Home > OB Visits > OB Visit #3

OB Visit #3

This was a much better visit than I thought it would be.  My blood pressure was better, so he isn’t going to put me onto blood pressure medication at this point.  He did say that blood pressure tends to be high early in pregnancy, go down in the middle, then go up again later so he’s still going to watch it closely and may put me on blood pressure medication next time depending.  Because I’d sort of made peace with the idea of the blood pressure medication and convinced myself taking it before things were a problem was a good thing, I was almost tempted to ask to go on it anyway.  However I realised that was a bit crazy – if I needed he wouldn’t hold off – so I kept my mouth shut.

My husband told Warren he should probably check my blood pressure after the ultrasound rather than before.  I think he’s getting used to my worrying coming to a crescendo the night before scans.  During the quick ultrasound Sparky measured just slightly ahead and was VERY active.  I don’t think he measured the heart rate because Sparky was moving around too much.  The head and stomach and a few things he looked at all looked normal.  Head is down on the right; bum is up on the left.

My next appointment 31 March – a couple of days after the big scan.

Categories: OB Visits
  1. 04/03/2011 at 11:14 am

    So glad to hear the appointment went so well, that’s fantastic news about the blood pressure! Hope everything continues smoothly for you!

  2. 04/03/2011 at 11:25 am

    Awe, Thanks for your comment…that means a lot! My sister is doing well, she’ll reach 33wks tomorrow, still on strict bed rest in the hospital, but so far both she & the baby are managing. Still hopeful they might make it to 34wks next week, but even if she has the baby before that they feel good about the NICU there and hopeful it will be a short stay.

  3. AnxiousMummy
    04/03/2011 at 12:42 pm

    Oh, that is all so exciting! Glad you had the scan first, you need to! I have to ask even though I’m sure you would have mentioned, are you feeling any movement??
    So happy things were ok 🙂

  4. a
    04/03/2011 at 1:10 pm

    Or maybe you’re a little less stressed? I hope your blood pressure stays down, and you have no need for medication at all. Glad you had a good appointment and Sparky was active…

  5. 04/03/2011 at 1:44 pm

    Glad to hear you don’t need the meds for now, and how great to see little Sparky moving around so much! Thanks for your last comment. The first thing I did when I found out was to come dig through your blog as I wasn’t active in the bloggy community when you went through the donor process. Ok, actually the first thing I did was have a meltdown and the second thing I did was dig through your blog. Thanks for the link & reassurance. I will definitely have a look and try to keep my chin up about it all.

  6. Meg
    04/03/2011 at 9:33 pm

    Well that’s very good news. I meant to send you a txt this morning to wish you luck for your appointment, then I completely forgot, eek sorry. If Sparky keeps gaining in days and my Little M keeps being behind, we’re going to end up due within a couple of weeks of each other!

  7. 07/03/2011 at 3:54 pm

    Ahhh, things are going so smoothly. Great news on the blood pressure. How will you wait so long until next appointment? The waiting never ends does it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

