Updates

The appointment with the counsellor yesterday afternoon went fine.  I think the husband and I sounded shockingly ‘together’, so it sort of makes me wonder if we both just naturally put on our brave masks.  We joked a lot, which I think is always a sign, however I guess it’s just nervousness.  On the other hand, I think we’re both quite fine with the idea of an egg donor – it’s the other and accumulated IVF stress in our life where we fall apart.  We were very upfront about not being thrilled we only have half a donor.  The session didn’t take long, and I think if I’d had all the paperwork with me she might have signed us off after just the one appointment (grrh – I didn’t think we’d get an appointment the day she came back from leave!).  We have the second session next Friday morning to sign off all the paperwork with her.  Which is also the test date for the FET cycle.

This time last week I was in the clinic’s waiting room for the transfer appointment.  This time next week I’ll know if AF has arrived, if I’ve seen 2 lines after peeing on plastic, and if a blood test is required.  Would you understand if I said as slow as this wait has been going, I actually haven’t been thinking of the embryos as much as I have in other cycles?  I think it’s partially because it’s an FET cycle – not nearly as much physical ‘disturbance’ – and partially because my brain is moving on to the next step, i.e. the donor cycle.  Although I’m thinking of them constantly, I’m also thinking of the donor cycle.  I do sorta wish these embryos could have been left on ice until after the donor cycle.  Silly as it may sound, I feel bad they haven’t had the attention they would have in other circumstances.  And I also almost dislike being distracted from getting my brain in the right place for the donor cycle.  Or perhaps I should say (half) donor cycle.  Grrh.

I’ve saved the only exciting thing in this post until last: you can see Hopelessly TTC and Mommy-In-Waiting‘s TV segment online here. (It’s in two parts.)  I thought it was well done – a good balance of their story and medical facts.  It was great to see them too, and strange that they didn’t look that unlike I thought they looked.  And if that’s their house, I’d like to cook in their kitchen.  (Mine is microscopic.)   But (and this is just me) someone should have adjusted Dr Mutambirwa’s tie.  It’s silly – bit it distracted me.  And now it will distract you too – oops.  My work here is done.

  1. a
    15/10/2010 at 1:31 pm

    Glad to hear the counselling session went well – and at least you don’t have to make special trips for the paperwork to be complete. Maybe the distractions will prove to be lucky — I hope so. Good luck.

  2. 15/10/2010 at 5:40 pm

    Cheers Tas (can I call you that for short – it’s like we know you and you’ve seen our kitchen even).
    Sounds like the counselling session went well, and who knows…maybe all these distractions will prove to be beneficial.
    I’m still focussing on the frosties…hoping you can tell them to keep their half donor!! Fingers crossed!

    • 16/10/2010 at 5:22 pm

      Sure, call me Tas! I have so many names that I have many good friends who don’t know my real name. BTW I loved the dining room table too – basically anything of your house I could see looked fantastic. I hope they didn’t have to do too many takes of your lovely wife giving you an injection!

  3. 15/10/2010 at 7:20 pm

    You only need one good embryo, and you have a good shot in the near future of getting it. No matter where it comes from, I hope you find life inside you very soon.

  4. Meg
    15/10/2010 at 7:45 pm

    Great to hear it went well. It must kind of be a nice relief to be not focusing on your embryo’s this cycle. I know for me it can overtake my life thinking about if they are bedding in or not!

    I watched the tv show last night and funnily enough admired the kitchen too! Also loved the dining room table. Aside from the trivial, I thought it was a great story and very brave wonderful people to put their story up for the world to see. Interesting about the plastics link to infertility. Makes you stop and think about how much that kind of packaging pervades our life hey?

    • 16/10/2010 at 5:25 pm

      After I miscarried Blobby I got quite paranoid about plastic drink bottles. As a bushwalker and because I prefer water to most drinks (and get headaches if I become dehydrated) I used to always have plastic water bottles on me. I’ve switched to stainless steel. Yes, that’s not cutting out all plastics by any measure, but it was an easy way to cut out a good portion for me. And the water tastes much better from them anyway.

  5. 16/10/2010 at 12:36 am

    Your frosties have had their share of support from the blogosphere, I think … not to worry, they’ve not been neglected. It’s sort of unavoidable when you’re trying to juggle two options simultaneously.

    I, too, have kitchen-envy.

  6. 16/10/2010 at 6:27 pm

    I am glad the appointment went well. I was wondering whether you made the appt for the telephone consultation with Dr S?

    I have tried to get rid of as much plastic as possible. I am a big fan of the Sigg bottles.

  7. 16/10/2010 at 7:51 pm

    It’s great that things are moving along, don’t be mad at yourself you forgot the paperwork! Everything will be signed off soon 🙂
    Sorry I haven’t had a chance to check out the TV segments yet-hopefully soon!! love u

  8. 18/10/2010 at 11:23 pm

    Ah thanks for the shout out! I love my kitchen too and if you ever stop by Cape Town I will cook up a storm in it for you! Holding onto hope for your frosty! Hoping Friday brings you awesome test results.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

