he chose a particularly awkward time to discuss the information he gave you. Here’s hoping you don’t have any need to question him again…beyond “So there are 2 sacs/fetal poles/heartbeats or just 1?”

  11. 09/10/2010 at 10:33 am

    Great news, and best of luck for the wait and beyond! Don’t you just love snowpeas? They are one of my favourites. So very easy to grow, and such a delicious vegetable. Pretty too when they start to flower. Unfortunately snow peas season has passed in my part of the world, it is already too warm.

  12. 10/10/2010 at 7:53 pm

    Beautiful photo and a beautiful story. I understand you not arguing with Bill at that time!! Sending you every ounce of sticky dust I can…love you! xxxooo

  13. 11/10/2010 at 10:56 am

    Thank you for commenting over at the autism blog directory. 🙂 I look forward to reading your blog.

    I hope that the testing on the 22nd is good news.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

