Home > Musings > Is It Spontaneous When You Do It More Than Once?

Is It Spontaneous When You Do It More Than Once?

Is it still considered spontaneous when you do a spontaneous thing more than once?  A couple months ago I booked some flights to visit friends in South Australia with less than a week’s warning so I could fit in a trip before my next IVF cycle.  Well, this time next week I’ll be somewhere in Victoria, with the husband this time, fitting in a quick trip since the drugs I’ll be on at that point are just HRT pills and not injections.

I guess I’m glad I was spontaneous about it, because if I’d taken a moment to consider I probably wouldn’t have done it.  I have several bills due, things I forgot I about I had to reschedule, etc, etc.  However I did it.  With no plans of what we’d do, just that we wanted a change of scene.

So my husband has decided he’d quite like to see the Great Ocean Road.  Again, if I’d thought all through we’d have taken the ferry, The Spirit of Tasmania, to the mainland so we’d have our own camper and stuff with us.  But I didn’t, so I’ve spend a couple days wrestling with arrangements.  Seriously, why are most of the camper hire places in Melbourne a billion kilometres away from the airport?!  But it’s mostly sorted now.

So far I haven’t found the side affects from the BCPs to be too bad;  this stuff’s for kids!  I’ve noticed I have to wash my hair every day or it looks greasy (usually my hair hates being washed more than every other day).  Last night I was a little weepy, but who knows if that’s from the tablets or or suppressing the need to kill an idiot at work.  I’ll have the last BCP on Saturday.  AF/CD1 could come 2 or 3 days later (again, not very good planning to have a trip away!).  On CD2 I start the HRT, which seems a bit more full-on.  I take it 3 times a day with meals.  Regular meals while travelling can be a challenge, but if that’s the worst thing I have to face next week that will be fine.

I’m usually a planner.  I book holidays months or a year in advance and research everything.  These holidays are awesome.  But with IVF I can’t plan that far in advance, so no trips.  And we just don’t take short weekend trips away in the camper because of general blahs.  For several years of IVF we haven’t left the house at all it seems, so maybe my short spontaneous trips are a good adaptation to a stupid way of living.

Categories: Musings
  1. 04/11/2010 at 11:10 am

    Hey, I reckon if it offers you some respite from the whole IVF thang, then great!!! Woot woot? GOR????? I will be waving as you go by! PS: There is an airport clipper service direct into the centre of Geelong…perhaps an alternative location for camper hire?

    Enjoy!

    LS x

  2. 04/11/2010 at 11:39 am

    LOL I looked at the title and thought this post was about sex!! Anyway I think it’s great you decided to do this quickly rather than thinking it through. Glad you are not getting too many side effects from BCP’s. Everything seems to be going really well!! Enjoy this break and come back refreshed! Love you xxxxooo

  3. 04/11/2010 at 12:15 pm

    Definitely a great idea to get away and try to have some fun before the IVF rounds starts! Funny enough I too thought that this post was about sex… oh the places our minds go when we’re so used to talking about it. Have a fabulous time on your trip!!

  4. 04/11/2010 at 1:10 pm

    Believe me, nothing in my life has been about sex since we started IVF!

  5. a
    04/11/2010 at 1:21 pm

    We’ve been trying to plan a vacation for at least a year…it just never seems to work out. My last vacation was to accompany my husband for a week when he started his new job – totally spontaneous and very much fun. I think it works better when you don’t overthink or overplan things…although having your own supplies would probably have been more comfortable.

    I’ve found the side effects from my BCP to be positive…my skin has calmed down quite a bit. I suspected that my hormones were out of control, and this confirms it for me!

  6. 04/11/2010 at 3:34 pm

    LOL @ the title, Anxiousmum’s & Ashley’s comments & Tas’s response – I had exactly the same thoughts!! Obviously IF’ers are obsessed with sex…which is strange in a lot of ways! Was expecting a raunchy story…not a travel story.lol

    A short break, a change of scene, something different – all good and nourishment for the soul. Sounds like a great idea and am so jealous of you driving the GOR…we never managed to get there in our short 3 months in Oz. Enjoy it!

  7. 04/11/2010 at 3:53 pm

    Another person who thought “sex” here!

    I’m glad that you’re going to get away again … and it doesn’t matter whether it’s spontaneous or not! Sometimes little breaks can be more effective than the painstakingly researched trips, anyway … I’ll hope that’s the case for you two. Enjoy!

  8. Jen
    04/11/2010 at 5:21 pm

    Perfect timing to get you nice and relaxed!

  9. Meg
    04/11/2010 at 8:49 pm

    I didn’t think of sex at all when I read your title! Is there something wrong with me??
    You’re going to have a wonderful trip and I absolutely think booking your trip without much thought does count as spontaneous, even if you have done it before. Well done, being a through and through planner myself, I know how much it must have felt so great (and a tiny bit scary) to go for it!

  10. 04/11/2010 at 9:12 pm

    Sounds like a great idea. I’ve always wanted to drive down the Great Ocean Road. I too am looking forward to being able to plan a week-long holiday without worrying about interruptions to IVF.

    Is HRT hormone replacement therapy? What’s in the cocktail?

    Looking forward to seeing some spectacular photos from your trip.

  11. Still A Guest Room
    04/11/2010 at 11:27 pm

    So glad you are getting away for a bit…enjoy!

  12. 05/11/2010 at 3:48 am

    I think that sounds like a great plan! I hope you kids have fun. I’ve never been down under, so I don’t know any of the places you mention BUT I’d love to see pics, if you can post them. Have a great time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

