Home > OB Visits, Weekly Updates > 20: 50% of 40 (and 2 days)

20: 50% of 40 (and 2 days)

20 weeks – and 2 days.  Yes, 2 days late – I’ve spent the last 2 days in bed with a headache, and when I get a bad headache I’m lucky enough to also have a bit of a vomitfest too.  Panadol doesn’t really help (especially as it usually comes straight back up), so my strategy was pretty much been to sleep through it.  A heat pack on my neck helped a bit too.

It was an exciting week.  The physio class is over and done with and wasn’t as bad I thought it might be.  The Weird Al concert was better than I thought it might be.  And my 20 week scan was normal and Sparky’s a boy.

I did make it to my OB appointment yesterday, and it went well.  Warren did a scan 1 st and Sparky’s heartbeat was normal, then checked my blood pressure – and it was normal!  Not high-normal, just normal.  He confirmed that the scan results were normal.  And he’s sending me for the normal glucose screening test instead of jumping to the fasting one like he threatened he was going to do.  I was a bit vague at times and mentioned my headache, but Warren said headaches are normal. I love the sound of the word ‘normal‘!

After not feeling the ‘champagne bubbles’ last week, I’m now starting to feel little whacks, low in my abdomen (probably because I have an anterior placenta, which I found out at my scan).  They tickle, unless it’s a whack in the bladder.  But I’m not complaining – I’m happy to be whacked in the bladder and even welcome it if it’s a sign of life.  I’m even getting good at ignoring the immediate impulse to go to the loo; if I wait it passes.

My husband is a wild man.  Yesterday when he came home from work he had a car seat/capsule and a high chair.  He’s already gotten a pram and rocker.  I’ve still not gotten anything for Sparky, unless you count maternity clothes.  But some of the tops I’ve gotten recently are maternity/breast feeding.  Surely that counts?!  And I just said OK to a friend who wanted to know if she should grab some of the baby boy clothes her cousin is giving away.  I said yes – on the proviso she kept them in her house for a month or so.

I’ve added our floorboards being sanded to my milestones.  As much as I’ve been trying to deny it, it sort of is the first step to setting up Sparky’s room.  Although the room is being filled with furniture and stuff from downstairs right now, after the floorboards are done the room will be emptied as everything goes back downstairs.  And once the room is empty, I know my husband will be keen to start getting it ready for Sparky.  So if I want to have things done as they should be (such as giving the room a good clean before anything is put back into it!), I’ll have to actually take part.  Sigh.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily

Upcoming milestones:

  • Week of 11 April:  ground floor floorboards being sanded/polished
  • 22 – 26 April:  Easter/Anzac Day long weekend
  • 26/27 April:  blood tests (full blood count and differential, glucose challenge test, blood group and antibodies)
  • 28 April: Next OB visit
  • 13 June:  Queen’s Birthday
  • 16 July:  Antenatal class
  • 19 July:  Doctor’s session
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: OB Visits, Weekly Updates
  1. 01/04/2011 at 12:14 pm

    Huzzah for normal! And huzzah for your husband, though I can understand your caution (and was there not so long ago myself). I’ve been trying to calculate seasons where you are and the timing of Sparky’s anticipated arrival, to see what you might need … when the time gets closer, you may need showering. 🙂

  2. 01/04/2011 at 12:17 pm

    I’ve been looking forward to seeing the 50% post and got a bonus after seeing that everything is “normal”. Little boys are the best! No bias…. 😉

  3. a
    01/04/2011 at 12:39 pm

    Normal is fantastic! Glad to hear you’re normal – although I still say that Weird Al preoccupation precludes you from being normal! 😉

  4. 01/04/2011 at 1:32 pm

    ‘Normal’ is the most beautiful word in the world right now, isn’t it? What a lucky boy Sparky is to have a daddy who is SO excited he’s coming and a mommy who protects him so carefully.

  5. 01/04/2011 at 3:19 pm

    20 weeks!!!!!!!!!! only 4 weeks from viability!! SSOOOOO exciting!

  6. 04/04/2011 at 4:10 pm

    YAH! Half way – well over half way! Normal sounds fantastic – here’s to lots more ‘Normal’ scans, ‘Normal’ blood pressure, ‘Normal’ symptoms (except maybe the headaches) all the way through to a ‘normal’ healthy perfect birth process.

  7. Anxiousmummy
    04/04/2011 at 7:39 pm

    I think it’s good the clothes are staying there for the moment, and wow! He does sound like he is going a bit wild ! Xxoo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

