Home > Musings > Baggage

Baggage

The ground floor of my house reverberates with emptiness and there’s a horrible, overwhelming smell of chemical (I didn’t expect that yet!):  my floors are being sanded.  The useful parts of my house have contracted to just being our bedroom and the bathroom.  My darling dog clings to me, whinges, and sighs – then delightedly runs off to play with her dog friend Felix when I drop her off at The Fertile One’s house in the morning.

Tonight will be the last night in our house until the weekend; tomorrow the floor guy starts sealing the floors.  We’re going to stay in a dog-friendly guest house until Saturday morning.  With that in mind, I took a peek at my hospital bag last night, thinking it really is part of my packing already done.  It’s been over 10 weeks since I packed it, and in that time I’ve only changed one thing in it (I followed the advice of Anxious Mummy and added some dried apricots).  There are some changes I certainly need to make now.  The clothes in it need to be replaced with a note for my husband saying which bit of my wardrobe has maternity clothes (I don’t have so many maternity clothes I want to permanently put some in the bag!).  I need to replace the travel sized shampoo and conditioner set with the different sort I’m using now (my hair just is limp and horrid if I use anything too moisturising on it right now).  I can almost entirely get rid of the note I had detailing the drugs I’m taking.  It originally had the Progynova and Crinone listed with a note about when I was stopping them; soon I’ll just be on vitamin supplements (well, unless I am put on blood pressure medication).

However I think I need to add some pamper to the bag.  I don’t enjoy seeing this bag; I packed it thinking I might need it for a miscarriage.  That’s still how I think of it.   But something about going away to accommodation you’ve paid for always makes me want to get some especially nice toiletries.  I use a lovely hand made lemon myrtle soap at home, however I long ago gave up on taking soap on trips.  Today at lunch I’ll go get a lovely and citrusy shower and bath gel both my husband and I like, and I think I’ll get a larger size than I would have to be certain I have enough for when the bag reverts to its ‘hospital bag’ role.  I have the drab ends of the moisturiser I like to use in it, but I think I’ll get a new bottle because it just seems nicer.  I’ll tuck a couple of my favourite books in, not that they might be used but just because they look holiday-ish.  And I think instead of using my spare backpack I’ll move everything to my small carry-on sized piece of luggage to make it feel more purposeful – not something tossed together in a panic of emotion.

I guess that’s what I need to do with a lot of my baggage.  If I’ve resigned myself to carrying it, if I don’t feel I can honestly leave it behind, I should at least give it a bit of a perk-up.  Put it into a bag that’s easier and more attractive to carry and spruce up the contents.  Try to add some zing to the mundane.

Categories: Musings
  1. 12/04/2011 at 3:20 pm

    This sounds like a reasonable approach – a new look perhaps giving a new perspective on why the bag is packed!

    I hope your few days in athe guest house do feel a little like a mini-holiday and you go back to a really beautiful house with gorgeous floors that are also safe to walk barefoot on.

  2. Anxiousmummy
    12/04/2011 at 3:47 pm

    I love this post. It just makes me glad to see how far you’ve come and that this is now your holiday/ take home baby bag. I think the toiletries sound so nice! Yay for perking up baggage, since you have to live with it, why not? I need to take my own advice-still haven’t got apricots in mine! Enjoy your guest house stay, hope sparky jumps around like a bean xxoo

  3. 12/04/2011 at 10:53 pm

    i hope you just wake up one day soon and forget all the bad thoughts you associate with your hospital bag :o( we’re 200% ready for the baby to arrive, but haven’t packed a hospital bag, bc i’m having similar thoughts. i almost packed one at 24 weeks, when i was going into L&D for the 2nd or 3rd time, but ended up leaving it at home. now i just have a list of what needs to go *in* said bag, and i figure if my water breaks, or if we thinks labor has started, i can throw everything in there. half the stuff i still need anyways! enjoy the time at the guest house – hope it feels like a mini vacay too :o) xoxo.

  4. 13/04/2011 at 12:22 am

    hope your enjoy your mini vacay! And glad you haven’t needed the bag yet…

  5. 13/04/2011 at 5:11 am

    I love this … our baggage says so much about us, doesn’t it?

    Pamper away!! 🙂

  6. a
    13/04/2011 at 12:12 pm

    I hate carrying around baggage. Get a new bag with a comfy shoulder strap, or a well balanced backpack. 🙂

    Weird Al is coming to my town in June – wanna come visit?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

