Home > Weekly Updates > 25: 62.5% of 40

25: 62.5% of 40

25 weeks. It’s been a week of still getting over my cold. I did NOTHING during the weekend. Well, except napping. We did a bit of running around errands, comparison shopping (my husband is obsessed with cots now!), and checking out dining room tables – but I think it was all so I could avoid doing the stuff I should be doing, i.e. dusting and moving the last of the books and things out of the upstairs room and back downstairs. I’m just not keen to clear out that upstairs room; I’m scared of what comes next. And my husband isn’t, so he’ll push a bit more than I like.

I’ve been trying to deal with some acceptance.  I’ve cracked open the book ‘Up the Duff’, which my husband gave me when we were expecting Sparky.  It seems to think I’ll want to do some nesting soon and that I should be trying to do shopping stuff now while I’m still about to get around comfortably.  Which I guess sounds smart, but I’m not quite there yet.  Usually I’m a big organisation and list person, so I tried looking at things I should be making lists of.  Hmm.  Lots of stuff for such little people – way overwhelming.  I’m not quite ready to commit this stuff to Evernote.

Yesterday the donor coordinator from my clinic phoned to see how Sparky and I were doing. It was nice hearing from her. It’s strange knowing the clinic’s nursing staff and going through so much with them for years – then not seeing them. She was pushing for me to stop in one afternoon so they can see my ‘bump’, but I don’t know how I’d react to going there. Maybe later, we’ll see. I did send her a link to Sparky’s photos on Flickr, and when we have our next scan I’ll email her again to let her know there’s more photos (if all is well). It was so nice hearing her voice, like a friend I haven’t heard from in ages, but then all the associations come rushing back.

Sleep hasn’t been easy. Some nights my enemy is reflux, other nights it’s really painful, aching thighs. And now that my husband and I are both in the downstairs guest room, there’s no escaping his snoring! Last night I had a mild headache, which had me waking up frequently and wanting water. Which of course would then send me to the loo. Whatever – surely sleep’s overrated?  My naps during the day are usually a better quality sleep, but now I’m back at work they don’t happen.  Roll on the weekend and your beautiful, beautiful nap times!

Now that I’ve got the all clear on the GD front, I’m trying not to go too crazy eating nice food. 🙂 I have been slightly naughty, but I figure I can’t go overboard. Watching what I was eating is probably what meant I don’t have GD, so going crazy now would be crazy. And it’s not like I’ve been very strict. But it means I did make a fig/walnut/honey tarte the other day (with beautiful flaky, buttery crust!). I had lots of figs to use up, so why not.

I guess it’s been a while since my tummy has had a growth spurt. I go through some periods where I feel huge and like it’s difficult to navigate my body through space, and others where I don’t think I feel any different at all. I’m going through a period where I don’t feel any different.

It’s 3 endless weeks until the scan and my next OB appointment.  I HATE these long waits between appointments, but I’m fairly certain after the next one I’ll be going fortnightly!  I’d prefer daily just because I’m paranoid, but halving the time between appointments is great!

Note: Blogspot is still being quite temperamental; sometimes I can comment and sometimes I can’t. So I’m having lots of trouble catching up on blogs. Sorry!  GRRH!

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily (OB said I’ll stop taking it sometime in the 3rd trimester)
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 24 May: ‘well baby’ scan
  • 25 May: 28 weeks (a random good sounding number)
  • 26 May: Next OB appointment
  • 13 June:  Queen’s Birthday holiday
  • 22 June: 32 weeks (the earliest I could give birth at my chosen hospital)
  • 16 July:  Antenatal class
  • 19 July:  Doctor’s session
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. a
    04/05/2011 at 1:16 pm

    Nesting? Already? No way. Also, if you don’t nest until after Sparky makes his appearance, you won’t actuallly be behind the curve. Infants don’t really need that much stuff.

    Send that tart here immediately! I’ll take care of that for you (and I don’t even like honey or figs). 😉

  2. Meg
    04/05/2011 at 6:38 pm

    Don’t put too much pressure on yourself to make lists and do shopping. You’ll get there when you’re ready. Sleeping is an issue for me too, the night thirsts and wee trips are annoying!

  3. Anxiousmummy
    04/05/2011 at 8:30 pm

    That tarte sounds amazing! You’re right abiut not going nuts though. The wait between appts is really hard-even now when it’s weekly! One day at a time, i’m here accepting vents as usual! Love xxoo

  4. 04/05/2011 at 10:43 pm

    I bet your tart was actually not too bad for you. 🙂 As for the stuff, well … you need a lot less than the baby stores and books would lead you to believe. Rest during the day when you can … and hang in there!

  5. sooz
    05/05/2011 at 1:06 am

    Yum! I love figs! Congrats on 25 weeks!

  6. 05/05/2011 at 2:39 am

    I am amazed that you are not nesting yet. I seem to be nesting for quintuplets, haha. I want some tart! or the recipe.

  7. 05/05/2011 at 9:37 am

    Congratulations on 25wks…awesome milestone!!! I also just opened up my pregnancy book from my last pregnancy last week and started reading where I had left off. I hear you on the wait in between appointments, I sway back and forth between feeling okay and completely anxious something is wrong, it’s exhausting!!! Thinking of you and sending love…we’re not far from being in a safer zone!

  8. 05/05/2011 at 11:42 am

    I love figs! Great source of fibre and keeps you regular! I didn’t like Up the Duff too much, sure some bits were funny but after experiencing IF for so many years I wanted to read something that was a bit more informative. I’m sure you’ve heard of “What to expect when you’re expecting”. I found this got me through the PG better than all the others because of the extensive research and thorough descriptions.

  9. 05/05/2011 at 4:52 pm

    I thought nesting had more to do with preparing your house etc and you’ve done plenty of THAT! And yes, that tart really sounds like it was lovely. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

