In the Dark

I’ve been thinking my way through the donor’s ovum pick up this morning; after 14 of them I certainly know how it’s going to go!  By now it’s all over – somewhere hopefully there are some eggs that she has surrendered which will be divided up, half for each of her recipients.  I hope she’s not in a lot of pain.  I hope that although she’s produced an amazing number of perfectly mature eggs she doesn’t get OHSS.  I hope she didn’t have second thoughts about donating them (not likely, but technically they are hers until they are fertilised).  I hope as the scientist is cleaning them this morning she’s amazed at how perfect they all are – and if there’s an odd number of eggs gives the extra one to me!  I hope the donor’s recovering well.

My husband had to fast this morning in case the sperm frozen last cycle doesn’t defrost OK – or in case there are so many eggs they need more.  So at some point we’ll get a phone call letting us know if we need to come in or if he can eat; I hope (but doubt) they’ll let us know how many eggs we have.  Waiting, waiting, waiting.

Before I even had a chance to mention how I was feeling about it to my husband last night, he suggested we get a thank you card to take in with us to the transfer on Friday.  Hopefully the clinic will be happy forward it to the donor.  But I’m glad he felt the same way I do; all this has put so much strain on our relationship it’s nice to feel we’re on the same page for once.

Update (11 am Australian Eastern DST):  Since my husband can’t eat until he gets the go-ahead from the clinic, and since he still hadn’t heard from them, he just phoned.  Apparently his frozen sperm sample seems fine but they want to check it again at about 1 pm to make certain it is still OK.  So he has to fast until then!  And apparently they haven’t finished allocating the eggs so they can’t tell us how many there are – but they should be able to when they call him later.  I guess ‘they haven’t finished allocating the eggs’ means the eggs haven’t all been cleaned so they don’t know how many are suitable to attempt fertilising – and they won’t divide them between the two recipients until then?!?!

Not enjoying this waiting – but do I ever?

  1. 24/11/2010 at 10:05 am

    I just stopped by to wish you the best this morning and you have posted an update! I too was thinking you could forward a thank you via your clinic (after reading your last post). Fingers crossed for great results!

  2. cw
    24/11/2010 at 10:27 am

    It would be a bizarre feeling. And I am sorry for the strain. I can’t imagine the feelings you have been going through lately. I have my fingers crossed that this is the lucky final cycle. You deserve it so much. Good luck donor eggs 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

