Home > Ovum Donor Pregnancy > Sparky’s a Dancer, NOT a Model

Sparky’s a Dancer, NOT a Model

Well the NT scan is over.  My husband is over the moon, and I just feel strange.

I started out the morning going to have bloods done.  Some of the normal early pregnancy screening and the blood test to go with the NT scan.  I think the vampire I got was a bit green, but I forgive him because he was a bit dishy.  I doubt he appreciated it when I squirted blood across the room though.

After the vampire fun I picked my husband up from work and headed off for the ultrasound.  Little Spark didn’t want to stay still for any of the measurements.  The first thing the sonographer did (thank goodness) was check for the heart.  But it would go ‘KATHUMP KATHUMP Kathump kathump ktmp ktmp’ as Sparky would squirm away.  The sonographer did a lot of just freezing an image quickly as Sparky moved and then seeing if she could get a measurement from the result.  I wouldn’t be surprised if I wound up with bruises all over my abdomen; she kept trying to move and pin down Sparky.  It actually hurt more than being jammed in the ovaries.  She eventually changed to Mr Wand, which hurt a lot less, but Sparky still didn’t want to cooperate.  Eventually she got the doctor to come in and try for the NT measurement, and she thought she got it well enough.  It was 2.3, which has me a bit worried.  Blobby was 1.7.  Sparky’s crown-to-rump measurement is 6.22.  I told her that 2.3 sounded big to me, and she said not to worry unless it was 3 or over.  But still.  I made sure she knew Sparky’s ovum was from a 30 year old, but it’s left me a little numb.  However when I think about it, I can’t imagine there would have been a result I would not have felt nervous about.

In a way it’s a real let down after Blobby’s scan.  I approached Blobby’s scan as someone who was insanely nervous because she’d been doing IVF for years and years.  I approach Sparky’s scan with that baggage but also with having miscarried a bub that all the scans and autopsy said was perfect.  It’s a bit disappointing.  Blobby’s scan was honestly the happiest hour of my life; Sparky’s has left me feeling upset and hormonal.

And the sonographer we had for Blobby made sure that not only did we have all the measurements but also had some ‘cute’ photos; this one was just about the measurements.  I’ve added a couple of images to this page.

Categories: Ovum Donor Pregnancy
  1. Meg
    03/02/2011 at 2:24 pm

    Wow, Sparky sounds very active! Glad to hear everything is looking good. I’m not suprised you are feeling flat about the whole thing, I think anyone who has been through what you have would also have trouble feeling as excited as most other people. I can’t help but feel excited on your behalf though, you’ve made it past yet another milestone.

  2. a
    03/02/2011 at 2:32 pm

    Sounds like Sparky did not want to be measured! Active is good. On to the next milestone…

    Shooting blood across the room? Yikes!

  3. 03/02/2011 at 3:25 pm

    YES a milestone done and dusted. Sounds like everything is going well with the usual inhibitions, but that’s ok. I love the blog post title! I had a dancer in the womb too and he is dancing now gleefully.

  4. 03/02/2011 at 3:53 pm

    Don’t you get the numbers as statistical probability? here they combine the bloods with the NT and give you a 1:n chance of having a specific trisomy. I am doing the NT on Friday and am nervous, my husband is of course not, he is sure everything will be normal. Such optimism.

  5. The Crazy Cat Woman
    03/02/2011 at 4:01 pm

    I’m so glad to hear that everything’s OK but I think it’s understandable that you don’t feel over the moon just yet. I can’t wait for you to pass the 14 week mark. Maybe you’ll feel differently then.
    x

  6. Still A Guest Room
    04/02/2011 at 12:33 am

    So glad to hear that everything went well, but I can totally understand your anxiety. Hang in there!

  7. 04/02/2011 at 4:58 am

    Great to hear things are looking good, but I think it makes sense you are not 100% comfortable yet. I don’t know that anyone experiencing such a loss can be comfortable. You still sound exceedingly normal to me. 😉 Thinking of you and hoping Sparky will start kicking you in the gut real soon to assure you he/she is there and A.O.K.

  8. 04/02/2011 at 10:10 am

    Wow – congrats!!!! Those pictures are so clear… so neat to see the little one! I am so glad to hear everything is okay 🙂 I am looking forward to staying connected to you… we are only days apart!

  9. 04/02/2011 at 2:47 pm

    Glad things are still looking good, though I totally understand that you’ll always be worried about SOMETHING so matter what the tests say. How could you not after what you’ve been through?

  10. 05/02/2011 at 1:09 am

    Glad things are on track and hope that with a nights rest since the scan you are feeling a little stronger. Nothing can undo the pain and loss of innocence that your IF treatments and loss of Blobby has left you with. Please don;t beat yourself up for the way you are feeling, it is comletely understandable. Before too much longer you will be feeling Sparky move and then I am sure you will start to ease into the waiting for Sparky to arrive healthy in your arms. Sending you love and big Huges!

  11. 07/02/2011 at 1:19 pm

    glad that the scan went well … I know exactly how you feel, though … even a perfect scan isn’t reassurance enough. Still, Sparky DOES dance … and that’s a beautiful thought. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

