Home > Ovum Donor Cycle #1 > Gently Busy

Gently Busy

A friend recently reminded me that Vitamin D deficiency can be bad for trying to conceive, which I’d heard before but like so many things lately have let slip.  Living in Australia and having sensitive white northern European skin I’ve completely swallowed the ‘slip, slop, slap’ message and am always covered up – long loose sleeve even in summer with a hat an shades.  For this and other reasons it wouldn’t surprise me if I was vitamin D deficient.  So Friday after I posted to my blog I went up into my veggie patch and bared my tummy to the sun.  ‘Cuz that’s where the embies are – so why not.  It was actually lovely – a warm day, but my back was cool because the soil was wet from rain.  I just stayed there for a while, then crawled into the shade of my pear tree and before I knew it woke up with sweaty legs because Lottie was sleeping on them.  Later I noticed my tummy was a bit pink – oops.

Saturday I pottered around the garden until it was time to meet a friend to see Harry Potter in Gold Class; I highly recommend it for a movie that is so long and that so many childrens want to see!  The theatre was a swarming mass of short people, so Gold Class seemed calm and private.  Early evening I had taketina, which is always good for making my mind present and leaving the internal dialogue of wonder and angst behind.  Then off to a ‘BBQ’ – in a friend’s shed because it was pelting down rain.  After eating we spent a fair chunk of the evening playing Uno Spin, which was fun but would have been even more fun if I’d been drinking too.  And Sunday the husband and I took our dog for a walk around Constitution Dock and Salamanca in the morning and the afternoon was spent doing light gardening and housework interspersed with reading and rooibos chai drinking.

Somehow I succeeded in doing what I rarely do: keeping myself gently occupied.  Not that I wasn’t often thinking all the horrid 2WW thoughts in the background, but I was often distracted and could escape them for whole minutes.

Two days down; only a billion more days until the blood test.

Categories: Ovum Donor Cycle #1
  1. 29/11/2010 at 3:05 pm

    What a beautiful sounding weekend! (And rooibos chai, excellent choice … I’ve been craving a good cup of chai lately, myself.)

    Harry Potter was darker even than I’d imagined … Bean didn’t like it one bit. What did you think?

    As for Vitamin D … I don’t know about your doc, but my endocrinologist prescribed me 2000IU extra/per day … not that I want to be taking yet more pills, but it might be worth investigating if you don’t already take an additional Vitamin D supplement.

    One … day … at … a … time. We’re here waiting with you.

  2. a
    29/11/2010 at 3:11 pm

    That does sound like some excellent distraction! Keep it up.

  3. The Crazy Cat Woman
    29/11/2010 at 3:42 pm

    Your last few days sound quite idyllic. You know, Chinese medicine would say that warming your belly like that (even with a little bit of sun burn) would do a lot of good! I hope the next gazzillion days of your 2WW pass in the same gently busy way.

  4. Meg
    29/11/2010 at 4:15 pm

    Well done, it is a real challenge to keep yourself distracted. Sounds like you had a great weekend. After we got the vitamin D reminder I started taking vit D tablets that day (as I never seem to find too much time in the sun). I think they are working so far, hope your gentle dose of Vit D works for you too.

  5. Jen
    29/11/2010 at 6:38 pm

    What great distractions! Hubby and I left baby E with the grandparents who were visiting for Thanksgiving and went to see HP too. I’m sending you lots and lots of good baby juju.

  6. 30/11/2010 at 7:06 am

    I have had to take up extra hobbies. (one of which has been the stockings.) That sounds like a lovely weekend! I hope the next too many days go by just as well.

  7. 30/11/2010 at 8:45 am

    Fingers crossed for you…

  8. Jen
    30/11/2010 at 10:11 am

    Totally cracked up about your dog comment on my blog. 🙂

  9. 01/12/2010 at 10:02 am

    I would love to lay out in the warm sun! Not going to happen here with the snow! Very true about the vitamin D though… it is very important!! I take 1000 iu twice per day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

