Maybe Wednesday

I’m back in the office after having my scan.  My endometrium is 8 mm and apparently my ovaries aren’t up to anything, which is good.  Bizarrely.  I’m accustomed to being a bit more involved at this stage of things.  Apparently OPU will probably be Wednesday, but the donor will be re-scanned on Monday to confirm.  This is strange for me.  I’ve been through 14 stim cycles; it’s monumentally bizarre to be so uninvolved in this process.

As we were leaving, Bill asked me if I wanted to do Crinone or pessaries this time.  (For those familiar with TasIVF this was between the scan room and the nurse’s station window; for those not familiar with TasIVF, this took place in an open hallway.  Joy.)  I said I hate Crinone, but it didn’t matter to me – whatever he thought was better.  He said a lot of people hate the Crinone (I confirmed my loathing), but he said the disadvantage with the pessaries is that if I use them vaginally I’d have to lie down for half an hour twice a day.  And then he said ‘Or you could just pop them up your rectum’.  He tried to go on with the conversation, but I had to point out to him that he’d said ‘pop them up your rectum’.  When he didn’t seem to think this was a big deal, I asked him how he’d feel if it was his rectum.  He said something about a lot of medication being delivered that way in Europe.  What?  Why would that matter to me?  And I lived for several years in Europe, in several countries.  Never once was I required to take medication that I ‘popped’ up my rectum.  I still haven’t decided whether to do the Crinone, which I loath, or pessaries.  But I’d be much happier being horizontal for half an hour twice a day than popping anything up my rectum.  Believe me, it’s not feeling jealous of the attention other parts of my anatomy is getting.

Yesterday I received a phone call from the receptionist asking to move my scan appointment forward an hour to 9:15 am.  I assumed it was because he had lots of OPUs this morning, but after my scan another reason hit me: the donor was having a scan this morning.  Oh.  Hmm.

For something completely different, if you don’t read Hyperbole and a Half you should.  Yesterday’s post had me wheezing and crying, which was great.  I’d spent the morning choking back tears in the middle of my office and let me tell you choking back tears of funny is much easier socially.  Try getting through this post while drinking something; I dare you.

  1. cw
    19/11/2010 at 11:46 am

    omg – that was hilarious. i haven’t laughed that hard in ages and then i read I am God of Cake and nearly fell over laughing. Thank you so much!! i hope you are feeling better and you are ok with these next steps. crinone sux. i would prefer the needle in my rear to crinone. xx

  2. 19/11/2010 at 2:00 pm

    Thanks for sharing that with me, I had read it last night, but it IS amazing! I love that blog anyways, but the dog thing was CLASSIC.

    Ha ha, I love how you gave it back to the doc with his rectal fantasies.

    I can’t believe you grew up so close to me! Maybe someday we shall meet in person.

  3. a
    19/11/2010 at 2:36 pm

    I do love Hyperbole and a Half. It’s almost always good for either a belly laugh or cringing in sympathy.

    An open hallway discussion regarding popping things in your rectum? Classy! But, I suppose no worse than the mammogram argument I had with my doctor in his hallway.

  4. 19/11/2010 at 3:22 pm

    Oh pets 🙂 Bless their souls.

    As for pessaries v crinone, I thought the only difference was mode of delivery with crinone having an applicator, it’s basically the same thing right? My clinic used to give pessaries and now I do oral progesterone so you will have to excuse my ignorance on this one. But that does lead me to the rather brilliant suggestion of asking your doc for oral prog?

  5. Meg
    19/11/2010 at 6:53 pm

    Yay for progress! I’m glad to hear things are moving along, even if you feel a bit removed from it all. And hoping you will get a Friday transfer so you get the weekend to relax.

    Don’t you love laughing so hard you cry?

  6. 19/11/2010 at 7:29 pm

    I thought I might burst something I laughed so hard at that moving dog post. Thanks for passing it along. In other news, the rectum comment in the hallways was “oh know you dinnntt!” I guess these Docs get so comfortable with all this they forget sometimes that we are mere civilians. I hated crinone too. What is it with that stuff? Good luck and wishing all good things for you.

  7. 20/11/2010 at 2:01 am

    Only doctors would think “popping” something up one’s rectum is no big deal. Yike.

    HILARIOUS blog … thanks for the link!

    • 20/11/2010 at 2:03 am

      Oh, and by the way? Love the sauerkraut analogy. If I lived closer, I’d be right over with a pumpkin pie, which I would help you eat in its entirety. 🙂

  8. 20/11/2010 at 2:23 am

    Glad things are moving forward nicely. Nice quiet ovaries is a good thing 🙂 (Sounds strange, I know).
    I LOVE that blog. I looked at all day yesterday and I just about died laughing during the dog post.

  9. 22/11/2010 at 2:41 am

    Sounds like your cycle is going just as it should, even if you feel rather diengaged from it.

    You better believe I would rather lie down that ‘pop’ something in my rectum! Besides I figure the lying down helps with ‘relaxing’ forced relaxation for half an hour twice a days seems reasonable to me.

  10. 23/11/2010 at 7:30 am

    I loooooooooooooooove Hyberhole.. she’s so funny. I’m glad that you have a plan in place and it would just be odd to run into the donor huh? As for popping something in the rectum, you could always offer to do so for him if he finds it so easy, like…. a watermelon considering that’s what you are aiming to push outta ya……. just a thought. 😀 Course, I’m a little evil that way…. ~*~ HAPPY ICLW ~*~

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

