Home > Weekly Updates > 7: 17.5% of 40

7: 17.5% of 40

7 weeks.  Christmas Eve was a nightmare for me: just before I left work I started having much heavier bleeding.  No cramps, but more blood.  And it continued until Monday morning – and stopped.  I spent the weekend hysterical with worry.  I want this Little Spark of life to continue, and I felt so sure it wouldn’t.  But as far as I know Sparkie’s fine.  I don’t think I’ll really believe he/she made it through the bleeding until my next ultrasound, but I’m hopeful.  And my bleeding pretty much took care of the in-laws-for-Christmas thing.  My husband went, but I stayed in bed for the entire weekend.  We’re going to go down later this week so I can give my mother-in-law the Christmas gift I made her and so my dog can visit my father-in-law’s nursing home and be lavished with pats by all the staff.

Another thing I’ve found living in bed for a few days is that my nausea and dizziness isn’t nearly as bad if I take frequent naps and nibble constantly.  (I was a bit paranoid until I realised why I didn’t feel as icky; the ickiness is so reassuring!)  I don’t know how I’ll cope when I get back to work – lately I’ve been squeezing 2 naps in during the day and I can’t see that happening in the office – but I’ll see when I get there.  Luckily I don’t go back until next Tuesday.

I still haven’t phoned the obstetrician’s office for an appointment, but that’s on my list for today.

We’re pretty much out in the open.  I’ve told several people, my husband’s told his family, and we told my parents.  And we let my parents tell family in their country at Christmas.  We thought they’d enjoy it.  I still haven’t told everyone – there are a couple people I just don’t know how to tell.  Other mums of lost souls.  Most people I’m fine with their knowing.  Even if the worst happens and Little Spark doesn’t make it, I want people to know he/she exists and is important to us.  But I find it hard telling people who I know as happy as they’ll be for me I suppose it might dredge something up – something they’ve lost and something they’re longing for.  I hate to be the one to do that to someone.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily
  • Progynova (2mg) 3 x per day with meals  (only 91 more Progynova to go!)
  • Crinone 8% vaginal gel 2 x per day  (only 62 more Crinone to go!)

I loath Crinone even more than I have in other cycles.  But I drop to only 1 dose per day in 28 days, then only have 7 days left.  Ugh.  I thought writing all those stats might make it seem like less time left to take it, but it doesn’t really.  I blame Crinone (and its partner in crime, the low dose aspirin) for all the bleeding I’ve been having.  Maybe that’s not true, but I already hate Crinone so I feel very comfortable blaming it for all the evil in the world.

Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. bir
    29/12/2010 at 10:46 am

    Ugh sorry to read about bleeding over Christmas. Good timing universe! But I’m very glad that there was no cramping, and very glad that it’s stopped. Can’t wait to hear about your next scan, and a message for little Spark…. Hang In There Buddy!!!

    (p.s. I’ve had to go private – you’re welcome to keep reading if you want (no obligation tho!! Email me your email address so I can add you! (birni@cybergal.com))

  2. 29/12/2010 at 1:49 pm

    Strange … this post is showing up in my rss feed, but not if I look at your blog … I hope that everything is OK. When is your next appointment? I hope that you’re resting and feeling as well as can be expected. Thinking about you and Little Spark.

  3. 29/12/2010 at 2:03 pm

    wishing you all the good vibes in the world! Im hoping that you are ‘the one’ that gets the Christmas miracle this year…stay strong and look after yourself, sounds like your body is needing it. Rest Rest Rest! x

  4. a
    29/12/2010 at 2:21 pm

    I hope all is well, and this bleeding will not show up again! Constant eating seems wrong, but it does make you feel so much better. Good luck returning to work though – employers frown on naps for some reason.

  5. Meg
    29/12/2010 at 4:36 pm

    I’m so sorry you had such a crappy and stressful weekend. This is such a hard road. Keep soldiering on and I know we’ll get through the scary times. Enjoy your break, I know I’m loving not having to go to work until Tuesday!

  6. 29/12/2010 at 7:01 pm

    I’m the same as Justine, have been checking your blog regularly but this post only appears on the sidebar? Anyway hoping that the bleeding settles down for you and glad you have had the chance to rest so much! I’m also glad to hear that you are making your OB appt, I was going to ask about that.
    Thinking of you all the time!
    xx

  7. Fee
    30/12/2010 at 7:25 am

    Hi I just wanted to wish you all the best. Hope the bleeding settles down. Take care.

  8. 31/12/2010 at 3:45 am

    I am so proud that you’ve told your parents. That takes more bravery than I have. I think many people know how much you’ve gone through already, and how much you deserve this. I hope that you manage to book an ultrasound soon and get to see that little heartbeat again.

  9. 31/12/2010 at 4:41 am

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! (I know, weird to post this here but I haven’t gotten to say that yet)

    I’m reading along and hoping like crazy that everything goes wonderfully this time and your Little Spark continues to thrive 🙂

  10. 31/12/2010 at 10:03 am

    Gosh I hope the bleeding stops soon! It’s very stressful. I’m 3.5 weeks behind you now.. Read all of your posts from when you first got your positive and it could have been me, the feelings were so similar. I, too have a relentlessly hopeful and innocent husband. I’m glad for them that they can feel that way but it’s a bit isolating. Maybe give them some estrogen and progesterone and see what happens?
    Wishing you a wonderful new year!

  11. 03/01/2011 at 9:44 am

    Ugh, what are the chances? I also woke up to bleeding on Christmas…merry freaking holiday! Mine also worsened over the next few days, but we had our ultrasound on Tuesday and everything is okay and since then the bleeding has subsided. I hope that the same holds true for you! I hear you on the naps…the exhaustion and nausea phases of pregnancy have hit over the weekend and I’ve slept SO much, I too am dreading going back to work tomorrow it’s going to be rough! Wishing you a fabulous new year and so much happiness!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

