Home > Weekly Updates > 11: 27.5% of 40

11: 27.5% of 40

11 weeks.  And happy Australia Day!!  Or, as I’m calling it this year, happy Sleeping Day!

After spending most of the last 2 weeks in bed, going to work for 2 full days was exhausting.  It’s embarrassing how little work I’ve done.  I’m exhausted.  And not interested in what I’m doing at all.  As exhausted as I am you’d think I’d sleep well, but I don’t.  I have lots of trouble getting to sleep, and my pattern lately seems to be to wake up at 4, be unable to get back to sleep until 7, and then be a complete zombie when I do wake up.  But I’m not headachy and nauseous now – and my house hasn’t been damaged by flooding – so I can live with that.

For some odd reason, I can’t stand green vegetables.  And when you have a veggie garden full of beautiful, fresh greens it’s a bit sad.  I also can’t stand garlic.  The thought of it is vile.  Especially with being sick I’ve mostly just wanted the blandest food possible.  It’s really hard to eat right when most days all you can stomach is rice or plain pasta.

With Blobby, I read a lot.  I read information online and read ‘Up the Duff’ by Kaz Cook.  I just can’t seem to read anything this time.  At all.

The TMI Paragraph Sorry – this blog isn’t just for you to read, but also for me to record what’s happening so I remember.  Some of the things happening now I’m remembering from when Blobby was alive.  For instance, you know how bamboo can grow a metre in a day?  Well what evolutionary purpose could there possibly be to human females’ pubes acting in a similar manner?  Or to skin tags?  Cottage cheese-wise, I’ve only had some pink a couple times in the last week.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily
  • Progynova (2mg) ONE x per day with meals
  • Crinone 8% vaginal gel ONE x per day

Next week I’ll be finished with Progynova and Crinone, after taking them for MONTHS.  Part of me is nervous – what if my body isn’t ready? – but mostly I’m excited.  I can’t know how much of what I’m feeling is caused by the drugs and how much is my own hormones.  And of course if I needed to take more drugs I’d do whatever I need to do to keep things going, but it will be nice not to need to take medication.

Upcoming milestones:

  • 3 February:  NT scan
  • 18 February:  next OB visit
  • 18 February:  14 weeks 2 days, the age Blobby was when he died
  • 9 March:  17 weeks.  For some reason I’m having an irrational fear about being 16 weeks, so I’ll be glad if I hit 17.
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 26/01/2011 at 12:12 pm

    I can’t do green vegi’s either…and my aversion this whole pregnancy has been avacados…YUCK!! I normally enjoy both of them..but…YUCK!! Tomorrow is 20w5d the age Trent was when i was admitted to the hospital…I know those milestones are very hard and scary! i will pray you make it past Blobby’s 14w2d mark with no trouble!

  2. 26/01/2011 at 12:13 pm

    and seriously I feel like I could shave daily and STILL have a jungle… it is insane!

  3. 26/01/2011 at 1:06 pm

    Oh how annoying that you can’t eat your veggies from the garden. It sounds like everything (yuckiness aside) is going well. Enjoy your sleep and happy Australia Day!

  4. 26/01/2011 at 1:47 pm

    I am also calling it Sleeping Day! 🙂 What joy, a day off in the middle of the working week. All weeks should be this way. 🙂

    It’s great to hear you sounding more upbeat and positive. Sorry to hear about the food aversions…how about some nice miso soup? That always makes me feel better.

    It was great to see you stop by my blog again and I just wanted to make sure you know that it is now at http://www.theconceivablefuture.com, not on blogger.

  5. a
    26/01/2011 at 2:53 pm

    My hair growth was not bad, but it just about stopped completely after giving birth (I don’t think I shaved my legs more than once a month)…so put that on your list of things to look forward to eventually.

    Good luck on adjusting your sleep patterns…it’s difficult.

  6. 26/01/2011 at 3:40 pm

    I will ALSO be napping tomorrow, if my son’s school doesn’t have yet ANOTHER snow day. That’s too bad about the greens … I was getting pretty sick of them myself this summer, and I suspect that it was only partly the fault of the CSA. Can you freeze some? (Not lettuces, of course …)

    Happy Australia Day! Maybe I will find something to bake tomorrow (and the energy to do so) to celebrate. 🙂

  7. Meg
    26/01/2011 at 6:00 pm

    Lol at the pubes comment! I’m thinking my hair aboves my lips (my lips on my face that is!) suddenly seems to be longer. Not sure if it is, or if I’ve just suddenly noticed it and it’s always been that way, but either way I don’t like it.
    And yet again we have our next appt with our lovely obs on the same day, the 18th. I think this time mine is at 12:15. Anytime close to yours?
    Good luck with your milestones xo

  8. 27/01/2011 at 3:44 pm

    I’m with you on the green veggies. I don’t know why, but pregnancy makes them seem so repellant! I try to choke some down anyway for the vitamins, but yuck! Like you, I’m also going off most meds soon. It’s scary to just have to trust our bodies after such difficult losses.

  9. the crazy cat woman
    30/01/2011 at 3:17 pm

    How disappointing for you that you can’t stand green vegetables! It’s amazing, isn’t it, that babies come out perfectly healthy even when women have been extremely sick and avoiding certain foods, or throwing up every day. But they do come out healthy.

    Not much longer for you to go with the cottage cheese! I tend to think of it more as wet cement complete with sand and gravel. ‘Cottage cheese’ is talking it up a bit much I think.

    I’m counting down the days with you, and so happy that all is OK. 🙂

  10. 30/01/2011 at 11:19 pm

    Just checking in, I have been terrible at keeping up with everyone’s blogs. So glad to hear your pregnancy is progressing exactly on track and will be watching and waiting with you through these upcoming milestones.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

