Home > Weekly Updates > 6: 15% of 40

6: 15% of 40

6 weeks.  I spend a lot of my time quite dizzy, which I think is kinda awesome.  Monday it took me a while to get into work because I just kept feeling car sick; it pleased me like you wouldn’t believe.  And I’m hoping for a repeat on Christmas as then I wouldn’t have to do the hour long car trip to my in-laws, right?  However the apolcoypse must be nigh: I can’t stomach even the idea of chocolate or Maggie Beer’s ice cream.  Or garlic.  Luckily I still love any fresh fruit and veggies out of my garden.

Most of my brain is still occupied by fear though.  I have the lovely coloured Crinone cottage cheese, usually black or pink but a worrying bright red a few times.

I’ve been through the two milestones I noted last week, and one was wretched and one was good.  Last weekend was wretched.  I might write about it separately, but I’ll just sum up by saying I really thought I was going to lose Little Spark on the anniversary of Blobby’s death.  But I made it through.  And yesterday’s scan was better than expected, i.e. we saw a heartbeat, so that’s good.  My clinic only does one scan and don’t do any more monitoring after that, so you could say I’ve graduated from my clinic to the obstetrician.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily
  • Progynova (2mg) 3 x per day with meals
  • Crinone 8% vaginal gel 2 x per day

I found out at yesterday’s scan that when I hit 11 weeks on Australia Day (26 January for you non-Aussies) I drop to taking Progynova and Crinone only once per day; I stop taking them entirely (eek!) on 2 February.  Which means as of this morning only 76 more Crinone doses.  😦  How can it be so many – and how can such a horrible drug cost so much?!  I’m a bit nervous about dropping the drugs, but in theory I’ll be OK.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m excited by the idea of being off Crinone and Progynova!  But scared to drop any lifelines.  I remember around this time with Blobby I actually felt great.  I wasn’t on any drugs and as I’d been doing IVF for so many years it just felt amazing to only be dealing with my natural hormones rather than arm-wrestling my cycle artificially.  Which was sometimes funny; The Fertile One wasn’t always dealing with the pregnancy hormones well but for a seasoned IVFer they’re nothing!

Hmm. . .I guess milestones in the coming week are getting through Christmas and calling the obstetrician for an appointment.  My husband and I wrestled with who to go to.  After much discussion and asking a fellow recent TasIVF-grad we’ve decided to go back to the obstetrician I was with for Blobby.  Yes, his face may give me flash-backs, but at least he knows our situation.  My husband likes him a lot, I think mostly because as soon as he saw me in hospital after Blobby died he just looked me in the face and told me to stop blaming myself.  Explaining it all to someone could well either kill me or cause me to kill.  I don’t like one of the other obstetrician he works with* but I do know and like the other, who was the doctor we started out doing IVF with way back in 2006.

When I was lactating after Blobby and phoned to ask WTF my OB wasn’t available and  she didn’t phone me back or answer my questions; she just wrote me a script.  Which did nothing.

Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. Still A Guest Room
    22/12/2010 at 11:50 am

    Glad you’re feeling the side effects, and hope they keep coming!

  2. 22/12/2010 at 2:10 pm

    What does your doc say about the “colored cottage cheese”? Is there someone (else) who could reassure you, multiple times if necessary? It took me a long time to stop looking at toilet paper every time I went to the bathroom, and I had a little scare last week that started me doing it all over again. It would be nice to have someone who could tell you that it’s OK, and offer proof.

    If I lived closer, I would make you my anti-queasies carrot-ginger muffins … but then again, *feeling* pregnant really is a wonderful thing, and you don’t want to gyp yourself of that, either … at least, not exactly.

    Love the chocolate mousse recipe. My former boss makes one every year for our holiday party and guards her secret … so I’m glad to have one of my own now!

    And last, but definitely not least, glad that you made it through what I know was the first of many difficult milestones this past weekend. I hope you know how amazing you are.

  3. 22/12/2010 at 4:56 pm

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! I remember the mixture of excitement and worry…and the weird desire to have pregnancy symptoms that most people dread.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog. I look forward to following your journey.

    Happy ICLW!

  4. 22/12/2010 at 8:13 pm

    Congrats on the heartbeat! Yippee! Yippee! Yippee! And I know what you mean about being pleased with sickness. Especially as I have not seen a heartbeat yet, I find every symptom glorious!

  5. 23/12/2010 at 1:23 am

    Congratulations, I just read a blog that linked to your blog a few posts back. It was about trying to embrace your pregnancy and feelings of love, it is a beautiful post. I just suffered a loss from my first and only bfp after an IVF cycle, I can relate to your words. I will remember your words and take them to heart when (it better be a when) I get pregnant again. I wish you loads of luck and an uneventful 9 months.
    Blessings!

  6. 23/12/2010 at 1:49 am

    I am so glad that you got to hear a heartbeat! That must be so amazing!!

    I am with you with the dizziness. I have been feeling it almost since transfer only when I stand up after sitting for quite a while.

    An aversion to chocolate should be illegal!!

  7. a
    23/12/2010 at 12:42 pm

    Symptoms are great! And I’m glad you feel comfortable enough with your OB to go back – that’s a difficult decision to make. By the time you stop taking all the supporting medications, they should be able to tell that your body is performing properly on its own. I hope that will help you worry a little less on that front.

    Happy Holidays!

  8. 23/12/2010 at 1:26 pm

    I am here from ICLW. I found a lot of similarities with your story: I am also 6 weeks pregnant today, and also post IVF (no 6). I lost my son at 20 weeks in January this year due to incompetent cervix. What is not similar though, is that I don’t have a garden or vegetables in it: it is -22C as I am in Canada! Good luck with the pregnancy, will follow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

