Home > Ovum Donor Cycle #1 > PUPO, Yet Again

PUPO, Yet Again

I hope this post posts; it’s the first time I’m trying to post by email from my phone. It also means this won’t be long.

I’m at home now in my back garden getting some vitamin D on this gorgeous late spring day, Lottie by my side and 2 embryos on my inside. I must say they looked like Blobby’s siblings – and all those other embryos that came before and after him. They all look like they are part of the same family; there was nothing about them that stood out and said ‘we are from an anonymous woman and don’t belong here’. They happily made their way down the catheter and into my uterus. And hopefully there they will stay. But I’m not feeling the excitement I was on Wednesday.

We gave a thank you card to one of the nurses and asked if they could forward it to the donor for us (with a note saying they forwarded it so they don’t think we’re stalker recipients!). They were happy to do that for us, so that’s good.

I bumped into the nurse who arranged for me to talk to the lab manager those few months ago; I sort of feel like I owe her for helping us onto this new path. I think if it were up to Bill they would have just stimmed me forever.

My records if I want to know in the future, I’m still on Progynova 3 x per day. (Even if I get a BFP apparently I’ll continue it until the end of the 1st trimester.) I started Crinone 2 x per day on Wednesday. (So yes – had to endure the indignity of the transfer with a vagina that must have looked like a cottage cheese factory. Ugh.)

No urine test at all this time; blood test 10 December.

Laugh at me if you like, but there’s one great thing that happened this morning that makes me feel a little hopeful – a little like maybe I might get some good luck today: this morning I was able to get second row centre tickets for the Weird Al concert! I love him – he’s gotten me through much crap in my life.

If you’re lucky, there will be a photo of Lottie’s rear (she wasn’t cooperating) taken as she was bringing her ball back to me; that’s what’s she’s been up to most of the time I’ve been typing, with little time-outs for a snuggle.

Categories: Ovum Donor Cycle #1
  1. 26/11/2010 at 2:40 pm

    Here from ICLW 🙂 Congrats on being PUPO! And thank you for posting that picture. Even if just a dog-behind, it’s a beautiful shot. There’s something very calming about it. Sending you prayers and sticky baby dust for this cycle.

  2. 26/11/2010 at 3:55 pm

    Good luck. I know that this is the hardest part (actually, all the parts are pretty difficult). So much hope, so much fear. So much to lose, so much to gain. It is a long wait until December 10.

    I really hope that this is the cycle that changes everything. You deserve some good news.

  3. 26/11/2010 at 4:16 pm

    Waiting with you. It looks like you really have spring there now … I can practically see the pollen in this picture. I will hope that it means new life for you, too.

  4. Katie
    26/11/2010 at 5:25 pm

    December 10 is my testing day as well. Fx for us both. Although I have yet to ovulate so we will see. I have loads of hope for you and luck
    Tends to go in runs (as does bad luck but we don’t need to know about the bad luck.) I’ll be waiting with you.

  5. 26/11/2010 at 7:50 pm

    There is definitely a tiny cute rear in that picture!!
    I am excited for you and will continue to be so on your behalf. I know it is really hard but you will get through this one way or another. Yes you will stay on Progynova now-stopped mine at 10 weeks. I was terrified to but everything was fine.
    Sorry about the awful Crinone again. I hope the transfer didn’t hurt too much. I know the Crinone makes that part worse as well. Take it easy now.
    love you
    xxx

  6. a
    27/11/2010 at 1:56 am

    Much luck! And I’ll take Weird Al as a good sign…

  7. Meg
    27/11/2010 at 6:46 am

    Here’s to being PUPO. I’m glad to hear you took the rest of the day off after your transfer and that it was a sunny spring day for you to chillax in the garden. It’s awesome that you got such good seats for Weird Al. Yep, take that as an omen!! Hopefully you are sleeping right now (I have woken up stupidly early for a Saturday) and have a very relaxing weekend planned. Now the countdown til 10 December. Xxoo

  8. Jen
    27/11/2010 at 12:21 pm

    What a beautiful day! I’m looking out at three inches of snow in my backyard so the flowers look so inviting! I’m glad you were able to get the card to her. That’s sweet. Now I’m hoping for these embies to settle in and get comfy. 🙂

  9. 27/11/2010 at 3:42 pm

    Hello
    Found your blog via ICLW week. I am looking forward to following your journey. We have some things in common. I’m almost 40 (next May) and we may consider Egg Donor IVF. We meet again w/our R/E to go over all the test results and our options.
    Wishing you positive results in Dec.
    The Cs

  10. Kim
    27/11/2010 at 9:05 pm

    Best of luck for the next two weeks and beyond.

  11. Bec
    28/11/2010 at 2:35 pm

    This will work, this will work, this will work: say it three times for emphasis and three times for luck! God I cannot wait to hear some good news from you.
    Well done on the posting from your phone (what?) and Weird Al tickets. Who’s fat? You, hopefully very soon with a very good pregnancy excuse! XXX

  1. 29/03/2011 at 3:52 pm
  2. 22/11/2012 at 4:56 pm

Leave a Reply

