Home > Weekly Updates > 22: 55% of 40

22: 55% of 40

22 weeks.  It’s been a busier week because of the sanding and polishing of floorboards happening in my house.  The weekend was busy with organising and making certain the last of everything was out of the ground floor.  We moved everything, even blinds and paintings, etc.  Then I used masking tape to tape up the kitchen cabinets and power outlets.  I figured it was easier to do this than clean up the dust from sanding after in all those places, and I’m glad I did!  Next weekend will be another busy weekend of cleaning and moving things back into place.  Next couple weekends, actually!

I was really surprised Monday night  how chemically it smelled in the house.  I can only guess it’s from old stain, paint, and flooring adhesives being sanded off the floors, but UGH!  It was so nasty we opened all the windows in the house, despite it being a rather cold autumnal night.  Which meant we then turned out all the lights we could so as to try to not attract mozzies.  But the smell made me worry about Sparky.  I know it’s fine and I’m just neurotic, but I haven’t even wanted to do any painting while he’s on board, so to have the strong chemical smell wasn’t fun.  Tonight we’ll be at a dog friendly guest house because the floor guy is starting the coats of polyurethane seal today.  We won’t go back to our house until Saturday morning, and then probably only to open the windows so it can air for a few hours before we go back.

Meals are a down side of the floors being done; I can’t use my kitchen.  My husband is happy to have nothing but take away, but I’m not coping well!  I’ll be glad when we get to the guest house and I can use a kitchen!  But there’s too many up sides to all of it to worry about that too much.

The Fertile One is being so lovely.  She gave me some nice clothes she was given that her daughter never got around to wearing; anything boy-ish and new she had.  She also gave me a Elmo floor matt with bumpers thingo.  She’s already offered to lend me her change table.  AND she’s been providing day care for my dog Lottie this week!  I thought Lottie would be upset left in our back garden all week, plus she’d be out in the rain as we’re having a wet week.  (She’s accustomed to being able to come and go between inside and outside via a dog door.)  Plus she’d probably bark her head off and annoy the neighbours because there was a strange man in her house.  So The Fertile One has been looking after Lottie, and Lottie has been having a ball chasing her doggie friend Felix around and around and around.  She’s been tired at night!

Sparky wiggles for me several times every day.  Monday night he was being especially active when I was in bed, so I put my husband’s hand low on my tummy (with my anterior placenta, that’s where I feel him most).  He said he felt Sparky a couple times.  One night, when I did my usual waking up at a stupid time of the morning, I enjoyed being in bed and just feeling Sparky move.  Most likely I’m not going to experience this again, so I do want to try to enjoy and remember the good parts of it.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily (must remember to ask my OB when I should stop taking it)
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • This week:  ground floor floorboards being sanded/polished
  • 22 – 26 April:  Easter/Anzac Day long weekend
  • 26/27 April:  blood tests (full blood count and differential, glucose challenge test, blood group and antibodies)
  • 28 April: Next OB visit
  • 25 May: 28 weeks (a random good sounding number that lets me add a milestone to May)
  • 13 June:  Queen’s Birthday
  • 22 June: 32 weeks (the earliest I could give birth at my chosen hospital)
  • 16 July:  Antenatal class
  • 19 July:  Doctor’s session
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 13/04/2011 at 1:48 pm

    I’ve given you an award! You can stop by my blog to pick it up 😀

    Hope your floors are done soon! I know it’s difficult not to be able to use your house like you want. Glad to hear Sparky is doing well! Hope to hear only more good news!

  2. Anxiousmummy
    13/04/2011 at 3:20 pm

    It’s wonderful that Lottie is having fun this week and I hope you get to the guest house soon! You are starting to get quite a collection of baby stuff now- exciting! Love xo

  3. 13/04/2011 at 4:26 pm

    Enjoy your little stay at the guest house and enjoy coming back to a beautiful home. So cool to be able to feel Sparky and that your DH has also been able to feel him now. Time is starting to pass quickly, or at least so it seems to me.

  4. 13/04/2011 at 6:33 pm

    I’m so glad that you can enjoy Sparky wriggling around. It’s turned cold hasn’t it? I also can’t stand that paint smell. I’m sure your house will look fantastic when it is all done though. 🙂

  5. 13/04/2011 at 11:11 pm

    So glad that Sparky is flipping around in there for you. It’s amazing, isn’t it? Hang in there … and enjoy your little “vacation”!

  6. 14/04/2011 at 4:14 am

    How fun for your hubby to be able to feel Sparky now, too! Hope the home improvements turn out looking fabulous.

  7. 14/04/2011 at 9:27 am

    Awe, so glad you’re feeling so much reassuring movement and that your hubby was able to feel it as well! Hope everything turns out fantastic with the house!

  8. Still A Guest Room
    14/04/2011 at 12:33 pm

    Feeling him move must be amazing!

  9. a
    14/04/2011 at 12:51 pm

    Movement – exciting and calming at the same time!

    I never think much about fumes and such – I work in a lab, with chemicals. I’m fairly blase about it all because the environment is full of things about which we are completely unaware. If I started paying attention, I’d be completely immobilized. My husband, on the other hand, is a fanatic. He didn’t want me pumping gas without using a paper towel to hold the gas pump nozzle. But, on the plus side, I didn’t have to spray the weed killer that summer! Reasonable caution is fine, but Sparky will be fine – we have very efficient filtering systems.

    Hope you’re back to home cooked meals soon!

  10. 15/04/2011 at 12:02 am

    Home improvement is so trying and frustrating but I bet it’ll look wonderful when it’s all done! 🙂

  11. Sue
    16/04/2011 at 9:44 am

    Thanks for stopping my blog this week 🙂

    Aspirin? why are you taking that? I haven’t been told to take anything except for prenatial vitamins which I am taking Natures Own Pregnancy Platinum and a good dose of Folic Acid since I am over 40. Also I see you are taking your vitamins twice a day? any reason for that, along with Vitamin D, is there special reason for the vitamin D?
    Gosh allot of questions, sorry.

    Love the sound of the home inprovements, hope your going to post pictures when its done.

  12. 17/04/2011 at 10:56 pm

    Yay!! So thrilled to hear everything is going so well, and that he is moving all around! I love your updates… keep them coming!

  13. 20/04/2011 at 4:26 pm

    Every time I read the summary of your TTC journey I feel like a bit of a pea-heart lol! What you’ve been through so far is insane, and I’m so very pleased you’re finally able to enjoy the wonderful moments of Sparky moving around. Yuck – glucose challenge test next week. Also – 28 weeks is an awesome milestone to look forward to. I’m pretty sure that’s when you’ve got more than a 90% chance of happy healthy bub should he decide to come quite early. Bubs born 28 weeks or later almost always survive. If I ever get that way again I think I won’t be able to relax until we hit the 28 week mark.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

