Home > Donor Conception, IComLeavWe, Ovum Donor Cycle #1 > Donor’s OPU Wednesday; Transfer Friday

Donor’s OPU Wednesday; Transfer Friday

For those visiting from ICLW, I’ve been an IVF patient since mid-2006.  Since then we’ve tried 14 fresh IVF/ICSI cycles, 7 donor inseminations, only 4 FETs, and the only pregnancy I ever achieved ended at 14 weeks 2 days for no known reason.  I’m now trying my 1st cycle with an anonymous egg donor.

I’m feeling quite flat.  I’ve been ill since Sunday evening – nauseous and vomiting and headachy.  I was feeling much better last night but woke up again feeling quite average today.  And today will be a hot one – 30 C – and I don’t react well to hot.  Also not the best when you’re struggling to keep yourself hydrated.  (I think that’s why I woke up with a headache; six hours of not drinking water, even though I did wake up and take some sips in the night.)  For once I wish I was doing injections rather than taking medication orally!  I probably lost one Progynova in a vomiting attack, but I’ve been using my iron will to keep the others down no matter how bad I feel.  Ugh.  And I haven’t been taking any nausea or headache drugs just in case they might get into my endometrium and be bad.

The clinic phoned yesterday to confirm that the donor’s ovum pick up will be on Wednesday – tomorrow.  Today I’m stopping in to sign forms, get drugs, etc.  I’m hoping they’ll still let me transfer 2 embryos as we normally do.  And although I loath it I guess I’ll go with the Crinone.  From what I’ve heard so far they’re basically the same, but the pessaries don’t have an applicator.  I’ll ask if there’s an oral option, but with the way I’m feeling maybe that’s not better!  So on Wednesday I start the lovely Crinone and on Friday morning I’ll have an embryo transfer.  (TMI alert: I’m really not looking forward to being all Crinone-y and cottage cheesey when I have the transfer!  Just when you thought you’ve lost all your dignity, they find a way to bring you lower.)

It’s so strange to know that out there is someone who had her trigger for me last night and who today is probably nervous about tomorrow’s OPU.  The strangest part of it for me is I feel so grateful but I can’t thank her.  I try my best to thank people when they’ve done something nice, and this is such an enormous thing.  But I can’t thank her.  Me being the person I am I’d like to get her a hot water bottle in case her tummy aches, fuss over her in bed, cook and bake nice things – but I can’t even say ‘thank you’.

  1. Sarah
    23/11/2010 at 11:05 am

    Good Luck with your transfer!! It is too bad that there is not a way to send a note saying thanks!

    Happy ICLW!!

  2. The Crazy Cat Woman
    23/11/2010 at 11:14 am

    Sorry to hear you’re sick. Hope you’ve got the day off. Vomiting is just what you need right now.:-(

    Being an egg donor or recipient must be a completely bizarre and unique experience. No doubt she has been thinking about you just as much as you’ve been thinking of her, yet you’ve never met. It must feel weird to not be able to say thankyou to someone who’s giving you the greatest gift that anyone ever has. I can’t imagine how I’d feel in your situation.

    Here’s hoping for lots of excellent eggs! x

  3. 23/11/2010 at 2:06 pm

    I suspect that she knows … even if you never meet, you will be connected in a way that no one else can imagine.

    Hoping you feel better soon, and that the transfer goes well … keeping all of my appendages crossed!

  4. Jen
    23/11/2010 at 4:43 pm

    Get better! I was super sick before my transfer but it obviously stuck! Is it possible to write a note and give it to the clinic to deliver? Can you take Progesterone in Oil (PIO) shots instead of Crinone? I really preferred the shots believe it or not! I have been keeping you in mind a lot lately. I hope yesterday you get some good news on the number of eggs!

  5. 23/11/2010 at 5:32 pm

    Are you allowed to leave a nice “thank you” card or anything for the donor? I can imagine how hard it is to not be able to thank the person who is doing this. I would feel the same way.

  6. Katie
    23/11/2010 at 7:49 pm

    You may be able to being something to the clinic and have them give it to her. Perhaps something that you like and would make her think of you and know how grateful you are? Socks maybe? Which btw, yours ARE in the post. I finally figures out what was wrong. The postal worker kept putting too little money on the stamps. They refunded me for the two mistakes but it doesn’t make it any less annoying.

  7. Meg
    23/11/2010 at 8:52 pm

    Your poor thing feeling sick and awful at a time like this. I hope you are on the mend and getting rehydrated. Today was WAY too hot to be feeling sick in bed.
    And not being able to say thank you must be an awful feeling. I’m very much a “thank you” person too, thanks to my mums dilligence to manners. But as someone else pointed out, she must know how thankful you are. Only someone who knew the joy that her gift would give would be a donor in the first place.

  8. 23/11/2010 at 9:57 pm

    I am so sorry you are feeling awful sweetie. I was hoping you would avoid the worst of it. I seriously hated taking that stuff and gained so much weight while I was on it. That’s right the pessaries don’t have an applicator, they don’t really need one as they are quite small (if they are the same as the ones I used) but you do have to lie down, LOL! I hope you are allowed to leave a card for the donor, if not don’t doubt she understands how grateful you are. I’m sure she is a truly amazing person. I am so excited your transfer is this Friday! Finally 🙂
    Love you xx

  9. Still A Guest Room
    24/11/2010 at 12:19 am

    Good luck this week…I’ll be thinking of you and your wonderful donor!

  10. 24/11/2010 at 2:50 am

    Good luck with your transfer this week. FX for for a great ER for your donor. *hugs*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

