Home > Musings > Almost Fully Baked!

Almost Fully Baked!

Justine at A Half Baked Life is close to term!  I’ve never been one to enjoy baby showers where you have to play silly games, however I have been to one or two that were different and wonderful.  These have all been more about women coming together to celebrate with a friend.  In many ways that’s what this blogging community feels like, so it is highly appropriate that Jennifer at Bread, Wine, Salt is hosting an online shower for Justine.  Another great thing about it is I can attend from Tasmania!

So what should I contribute for the shower?  I had written out a recipe inspired by the qualities that I think make Justine wonderful which I was going to offer up as tasty morsels for all and as a means of support for Justine (sometimes you need others to remind you!).  However I’ve been at home all week and left my recipe at work.  :-/  So instead I’m just going to serve a bit of party food inspired by Justine.  I don’t know how best to help support her through the birth and transition to a 2-child family, however I think she certainly has it in her already.  Sometimes it helps if people remind us of what we’re capable of.  Justine, these are just some of the great qualities I see in you:

I’ll start out making the bases for my treats.   I’ll try out one of Justine’s vegan pastry recipes (although not all the toppings will be vegan).  To me you seem to be someone with a really strong base.  Sure, you may not always know which path opening up to take, but you are willing to explore the possibilities.  You’re also interested in continued learning, making your base ever stronger. Plus I love trying out your recipes; coconut flour brownies FTW!

The first topping I’ll put on some of the nibbles is mixed nuts sweetened by honey mixed with a little lemon juice, rose water,and a dash of cinnamon.  You seem to deal with the nuts in your life (mother, work colleagues, etc) remarkably well!

The next topping is a savory one I really love.  Top the base first with some home made hommus, then some grilled or sauteed mushrooms, then a bit of my home made apricot chutney.  Some of these can also get a bit of crumbled feta for the non-vegans.  I find this combination such a wonderful surprise: savory but with bursts of sweet and spicy.  You’re a wonderful combination of flavours: intelligent, spiritual, creative.  Surely that gives you not just the resources to get through this next great milestone in your life but also make you a fun mum.

The next topping I’m really looking forward to, mainly because I can’t have it in real life!  But doing something online you can’t do any other way is sometimes really fun!  The next topping is definitely non-vegan, a combination of soft mild cheeses, sharp blue cheeses, and walnuts.  I hope I can get them served before I eat them all myself!  This is both a celebration of the things we can do online which we can’t do otherwise, like be a part of the same community, and of cheesiness, in the sense of fun-loving and light-heartedness you possess.

As the party has already started I think I’ll leave it at that.  I hope you have a wonderful shower and a fantastic transition to mother-of-two-ness!

Categories: Musings
  1. 22/01/2011 at 9:27 pm

    Thank you for participating. This is lovely.

  2. 23/01/2011 at 6:52 am

    TasIVFer, I can’t express properly how much this means to me! You sharing your journey with us is such a gift, and I feel so lucky to be with you, to cheer you on the way, to worry with you when things look grim, and to hope with you for the future. Even in your darkest moments, you inspire me … and some day, I hope I get to shower you with good wishes in the same way!

    Your dishes sound lovely, BTW … some day I *am* coming to Tasmania to cook and eat with you!!!

    *love* j.

  3. 25/01/2011 at 12:37 pm

    Hey there beautiful! I just gave you a blogging award – go and check it out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

