Home > Ovum Donor Cycle #1 > Is It the Drugs or Just Me?

Is It the Drugs or Just Me?

I’m barely hanging on.  I feel like everything is too much for me right now: organising this stupid getaway, keeping things organised for the donor cycle, keeping my garden alive, etc.  And to top things off my dog Lottie was attacked by another dog on Saturday.  Guess who is the only one in the house able to be responsible for paying vet bills, keeping her wound clean, getting antibiotics down her throat, making certain she doesn’t scratch the wound, etc.  I’m just feeling overwhelmed.

Maybe it’s the drugs.  I know I’ve only been on birth control pills and am now off them, but the manipulation means my last cycle was only 18 days long.  Maybe my body hates AF as much as I do.  Maybe playing with a woman’s hormones is actually a crazy-making and ill-advised thing.  Ugh.  I can’t imagine what I’ll be like tomorrow when I start taking HRT tablets 3 times a day while going off into the wild blue yonder with my husband.

If you hear on the news that someone pushed her husband off a cliff somewhere along the Great Ocean Road later this week, that would be me.  It will probably mean my husband has made another comment about how stress-free it is to just book a quick holiday and get away from it all.  Please speak for me on my behalf at the hearing; I don’t want to get off, just have a quiet, padded cell.

Categories: Ovum Donor Cycle #1
  1. a
    09/11/2010 at 12:38 pm

    Argh! You can’t tell us that! Then it becomes premeditated!!!

    Hormones are the devil anyway – start messing with them, and who knows what will happen? Add stress and forget it!

    Hope Lottie’s doing OK…I had a Welsh Terrier who was apparently poorly socialized, as most other dogs would attack her unprovoked, and I know how frightening it can be when your dog is hurt. Best of luck

    Try to enjoy your getaway.

  2. 09/11/2010 at 2:57 pm

    Poor Lottie! I hope she’s recovering.

    We’ll make sure you have a room with a nice view. (I hope that the getaway helps…)

  3. Jen
    09/11/2010 at 3:46 pm

    Hang in there! Just keep going – you can do it. (don’t apply that to the hubby pushing!) 🙂

  4. 09/11/2010 at 6:09 pm

    Just playing catch up. Been off the blogland thing for a while. I am sure it is the hormones, but also after everything you have already been through don’t underestimate the pressure and stress of this new type of cycle. Hoping your holiday does turn out to be a stress relief.

  5. 09/11/2010 at 6:27 pm

    You are definitely under a lot of stress right now. Try to do some nice things for you and don’t be so hard on yourself. I’d be telling my husband to man up and help out. Messing with hormones certainly is not a good idea.

    Hmmm, about the cliff, one is sure that this would amount to an insanity defence, due to your mind being disordered by hormone drugs, thus you would certainly be detained in a nice facility. 🙂

  6. 09/11/2010 at 8:53 pm

    Oh! I’m so sorry about all of this. How annoying he can’t help out. And yes, I’m sure having a shorter cycle would make you feel awful and wonky. Progynova isn’t too bad though, at least I didn’t think so and hope it’s the same for you 🙂
    Sending lots of good healing thoughts towards Lottie 😦
    Hope you get to have some fun on your getaway!

  7. thecrazycatwoman
    10/11/2010 at 7:48 am

    Blame it on the drugs I think.

    I’m so sorry to hear about Lottie. That must have been extremely traumatic for her and for you. I hope she recovers quickly.

    I hope your trip away turns out to be MUCH better than you are anticipating.

    xx

  8. 10/11/2010 at 8:57 pm

    You poor thing. You have so much on your plate right now. Send us an e-postcard from the yonder.

  9. 12/11/2010 at 2:41 pm

    OMG! Poor Lottie! I hope the wounds heal up quickly. My dog, Lux, is on antibiotics right now, and the peanut butter seems to do the trick.

    I would most definitely blame the drugs. I find it’s amazing what rocking my hormones does to me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

