Home > Weekly Updates > 8: 20% of 40

8: 20% of 40

8 weeks.  I have missed you all! Over the holidays every time I tried to get onto the computer to catch up with the world or blog my husband suddenly had an uncontrollable desire to chat.  If I was readying a book he’d leave me alone; if I got onto the computer, his mouth wouldn’t stop.  So I gave up rather than being distracted while trying to read.  I mostly caught up on a marathon read yesterday, but I read it all so quickly I still feel like I have to re-read to take in where everyone’s up to.  And I think I closed some pages before I’d put in all the captcha words so half my comments were probably lost.  Sigh.  Hast makes waste.

Yesterday I started back at work, and I’m exhausted.  I found I wasn’t as dizzy during the holidays if I napped and snacked constantly, but it’s not really something I can do in the office.  Our office carpet isn’t all that comfy for napping, and these days I can never predict what food I’ll be able to stomach.  I’m of course over-analysing every twinge and interpreting it as a sure sign of doom.  Last night I was sure my abdomen felt crampy and the end was nigh.  Then I slapped myself, asked myself if I had to say on a scale of 1 – 10 what the ‘pain’ was like what would it be (maybe .5), and then made myself concentrate on my feet instead of my abdomen.  I concentrated on how each toe felt, whether I could feel the texture of my sock, whether one was rubbing against my shoe more than another, etc.  It didn’t make me any less of my abdomen (I’m too experienced an abdomen over-analyzer for that), but I was a bit proud of myself for trying to use a strategy to overcome it.

My husband is on holidays until the end of the month, and when I got home yesterday he’d cleaned the ground floor of the house!  Well, more like shoved the clutter away than really cleaned, but it was great.  And he told me not to worry about dinner – he had it covered.  I said I could stomach something plain like pasta and pesto with fresh tomatoes.  So he went out and bought some ravioli with roasted duck, mushrooms and white truffle oil and fresh people out of the deli.  Normally that would be great, but the richness of the ravioli was more than I could take.  Luckily they weren’t very well constructed and mostly burst when he cooked them – and I had him cook the poor pesto to make sure it didn’t have any nasties.  He’s really trying, but he just doesn’t understand some things.  At least I’ve gotten him to wash his hands before handling food.

I know you’re all dying to hear the cottage cheese report.  It hasn’t been as bad – but of course the day I was travelling with a friend to the north of the state was the day I’ve had the worst in the past week.  I still get some black.  It’s still evil and awful.  I’m glad I went on the gnome expedition though.  It wasn’t just facing the travelling fear, but it was also doing something with a friend who loves me dearly despite me being an awful friend the last year.  And that goes for another friend who came down and visited me or a couple days last week.  It’s been hard for me to be around people I care about, and some of my closest friends I’ve really held a arm’s length – or just plain pushed away – this last year.  however like idiots they’ve stuck by me.  So I felt by travelling with one of these friends and meeting up with the other I was trying to reach across the barrier I’ve put up between us.  A little.  Plus we all got to meet in a park and have people look at us like freaks because we covered our picnic table with gnomes and sat on the ground to eat.

Gegnometric Centre of Tasmania

Gegnometric Centre of Tasmania

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily
  • Progynova (2mg) 3 x per day with meals  (only 69 more Progynova to go!)
  • Crinone 8% vaginal gel 2 x per day  (only 49 more Crinone to go!)

I just realised I’m well ‘over the hump’ with the Crinone and Progynova.  I started Crinone the day the ovum donor had her OPU, 6 weeks ago today.  In 3 weeks I drop to 1 Crinone per day, in 4 weeks I drop to 1 per day, and in 5 weeks I’m finished with it.  That’s a bit scary.  Scary to stop these drugs 2 weeks and 2 days before I  get to when I miscarried Blobby.

16 sleeps until my appointment with the obstetrician.

Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 05/01/2011 at 12:18 pm

    Haha 🙂 I love the gnomes! What’s the story behind that? Did you post about it already and I missed it?

  2. 05/01/2011 at 12:21 pm

    Oh wait, I remember. Are those all the gnomes you collected from geocaching? How fun is that?! I went geocaching once and it was fun – we picked a prize from the cache and left a prize of our own. Was there similar rules for the gnomes?

  3. a
    05/01/2011 at 12:25 pm

    Ahahaha! I love the gnomes! So glad you went. Why is it that husbands see computer time as conversation time? When you’re sitting around doing nothing, they’ve got nothing to say. The minute you get immersed in something else…time to chat.

    Hope you can get some catnaps in at work – I like to turn my chair away from everyone and slouch down really low and close my eyes for a few minutes. You’d be amazed at how much that helps.

  4. Meg
    05/01/2011 at 1:03 pm

    Yay, 8 weeks! Glad the cottage cheese hasn’t been too bad, in 5 weeks you won’t have to worry any more about it. Glad to hear that your friends have stuck by you, that is a true test of solid friendship.

  5. 05/01/2011 at 3:27 pm

    I love the gnomes. And agreed with Meg … the fact that these friends have stuck with you means that they’re friends … they can separate the chaff from the grain, and they understand why you’ve tried to push them away.

    You are sounding more and more pregnant … I hope that you’re able to find a dark corner at work to put your head down for a few minutes! I wish I could make you my carrot ginger muffins to ease the nausea. One day, one week, one sleep at a time … I hope that your cottage cheese and abdomen worries can be put to rest in just over two weeks. I’ll look forward to the day when you’re done with the drugs, as scary as I know that will be for you.

  6. 05/01/2011 at 4:38 pm

    Glad to see you went and did your gnome thing! I certainly would have done a double-take if I’d seen you & co with your gnomes. How sweet of your hubby too – trying to take care of you (even if he doesn’t get it exactly right).

    It’s so good to see that everything is moving along well – even if it is nerve-wracking! Good for you for finding a method to deal with your over-analysing too, I’ll be sure to keep that in mind if we can ever get me that far again.

    And lastly – cottage cheese update. Thank you very much. My day is complete now. 😛

  7. Anxiousmummy
    05/01/2011 at 7:26 pm

    Hey beautiful! So happy to read an update. Need to email u soon. Not long til ur appt now! All your symptoms sound so promising! I had to take sick days when I was most tired. Hope you have a few up your sleeve. Love u xxxooo

  8. 06/01/2011 at 2:11 pm

    So sweet that hubby is trying to help, even if it’s taking a little more explanation than you would hope. And I’m really glad you got to spend some time with your friends. Love the gnomes! Is that the Travelocity gnome I spy?!

    Sorry you’re feeling so tired at work. Work has that effect on me, too, and I don’t even have the benefit of blaming it on pregnancy! I’m hoping everything goes smoothly at your upcoming appointment. Still thinking of you daily, sweetie!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

