Home > Ovum Donor Cycle #1 > Interim Fertilisation Report

Interim Fertilisation Report

I’ve been going crazy all day.  Last night my husband volunteered to phone the IVF unit to get our fertilisation numbers as he knew I’d be going crazy.  He said he’d phone at 1 pm, and of course my crazy has been heightened ever since then.  Apparently he’s been getting the answering machine.

He finally just phoned me –> we have 3 embryos.  Just 3.  I must say I was hoping for more.  I’m a bit crushed.  And I’m annoyed because our clinic will only transfer a maximum of 2 embryos – and I hate doing a FET with only 1 embryo.  The chance of that lone embryo not surviving the thaw is just too great.

Yes, sorry – I’ve gone straight through the next 2 1/2 weeks to the failure of this cycle.  But I’ve been here too many times before to be able to get excited.  This was supposed to be my magic last-ditch chance.  But it’s not feeling very magical at the moment.  I really wish I hadn’t had to share a donor; I’d feel a lot different about 6 embryos.

Categories: Ovum Donor Cycle #1
  1. 25/11/2010 at 2:54 pm

    These are three GOOD, STRONG, FIGHTING embryos. I know it’s easy to jump to the end of the story that is so familiar … but this time there are different characters … it may be worth risking hope. Hang in there.

  2. 25/11/2010 at 3:14 pm

    I have to agree with Justine. But I also understand your concern. I’m assuming there was no ICSI here? Hang in there hon, it’s going to be okay. xo HUGS. I won’t be online tomorrow so best of luck for your transfer and I look forward to reading all about it on Saturday.

    • 25/11/2010 at 3:15 pm

      That was with ISCI; my husband had a vasectomy 18 years ago so it’s always ISCI.

  3. The Crazy Cat Woman
    25/11/2010 at 3:20 pm

    I’ve checked in several times today to see if you’d posted. I’m sorry to hear about the poor fertilisation. It’s a very real possibility that you won’t be needing more than two embryos though – I really hope not.

  4. 25/11/2010 at 3:57 pm

    You are still in with an amazing chance, especially given the donor’s history. Just hang in there and don’t think past the transfer, ok? One day at a time! I know this sucks. But these results are still good!

  5. 25/11/2010 at 4:04 pm

    These are embryos from a young, proven egg donor. They have a _much_ higher success rate than embryos from an older person. These ones are survivors.

  6. 25/11/2010 at 4:18 pm

    Im with the last few posters, your donor has good history and great vibes! (because, you know, its the vibe of the thing your honor! – I know all our US readers wont get that but you will!) It’s all about the vibe (and a little about the facts) and you need to feel positive that this is a good situation and you have as good a chance as anyone. The negatives have time to come about later IF NEED BE, and if not, then you have wasted your energy on them. Keep believing!

    • 25/11/2010 at 4:22 pm

      Aah – thanks for making me laugh! Maybe I should send these 3 straight to the pool room?!?! 😉

  7. Meg
    25/11/2010 at 4:23 pm

    I can understand why you are disappointed, three doesn’t sound like many. BUT, as some of the other posters have said, these three embryos will hopefully give you a higher chance than you’ve had previously. I know that probably doesn’t help you feel any better. One step at a time. Try not to think about what happens if these ones don’t stick, cross that bridge when you come to it. Concentrate on the good things – you have three healthy embryos from a fertile. I know, I’m a hypocrite.

  8. Jen
    25/11/2010 at 4:39 pm

    Yep, it’s hard not to jump to the worst case scenario because you’ve been there. Just remember that this is whole new ball game with using DE. Those three embies might surprise you. I certainly hope so.

  9. Still A Guest Room
    26/11/2010 at 2:31 am

    So sorry that it’s not going as well as you hoped…thinking of you today.

  10. a
    26/11/2010 at 8:27 am

    I’m sorry it’s not what you were hoping for. But, I’m holding onto my hope for you…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

