Home > Donor Conception, Musings, Ovum Donor Cycle #1 > Meanwhile, in another part of Hobart. . .

Meanwhile, in another part of Hobart. . .

It’s strange to think that for ‘my’ next cycle, there are actually 3 women involved:  me, the anonymous egg donor, and another recipient.  And it’s not just the 3 of us either, as this cycle also touches the lives of the people in our lives.  The donor has a young family and friends who have been through IVF, so maybe she’s told them of her donation.  And I assume the other recipient has friends and family of some sort.  Hobart being a small place, we are all bound to have some connection beyond just this cycle.*  I could pass them in the street or meet them at a party and not know, but we’re taking drugs to start our cycles and ovulate at the same time.

Even though this keeps passing through my head, it’s not like I stare at people in the street and think ‘Is that her?!’.  I have enough de-identified information about the donor that if I was so inclined I could easily drive myself crazy doing this.  However for me this feels more like I’m just experiencing this connection  – feeling these invisible bonds.  I used to feel it when I did trigger injections too, knowing the other women at my clinic who were having ovum pick ups on the same day would all be having that injection at the same time; we may be at different stages of life, but for that instant our lives,  actions, and hopes coincided.  For this cycle it’s even stronger; there’s three of us depending upon one harvest of eggs.  I’ll probably never know the other women involved, but I can understand some of their feelings as our cycles are synced and we move towards ovum pick up.

BTW, I can’t believe what filthy minds you all (except Meg) have to think my last post was about sex!  Nothing in my life is about sex since IVF came into it!!  Vasectomy + sex = pointless.  😉

* As I once mentioned before in this blog but will state again in case you’re not familiar with Hobart, living in Hobart like watching a play by a small amateur theatre group.  Everyone plays more than one role, so the person you work with was also your nasty neighbour’s best man as well as your brother-in-law’s flatmate during uni.

  1. Jen
    05/11/2010 at 2:59 pm

    Yay! Sending good thoughts to everybody for good eggs and linings!

  2. 05/11/2010 at 5:20 pm

    THREE sets of prayers and good intentions (as well of all of us here) … that has to count for something!

  3. bir
    05/11/2010 at 7:23 pm

    I love your description of Hobart! Same in Canberra 🙂 good luck!!

  4. 05/11/2010 at 7:53 pm

    That is the one good thing about infertility – it brings so many people together. I hope that this cycle brings happiness to all three families.

    Are you and your husband having some sort of trouble? You deserve a loving and supportive partner to hold you through this difficult time.

  5. 05/11/2010 at 8:41 pm

    I love what Justine said. ANd I think it’s wonderful you can feel the connection with the other women participating in your cycle.

  6. 06/11/2010 at 5:12 am

    Hobart sounds like a mighty interesting place. I am hoping this it for you, my dear!

  7. a
    06/11/2010 at 1:04 pm

    With many more people praying for all three of you, I hope that the success chances increase exponentially!

    Hobart sounds like an interesting place. I’m used to anonymity, and I don’t think I could give that up.

  8. thecrazycatwoman
    07/11/2010 at 3:59 pm

    How interesting. I think I’d probably be driving myself crazy wondering ‘is that her?’, ‘is that her?’ with every woman I passed in the street.

    Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

