Home > Weekly Updates > 18: 45% of 40

18: 45% of 40

18 weeks.  Has this week been the longest week in the history of weeks?  I suspect this coming week will be even longer as there’s no long weekend or anything on my calendar to break things up.

It was the 8 Hours Day long weekend, and I started it fairly energetic.  Not energetic like normal me, only compared to the past few months.  Saturday I did some gardening and much directing the husband.  Sunday after brekkie at the farmers’ market I felt well enough to go up Mt Wellington for a short bushwalk.  But then I couldn’t get to sleep to have a nap.  I couldn’t nap on Monday either.  And as I don’t sleep well at night either I’m a zombie.

As we get closer to the anatomy scan, I’m getting more paranoid.  Little spark of course hasn’t been helping things; after wiggling in such a way I could feel it, there’s been not much happening since.  I try to tell myself that hair that becomes greasy just hours after being washed, swollen fingers, and huge, painful spots are great signs all is well.

I’m able to eat a few more foods.  Luckily I’m good with carrots.  I thought I just had a couple to pull to clear out a garden bed for new plantings on Saturday; thee were 2.8 kilos of carrots!!  Carrot salad, carrot soup, etc.  Yummy.  But now I find I don’t want to eat much.  I’ll feel hungry, start eating, but then suddenly can’t bear to eat any more.  Unfortunately my desire for sweets is coming back.  I’m trying to quash it with fruit or single pieces of quality chocolate, but ooooh.  If there was baklava or pecan pie in front of me right now my jaw would be working.  And I want to punch my husband every time he encourages me to be weak when I want something.  ‘You’re eating for two!’  Groan.  But one of us if les than half a kilo, and I could be on the way to GD.  Thanks!

9 sleeps until Weird Al!

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily

Upcoming milestones:

  • 24 March:  physio session (me); father’s session (the husband)
  • 25 March:  Sparky has 2nd row centre seats for THE AWESOME Weird Al Yankovic!
  • 28 March:  20 week ultrasound (at 19 weeks 5 days)
  • 31 March:  OB visit
  • 22 – 26 April: Easter/Anzac Day long weekend
  • 13 June:  Queen’s Birthday
  • 16 July:  Antenatal class
  • 19 July:  Doctor’s session
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. AnxiousMummy
    16/03/2011 at 3:56 pm

    Yes it has been a long week. Ugh, how annoying there are no events to break it up!! But Weird Al is so soon 🙂 I think you’re doing great with eating up your carrots etc. I can’t talk, I probably eat too many sweets and I think you’re doing great resisting. If DH says that again perhaps you could explain that you only need the equivalent of an extra banana a day or about 300 calories I think it is. I’m pretty sure there’s more than that in baklava 😀
    Plus you had the energy for a bushwalk despite the lack of sleep-that will also help with any potential to develop GD. 20 weeks is not far now!!
    (((HUGS))) xxx

  2. 16/03/2011 at 10:15 pm

    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well … maybe now’s a good time to start freezing carrot soup! And while it’s true that you’re not supposed to be overindulging, you can let yourself have a treat or two … especially if you’re not eating much else! You’re almost half way … deep breaths.

  3. sooz
    17/03/2011 at 2:02 am

    Wow! I can’t believe that 20 weeks is just around the corner! Congrats!

    As for the carrots and baklava…I don’t even have an excuse and I’ll eat 2.8 kilos of baklava. YUM! Indulging is good.

  4. 17/03/2011 at 3:22 pm

    Know the feeling for wanting sweets! I DID get GD so plese try to pull back, esp the baclava! I was surrounded by the stuff (I’m Greek). I can’t believe you will be 20 weeks soon. Will you find out the gender?

  5. 18/03/2011 at 9:36 am

    Yay for 18 weeks! I can’t wait for your anatomy scan – are you planning/wanting to find out boy/girl?

  6. Natalie Dowling
    18/03/2011 at 2:16 pm

    Thanks again for such an honest, no-holds-barred blog. I have my fingers crossed every day for you that you’re inching closer to the point where you finally realise your dream. From a purely selfish point of view, sharing your experience has continued to give me support. I’ve now just had my 5th transfer (3rd stim cycle) fail. I cannot express how much it has helped me to have someone who has gone through the same doctor share their experience. I have found your entries so validating, and as I continue to experience failed transfers, my empathy for your experience and my ability to relate has increased. Thank you for your courage in “putting it out there” and telling it like it is.

  7. 22/03/2011 at 7:21 pm

    there’s always carrot cake with cream cheese frosting disa!!! xxx

  8. 23/03/2011 at 1:56 am

    Big week ahead of you. Hope it’s full of delights.

    Also, have you heard “Firework” by Katy Perry? When I heard the lyrics it made me think of little Sparkie.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

