Home > Weekly Updates > 21: 52.5% of 40

21: 52.5% of 40

21 weeks.  It’s been quite a boring week.  Work during the work week; clearing things out of the ground floor of my house during the weekend in preparation for our floorboards being sanded and polished.  Well, giving my husband instructions about what to move where while I organise or go through various things.  Our ground floor rooms are empty enough the acoustics are different!

I did do one thing this week that to me seemed brave: I bought a blue jumper/booties set and a green hat from the CWA.  A friend had suggested that I try to do something to celebrate finding out Sparky’s a boy, so I finally did.  They’re packed up in a box now and I’m avoiding them, but I actually handed money and walked out of the CWA shop with them all by my self.  A friend also asked if I wanted some of the baby boy’s clothes her cousin was giving away; I said yes, as long as she kept them at her house for a while.  Cowardly, maybe, but as brave as I’m willing to be now.

As much hassle and expense as it is, it’s sort of nice having the sanding and polishing of our floorboards happening.  I’m a project manager; I plan things.  However that is something I just feel unable to do with Project Sparky.  I know I need to talk to my bank about a few things but just can’t.  I know I need to think about what I need to organise but can’t.  Floorboards and emptying the ground floor of my house so they can be worked on I can do though.  I can plan where furniture is going, I can manage my husband and his desire to be a pack-rat, I can organise a place for my dog to stay during the day and for us to sleep at night on days when we can’t re-enter the house.  I’m freaking out about the amount this costs in light of the possibility of not working for a year, but it wouldn’t be me without a bit of a freak out.

As for any physical changes I’m noticing in the last week, I think bump bumped out a bit more.  I look even fatter.  😦  I’m also having the most vivid dreams, which is especially strange for me as I don’t usually dream (or don’t remember them).  I’m sleeping more soundly – my husband hardly ever wakes me up with his snoring – and not weeing as often in the night.  Monday night, however, I woke up from a vivid but horrible dream.  It took a while to figure out it wasn’t real, but then some of the aspects of it played so much on some of my current worries and insecurities that I stayed awake with them playing through my mind.

I was thinking this morning about how subtly things have changed from the 1st trimester.  As I already said I’m sleeping more soundly.  I don’t get as hungry nor do I like to eat much.  I get reflux.  I don’t feel nauseous as often, however smells can still set me off and my soft pallet is very sensitive; brushing my teeth or coughing has me gagging.  I’m feeling movement every day, although with my anterior placenta I only feel it low down in my abdomen.  I find it very freaky (and a bit scary) feeling tickling on the inside of my cervix.  Stay away from the cervix, young man!  Don’t look into the light!!

I’ve found some people’s reaction to Sparky being a boy odd: people assume my husband wanted a boy and I would have preferred a girl.  I fact my husband didn’t mind either way, and I really hoped for a boy (but was convinced he was a girl).  And I was the one who really wanted to know the gender as I hoped I’d bond more with Little Spark, but I think it’s made much more of a difference to my husband’s bonding than mine.  I wish it had made me feel closer than it has, however I’m still having trouble feeling it’s real.  Yes, I know it’s bizarre to still be coming to terms with a BFP at 21 weeks and when I can feel him move daily, but that’s the way it is.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily

Upcoming milestones:

  • Week of 11 April:  ground floor floorboards being sanded/polished
  • 22 – 26 April:  Easter/Anzac Day long weekend
  • 26/27 April:  blood tests (full blood count and differential, glucose challenge test, blood group and antibodies)
  • 28 April: Next OB visit
  • 13 June:  Queen’s Birthday
  • 16 July:  Antenatal class
  • 19 July:  Doctor’s session
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 06/04/2011 at 12:39 pm

    Good for you for getting some baby stuff. I can’t wait for mine to arrive from ebay! And I want to laugh at your fear of renovation costs, we also have to do the bathroom, but I plan on working a bit when baby is 3-4 months old (maybe something like 1-4 pm, I don’t know).

  2. a
    06/04/2011 at 12:45 pm

    I can’t remember when I figured out it was real, but I’m pretty sure it was late in the 3rd trimester. I told people at work at 20 weeks, after the major “is everything growing in the right place” ultrasound and one woman said “So, when do you get to stop worrying?” My response was “I don’t think I get to – maybe when the kid goes to college?”

    Glad you were able to buy something – it’s probably the first step down a long road of buying things so you might as well start slow.

    Good luck on the floor refinishing project!

  3. 06/04/2011 at 2:29 pm

    OMG! I missed your last post! Yay for a baby boy!! I’m so happy for you.

    If you get a chance to post a pic of your new floors, I’d love to see them.

  4. Anxiousmummy
    06/04/2011 at 3:45 pm

    Of course it is a bit difficult to bond, but you still love Sparky. You are taking small steps to get there and that is fine! Xxoo

  5. 06/04/2011 at 10:05 pm

    We are also renovating our home. Suddenly all those things on our “to do” list have increased in urgency, now that we want a lot of them completed before July.

    Good for you for buying boots. You’re doing great.

  6. 07/04/2011 at 3:02 pm

    I had the same reaction from people thinking I wanted a girl and DH a boy. I secretly wanted a boy and felt it all along that Callum was a boy. Till this very day I can confess that I never had a girls name picked out! I hope the reonvations go well. There’s nothing like a clean and tidy house before bub arrives!

  7. 07/04/2011 at 10:27 pm

    The weeks are starting to pass more quickly now. Well done for the big step of buying Sparky a pressie. The bond will come, for now it makes perfect sense that you are still protecting your heart.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

