Home > Weekly Updates > 19: 47.5% of 40

19: 47.5% of 40

19 weeks.  This past week has been another endless one – very similar to last week with its poor sleep, reflux, blah, blah, blah.  And forgetfulness; I forget to send emails, close blog posts before I’ve done the captcha thing for my comment, etc.  Either I or Sparky seemed to have a growth spurt, because over the weekend I suddenly felt larger and less able to steer my body.  Strangely enough I feel ‘normal’ again, so either it was temporary bloating or I’ve adjusted.  Some Things were also introduced to my house, but I think that’s a post for another time.

This coming week feels like such a big week.  Three of the things listed in my milestones happen, and then another one just a couple days later.  Maybe having lots on this next week will make it pass quickly for once?  Please?

I’m a bad-news-first kinda person.  If I have the option to do something I’m dreading first or something I’m looking forward to, usually I prefer to get the thing I’m dreading done and out of the way.  So I’m kinda glad the thing I’m least looking forward to is first.  When we went to our pre-admission meeting at the hospital a billion years ago, the ward clerk signed us up for their standard classes.  We’re having the first of these tomorrow.  My husband has a father’s session; I have a physio session.  I’m not worried about the topic – I’m expecting pelvic floor exercises and maybe advice on bending, picking things up, safely exercising, etc – but I’m feeling nervous about the other women who will be there.  I shouldn’t assume we have nothing in common and they’re all uber-fertiles who had no problems.  However I can’t help anticipating not enjoying their conversation.  Hopefully I’ll be pleasantly surprised.  I find it bizarre that the antenatal class and doctor’s session aren’t until July.  When scheduling them the ward clerk thought they were perfect timing for me as I’ll be in the 35th week.  Gah – I could possibly still be going at 35 weeks – really?!  16 weeks away?  That’s like two lifetimes.

Friday night – 2 sleeps away – is the Al Yankovic concert!  I can’t express how excited I am.  When he came in 2007 my husband didn’t want to go, and somehow I let that be OK and didn’t go either.  I was SO annoyed when Weird Al was on Spicks and Specks and my husband thought he was brilliant – especially when they showed the video to Bob at the end.  He turned to me and said we should see him is he ever tours Australia again, and I just stared at him.  The bastard.  But this time we’re going!  Some people think he’s just a goofy guy, but for me he’s been so much more.  Maybe the ‘why’ of this is a whole other post, but his music has helped me through many dark and difficult times in my life.

Monday mid-morning is the anatomy scan.  I’m nervous/excited.  I’m nervous that something bad might be found, and my nervousness always peaks leading up to a scan.  We should be able to find out the gender.  And I’ll (hopefully) have another dose of seeing Little Spark swimming around.  Plus I’m going to ask the sonographer to have a look at my cervix.  In theory it’s not what failed Blobby – although no one knows what did – but if I can be told it seems fine hopefully I’ll feel a bit better.  At least about my cervix.

I am thankful each and every time I go to the loo and don’t see blood.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily

Upcoming milestones:

  • Tomorrow:  physio session (me); father’s session (the husband)
  • Day after tomorrow:  Sparky has 2nd row centre seats for THE AWESOME Weird Al Yankovic!
  • Monday:  20 week ultrasound (at 19 weeks 5 days)
  • 31 March:  OB visit
  • 22 – 26 April: Easter/Anzac Day long weekend
  • 13 June:  Queen’s Birthday
  • 16 July:  Antenatal class
  • 19 July:  Doctor’s session
  • 17 August: 40 weeks

Tomorrow

Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 23/03/2011 at 1:29 pm

    Ugh, I would be nervous for the class too, but I also hope you’re pleasantly surprised! You do have so much exciting stuff coming up…the anatomy scan!!! Can’t wait to hear all about it & of course the concert, which I’m sure you’ll have an awesome time at! So happy to hear things are progressing smoothly for you, continuing to hold hope for you ((hugs))

  2. a
    23/03/2011 at 1:59 pm

    Wow! Exciting things on the way! Can’t wait to see next week’s update…

    (also, I think most women sort of pop right around the 5 month mark – that may be what’s happening)

  3. 23/03/2011 at 10:10 pm

    uh hello am i reading right? are we almost at halfway point? are we getting bigger? wow what massive awesome achievements. that is ok if you are forgetting things – in fact i wont even hate you if you say baby brain because girl you have earned it! Looking forward to the Al update and perhaps some pics too?

  4. 24/03/2011 at 5:16 am

    yay for Weird Al and distraction! thinking good thoughts for the anatomy scan …

  5. Beth
    24/03/2011 at 7:10 am

    Wishing you all the best, enjoy Weird Al. B xxxx

  6. 24/03/2011 at 9:01 am

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Just been looking through yours. 14 fresh cycles?! And the rest. Wow.

    You must be one incredibly strong woman. And I am so glad to see you pregnant. Best of luck with the scan next week, and hold on for another 20 weeks.

  7. Still A Guest Room
    24/03/2011 at 9:48 am

    19 weeks…woohoo!

  8. 24/03/2011 at 1:51 pm

    I’m pretty sure we’ll skip classes if we can get me knocked up again. We registered for them last time but of course didn’t make it that far. I can imagine they will be full of helpful information and maybe a new friend or two though, so good for you for going!

    Hope you have a great time at Weird Al’s show tomorrow and that you get some great images on Monday.

  9. 24/03/2011 at 3:54 pm

    Sounds like an exciting week ahead for you! Hope you’ll be creating lots of happy memories – from both the concert and the scan.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

