Home > Musings > How Infertility Made Me a Bad Gardener

How Infertility Made Me a Bad Gardener

I’m tired.  Very tired.  I can’t remember when I wasn’t.  I did stuff on the weekend – went to a pine plantation to steal pine needles for my garden, walked Lottie at the beach Saturday and Sunday, cleared a metal arch in my garden ready for runner beans, found 2 easy geocaches, blah blah.  Nothing exciting, but busy at least.  I was hoping to tire myself so I could sleep but haven’t been that lucky yet.

One thing I need to do but have had trouble getting around to doing is thinning seedlings in my garden.  Some seedlings I just have so many they’re going to choke themselves.  When The Fertile One dropped me off after we walked our dogs at the beach she stopped in to see my garden and I gave her lots of seedlings (tatsoi, mizuna, frilly pink lettuce, bok choi).  I’m happy to thin my veggies by giving them away or transplanting things to other areas of the garden.   But root veggies don’t transplant happily.  You have to thin them.

The veggies most in need of thinning are my carrots.  However I find it extremely hard to do it.  If I don’t, they will turn  into twisted masses of Frankencarrots.  But the idea of plucking these little guys out of the soil when, to me, against all odds they’ve germinated, sent down a root, opened their leaves and felt the sun is really hard.  Yes, I know that if I don’t thin them they will never live to their full carroty potential, so it would be cruel not to.  And so I’ve slowly started, a little at a time.  I don’t discard the plucked carrots; I’ve been using them as a sweet parsely-ish herb on things.

I don’t think I’d feel this way if I wasn’t having trouble conceiving.  But it seems such a miracle to me that I could in some way assist something to grow.  Sure, the carrot and soil have done most of the work.  But I put that soil mix together, put the seeds in the furrows, and kept them well watered.  I check their progress constantly and excitedly called out to my husband when the first signs of life broke the surface of the soil.  Maybe my next crop will be easier.  Or maybe not.

Thinned Carrots

Categories: Musings
  1. thecrazycatwoman
    18/10/2010 at 5:42 pm

    I have trouble thinning too. Your carrots are looking much better than mine. I’ve had very poor germination with my first planting (so no thinning required!). I’m going to plant again this weekend.

  2. cw
    18/10/2010 at 7:03 pm

    oh it looks lovely! I am still new to vegie gardening so confess I cheat and buy seedlings but as soon as the weather warms that little bit more I will be planting some beans. I am getting Chippie to make me a latticey type thing (he is pretty handy) and I am going to start growing my seeds. I love my vegie patch though have just planted some mint to grow wild in a previously ugly little spot and just potted my first two tomato bushes potted because last year they went crazy and ended up breaking into one another – ahhh love spring it really should be conceiving time…….

  3. 18/10/2010 at 9:06 pm

    Oh, I can’t thin them either! They are my little precious plant babbies and I can’t hurt them. I am so attached to them. With carrots it’s okay, because you can 1. turn Frankencarrots into soup, and 2. eat them as baby carrots. I speak from experience, as last year we planted too many, and I told my hubby not to plant as many, but he planted TWICE as many! Ha ha. You just learn how many you need and carrots are so easy to grow as well. Actually I think you might be surprised how many do make it. Oh listen to me blathering on…a topic close to my heart, indeed. I get so excited when I see those first vegetable shoots breaking through the soil.

  4. 19/10/2010 at 2:23 am

    I leave all of the gardening to my husband, however I totally understand your train of thought here. I love the picture.

    ICLW #116 & 117

  5. 19/10/2010 at 3:53 am

    My husband didn’t thin ours, either, and I can tell you, those Frankencarrots were also very attractive to the critters, who had merely to paw at the dirt to find something tasty. I think it’s noble of you to use them as an herb … it’s the respect that any life deserves, even the vegetable kind.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

