Home > Ovum Donor Pregnancy > Another Hurdle Jumped: Little Spark Has a Heartbeat

Another Hurdle Jumped: Little Spark Has a Heartbeat

I had my early pregnancy scan this morning.  I was terrified; my husband was happily excited.

There was a nice large gestational sac.  And it wasn’t empty.  And even though I was having this scan at only 5 weeks 6 days because of the clinic closing for the holidays, there was a heartbeat.

Apparently while I was getting dressed the RE sent an email to the IVF Unit to let them know the result because by the time I got there to pick up more Crinone (it’s only 1/2 a block away) the nurses already knew the news.  I felt a bit bewildered getting hugs and excited congratulations from all of them; I’m still so scared I feel like everyone is more excited than I am.

If you are interested, there are images of Sparkie on a separate page.

Categories: Ovum Donor Pregnancy
  1. cw
    21/12/2010 at 12:39 pm

    ooooooh i just looked at the photos. HAPPY XMAS!!!

  2. Meg
    21/12/2010 at 1:23 pm

    Best news I had in ages!!! So glad everything is looking good. 🙂

  3. The Crazy Cat Woman
    21/12/2010 at 1:24 pm

    Hooray! I’m so glad. I can only imagine how terrified you must have been beforehand. I hope the excitement can kick in for you at some point (maybe at the eight month mark?). x

  4. 21/12/2010 at 1:33 pm

    YAY!!! I’m so glad that the scan went well! I know this comes at a perfect time to celebrate. What a great Xmas present!

  5. a
    21/12/2010 at 2:01 pm

    Excellent! You can release a tiny bit of fear, and let in a little bit of happy!

  6. 21/12/2010 at 2:47 pm

    I love that name, and I love the pictures. What a wonderful gift!

  7. 21/12/2010 at 3:18 pm

    A big step! Congrats!

  8. Natalie Dowling
    21/12/2010 at 3:28 pm

    So very happy for you. That must be the best Christmas present. The fear must be so ingrained, but, at the risk of sounding superficial, Sparky deserves a happy Mummy. You lose nothing by celebrating this wonderful milestone, and you have EVERY right to do so. Merry Christmas xxxx

  9. 21/12/2010 at 3:54 pm

    Congrats! Love the name – actually thought using that one, too. How wonderful that this is FINALLY happening for you, although I know it’s also terrifying after the loss you’ve suffered. We just have to find some way to balance between the joy of hoping and the fear of loss without falling too far into either emotion. This is going to be tricky!

  10. 21/12/2010 at 6:02 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Best Christmas present ever.

  11. Kim
    21/12/2010 at 10:10 pm

    Congratulations! That is great news.

  12. 21/12/2010 at 10:47 pm

    This is soo amazing! I hope passing this hurdle gives you a tiny bit of confidence. I know the anxiety all too well but this is really positive first sign! I’ve never seen a heartbeat that early even with DD. Keep the faith and let yourself be happy.
    love

  13. Still A Guest Room
    22/12/2010 at 12:22 am

    Wooohoo! Congrats!!!!!

  14. 22/12/2010 at 6:03 am

    Congrats on the pregnancy!!! I’m here from ICLW, and I can’t believe all you’ve been through to get to this point. I’ll be following along and praying for the little peanut. 🙂

  15. 22/12/2010 at 8:04 am

    Another Aussie IVF blogger – yay! Congrats on your little Sparkie and thanks for writing about your journey. How wonderful to see a heartbeat – I didn’t realise it was possible to see one so early.

  16. 22/12/2010 at 10:53 am

    Awesome news! You have held on to hope for so long, keep holding and that’s wonderful to hear a heartbeat at this stage. Have a wonderful Xmas.

  17. Kel
    22/12/2010 at 1:47 pm

    Congrats sweety on getting over another hurdle! looking forward to keeping tabs on your exciting progress 🙂 hugs to you
    we start our first IVF cycle in Jan 🙂

  18. 22/12/2010 at 9:30 pm

    so very happy for you disa, your own happiness will get there eventually, whatever you are feeling at the moment is fine hun, i hope the little beating heart growing in you gives you a secret smile over christmas time . sending love xxx anne

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

