Home > Ovum Donor Cycle #1 > Waiting for CD1 – Yet Again

Waiting for CD1 – Yet Again

Saturday night I had my last BCP, so I should be CD1 soon.  It’s amazing to think how often I’ve waited for AF in the past few years.  Eagerly waiting so I can start new treatment; impatiently waiting so I can get on with things.  I just wish my life away – but also strangely have to live in the now because I never know what’s going to happen next.

I’m a bit down.  Partially because insomnia means I just don’t get much sleep but partially because I was reading a blog this morning where the author was discussing her failed donor egg FET.  She mentioned how they thought having an egg donor might be the magic thing that helped, but it wasn’t.

I can’t help but remember that this may not work at all and could be just a waste of life.

Categories: Ovum Donor Cycle #1
  1. 08/11/2010 at 6:40 pm

    Hey Tas:

    Going into a donor recipient cycle is overwhelming in all kinds of ways. It is also quite different (I believe) to our own cycles. There seems to be no way to prepare for the shift. It is so different, but kind of familar. Our expectations change and are raised – with good reason.

    Right now you are stuck in that awful IVF waiting room, and that is one of the toughest parts of the whole process. That is the time when fear and worry can really begin to take hold. It is completely understandable.

    Sure your donor cycle is an unknown quantity right now, but there is still every reason why it can succeed.

    Please do not allow my depressed post to affect your excitement and hope. My own donor FET hopes were extremely elevated after a first donor egg embie pregnancy. Sometimes a donor cycle won’t work, but more often than not they do….this blogosphere provides plenty of evidence of that.

    It’s not a ‘waste of life’ at all. It’s a chance at life..pure and simple!

    All you can do is take that chance.

    LS x

  2. Meg
    08/11/2010 at 9:19 pm

    ((((hugs)))). I know what you mean about wishing your life away. I’m doing it too. This may not be the magic you are looking for, BUT it might be too! xx

  3. a
    08/11/2010 at 11:59 pm

    I wish there were some guarantees for you. The best we can do is hope for success while steeling ourselves for failure. I hope this donor is your success story. Much luck.

  4. 09/11/2010 at 3:47 am

    I don’t think it’s a waste … because you never know. And without trying you’d never find out. To extend your geocaching metaphor (I really loved the analogy you drew between life and the polyline) … sometimes when we go looking for a cache, we find nothing. It’s been taken, or moved, or we’re just too stupid to find it. But if we didn’t go, we wouldn’t know that. Sometimes we see things along the way that we would never have seen otherwise. I agree with LS … all we can do is take a chance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

