Home > Donor Conception > Onwards to the Donor Cycle

Onwards to the Donor Cycle

AF arrived and I only saw one line this morning, no matter what I peed on, so our next step is trying a (half) egg donor cycle!

We had our second appointment with the counsellor this morning.  All she did was witness our signatures on consent forms and ask me if I have any mental illnesses aside from ‘all this’.  (She asked me that last time as well; does she think I’m insane?  Am I that see-through?!)  I took the opportunity to let the nurses know about the failed FET cycle and pick up scripts for birth control pills (to start in 5 days) and Progynova (to be started later).  Bill said not to get both scripts filled at the same time or the chemist might get confused, but I might just to watch the apothecary’s brain whirl a bit.  😉  To be fair, I think he was more concerned that the chemist would have questions I might feel uncomfortable answering in the middle of a shop.

So that’s it.  Off into the world of using an egg donor.  It’s been a strange road here; it’s not like it’s come from any diagnosis.  I had no idea my last cycle would be the last with my own eggs, but I think I’ve already mourned not using them.  I felt a bit bad during the 2WW because I was already getting my head into a space ready for moving on to an egg donor; I think you all were giving my poor last little genetically-mine embabies more support than I was.  Not that I didn’t want them to live, I just couldn’t believe they would.

I look at my donor’s profile and think her eggs could be a great start for my child.  She’s 10 years younger than me and has fewer medical issues in her family history.  And most of all she’s had children who have not just lived to be born but past being toddlers.  I want a bit of that.

Categories: Donor Conception
  1. CW
    22/10/2010 at 12:32 pm

    I am so sorry. I truly am. You are going to make a great mother of this I have no doubt and any child that comes from you or too you is going to be blessed beyond reason.

  2. 22/10/2010 at 12:59 pm

    Glad that the second meeting went well (even if the counselor asks stupid questions), and that you’re getting ready to try this new path … cheering you on from halfway around the world!

  3. thecrazycatwoman
    22/10/2010 at 1:19 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your unsuccessful cycle. 😦 Good luck with the egg donor path. It must be a lot to get your head around. It’s a big (but exciting) step to take.

    xx

  4. Jen
    22/10/2010 at 1:24 pm

    I’m sorry for the one line but I’m excited that you have such a positive path in front of you. What do you mean 1/2 an egg donor cycle? Are you splitting the eggs with someone else?

  5. a
    22/10/2010 at 1:25 pm

    I’m sorry the FET didn’t work. But it sounds like you have moved on – I’m excited for you and I hope your half of the cycle (OK, and the other half too, I suppose) works very well and ends in a take home baby (or more). Much luck…and have fun confounding the pharmacist.

  6. 22/10/2010 at 4:20 pm

    Bugger!! Was so hoping for the FET – so sorry.

    Good luck with the half-donor…we’ll be with you every step of the way.

  7. 23/10/2010 at 2:04 am

    You are being so strong and positive about moving on to donor eggs. I am proud of you!

  8. 23/10/2010 at 4:38 am

    I know how you feel about being guilty for moving forward during the 2ww. I did that with my 2nd IUI, which turned up with a BFN.

  9. Katie
    23/10/2010 at 4:57 am

    Ugh. I was hoping for the fet. When do they tx? I have some time to send socks now. Finally.

  10. 23/10/2010 at 6:07 am

    I’m so sorry that this FET didn’t work. I was really hoping that this would be it for you. But, I know that the half-donor cycle will be your success. I’ll be thinking of you!

  11. 23/10/2010 at 12:07 pm

    I did my egg donor transfer yesterday. Wishing us both healthy, happy families!

  12. Meg
    23/10/2010 at 6:37 pm

    What a pooh that this cycle didn’t work. Sorry seems an insignificant things to say. But it is so great that you have the donor cycle to move onto. I hope she grows a good number of lovely eggs and that this will be your answer. xo

  13. Meg
    23/10/2010 at 6:40 pm

    Just re-read my comment asnd have to say I wasn’t saying that others shouldn’t be saying the “sorry” word to you (in case it came across that way). Just that I always feel like it doesn’t convey enough of what I’m trying to say. I hope you know what I mean.

  14. 24/10/2010 at 10:43 am

    I”m sorry for the failed cycle. Good luck with this next step.

  15. 24/10/2010 at 1:19 pm

    It’s great to be moving on with a shot at having an excellent donor. So don’t worry about the past, just think about this cycle and your possible BFP coming!!

  16. 25/10/2010 at 11:07 pm

    Oh Tas, I am so sorry to read this. I was so hoping that your long road was coming to an end. Still you have a poositive POA. May 1/2 a donor be all the donor you need.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

