Home > Ovum Donor Pregnancy > Spark-He

Spark-He

For most of the last week, I haven’t felt Little Spark move at all.  When you add this to the ‘normal’ paranoia that overcomes me the closer I get to a scan, you probably have an idea how out-of-my-mind stressed I was becoming.  By Thursday last week I was completely convinced that the anatomy scan would show me nothing but a dead Sparky.

Then a rather magical thing happened.  I was in such a good mood Friday.  everything was going right.  A book my husband ordered from me that was take forever to come arrived.  I had lunch with an awesome friend I’ve met through IVF/blogging.  She’s a few weeks ahead of me, so great to chat with – plus is with the same OB as me.  She lent me her doppler, which I tried using when I got back to my office but had no luck with.  I’d promised not to let that stress me out, and I didn’t; I was calm (believe it or not!!!) enough to just put it down to my own incompetence.  And that evening I had  brilliant night seeing Weird Al in concert (more on that in another post!).

Saturday was really busy around the house.  The week of 11 April we’re having the floorboards on the ground floor of our house sanded and polished, so we have to have everything out of the ground floor except for the ground floor spare bedroom (it was done years ago).  Before we could even start on things downstairs, we had to empty the spare room upstairs (which I’m not calling Sparky’s room – yet).  I was actually more emotional than I thought it would be.  In my brain we were just clearing this room out because of the floor sanding and because it needed clearing, but my heart knew it was one of many steps that would turn this room into Sparky’s room.  I didn’t do any lifting – just lots of sorting through boxes, pointing out to my husband what needed to go to the tip and what we were keeping, and eventually bringing small armfuls of books and fragile things up from the ground floor.  (There’s plenty of stuff still to be done; I thought it best to stretch it over several weekend.)

It was a good way to ignore the doppler, which I was a bit scared to use.  But eventually I did and after a long while I found it: a heartbeat!  And then I felt a bit of movement too.  Sparky didn’t seem to like being poked with the doppler’s wand!  Although a bit of the fear creeped back in, hearing the heartbeat Saturday meant I was able to approach today’s ultrasound with more hope than I would have otherwise.

And the scan was perfect.  Little Spark is a boy.  He measures perfect for his dates and comes with a full compliment of organs:  brain, kidneys, bladder, a 4 chamber heart, diaphragm, etc.  His left arm is up over his head, and his right arm is folded under him.  His feet are up to the left of my belly button; his head is down near my right hip.  And I even have an explanation for why I haven’t been feeling him: my placenta is anterior / to the front, so is padding his movements.  And he’s alive.

If you’d like to see some, there’s a new photo on the Images of Little Spark page or many photos of him on Flickr.

Categories: Ovum Donor Pregnancy
  1. 28/03/2011 at 3:55 pm

    Yay! Love to hear that everything went well 🙂

  2. 28/03/2011 at 4:00 pm

    yay!!! hey little sparkhe can’t wait for you to come out and say hello!!

  3. M
    28/03/2011 at 6:11 pm

    Wait until he starts kicking your kidneys! Then you will know all about movements. Yay for little Sparky.

  4. Meg
    28/03/2011 at 6:59 pm

    Spark-he, your title made me laugh! Do you realise he may end up becoming my girls first little boyfriend? Awesome scan results and great pictures. Love that little button nose.

  5. 28/03/2011 at 7:13 pm

    YAH!!!! I am so completely over the moon for you! A perfect little boy with all his working organs! I can only imagine what a relief you are feeling. And BTW those pics are just too damn cute! I hope that the doppler can keep bringing you peace of mind on the ricky days.

    And great (small) steps in getting your whole house ready…

  6. Anxiousmummy
    28/03/2011 at 7:41 pm

    I am so happy for you!! Go team blue 🙂 what a relief he is healthy and thriving. I love the pics too-thank you so much for letting me know!!

  7. 28/03/2011 at 11:14 pm

    Congratulations!!!! Fantastic news indeed! So glad to hear he is healthy & well. Love the pictures…thank you for sharing. Continuing to send positive thoughts & hope your way!

  8. 28/03/2011 at 11:34 pm

    Hooray! He’s absolutely beautiful! 🙂

    I’m so glad that you have some peace of mind at least for a little while!!

  9. Still A Guest Room
    29/03/2011 at 2:36 am

    Congratulations! A boy!!

  10. a
    29/03/2011 at 2:55 am

    How wonderful! I hope your little boy is like my nephew, who is 11 and enjoys Weird Al and is generally delightful otherwise. 🙂 Off to look at pictures…

  11. Beth
    29/03/2011 at 5:24 am

    Well done you, fantastic news 😀

  12. 29/03/2011 at 5:52 am

    A little boy! How wonderful! I’m so glad you’re able to use the Doppler since his movement is hard to feel. At times I’ve been really scared to use my doppler, too, but overall it’s been a comfort to have it. Looking forward to your concert review!

  13. 29/03/2011 at 10:52 am

    Yay! A little boy! So, so, so excited for you!!

  14. 29/03/2011 at 1:06 pm

    So very thrilled to hear about Spark-he – this is fantastic news! Think he enjoyed the Yankovic on the weekend? Did I miss your comments on that one? I was thinking about you on Friday and hoping you were having a great time.

  15. The Crazy Cat Woman
    31/03/2011 at 9:48 am

    Oh, I haven’t been checking your blog regularly enough! How exciting to know that you’re going to have a little boy! (I was convinced it was going to be a girl). I think you should definitely call him Al.

  16. 01/04/2011 at 3:32 pm

    congratulations on your son! boys adore their mamas, i’m so excited for you, sending love, anne (littleharves) xxx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

