Home > Weekly Updates > 26: 65% of 40

26: 65% of 40

26 weeks. A dear bloggy friend of mine is having her c-sec today!  I’m quite distracted wondering how it’s going, searching for webcams in Brisbane so I know what sort of day her bub’s day of birth is, etc.  I’m so excited for her; she’s been through so much.  I hope it all goes well and is a wonderful, special day.

In general this whole gestation thing is SO much better hormone-wise than IVF.  But this last week has been hard.  I have NO fuse and cry over everything.  On Saturday I was getting angry at myself for how much I wouldn’t let myself do in the garden, which is just a bit odd.  Then later my husband was talking to my bump LOUDLY, and Sparky didn’t react.  So obviously crying because he’s deaf was the logical thing to do.  The next day I was driving to meet a friend for a bushwalk and felt perfectly fine, but tears were pouring down my face.  Ugh.  It was The Fertile One I was meeting up with, and it was Mother’s Day, so it was hard to convince her I really was OK.  I was!  Mostly.

My husband is a mad man.  The latest way this is being manifested is in his obsession with cots.  He’s decided what he wants and tried to order it online last week.  Lucky for me it’s on back order for 4 – 6 weeks.  Respite!!  Because once a cot is delivered, I don’t think I’d have any option but to get involved with Sparky’s room, and I ‘m happy not to be dealing with that yet.

Sleep is still difficult.  Friday night/Saturday morning I barely slept, then fell asleep at around 8 am.  I woke with a start at 10 am and when I realised the time I hurriedly dressed and went out to the living room to see my husband.  We were out of most breakfast things, so I suggested we go out for brunch.  At the cafe I was really hot, so started to take off my jumper when I realised I’d somehow ‘missed’ getting my arm into one of the arms of my top and so was only half wearing it!!  You know you’re tired when you’re 40 and can’t dress yourself!  Monday I wound up leaving work at noon because I was so tired; I sleep better during the day for some odd reason so thought going home would be more productive than staring at what need to work on, doing nothing.  But my thighs are still strangely painful when I try to sleep at night.

Sparky doesn’t move as much as he used to, and it worries me soooo much.  I try to convince myself it’s good – that he’s getting big & healthy and is just a bit more confined.  But I don’t feel like bump has grown for weeks now.  In fact either I’ve gotten used to its current size or it’s actually gotten smaller (but my fear – that never diminishes).   I hate this long wait between OB appointments.  Still two weeks until the scan and my next OB appointment.  The waiting never ends.  I hope Little Spark is OK.

But really, I’m not complaining.  I’m just worried and stressed.  Wondering how things will end.  And I’ve been doing this for the longest almost-6-months of my life.  However, I’m grateful for every day Sparky is inside.  I’m grateful every time I go to the loo and don’t see red.  I’m grateful for each twinge that startles me but then I locate as definitely not being anywhere near my cervix.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily (OB said I’ll stop taking it sometime in the 3rd trimester)
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 24 May: ‘well baby’ scan
  • 25 May: 28 weeks (a random good sounding number)
  • 26 May: Next OB appointment
  • 13 June:  Queen’s Birthday holiday
  • 22 June: 32 weeks (the earliest I could give birth at my chosen hospital)
  • 16 July:  Antenatal class
  • 19 July:  Doctor’s session
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 11/05/2011 at 12:34 pm

    I hear you on the worries! My little one wasn’t moving as much tonight as he usually does and it totally got me worrying, as you said I’m sure it’s just there isn’t as much room to move, but it’s so hard not to worry. I also hate the waiting in between appointments, looking forward to when I’m seeing the doctor every 2wks! I haven’t slept well at all this past week either, but it’s because baby has moved onto my bladder and I have to go to the bathroom practically every hour! Congrats to your friend in Brisbane! Thinking of you & sending love and hope that all continues smoothly ((hugs))

  2. a
    11/05/2011 at 12:40 pm

    You know, if you’re worried, you can probably talk yourself into an appointment and a scan. Because stress is bad for babies. 🙂

    He might be moving less, but aren’t his movements stronger? That’s what I remember…all of a sudden I wouldn’t feel anything except the twice daily attempt to pry my ribs apart.

    That roller coaster hormone ride…it’s going to go on for a bit.

  3. 11/05/2011 at 2:35 pm

    Do you have access to a Doppler? that would probably help to reassure with the movement. The other thing I noticed that helps is drinking something cold, Emma reacts to that. I am also crying about nothing, I saw a dead bug the other day and cried about how short his life was.

  4. 11/05/2011 at 3:41 pm

    It’s getting very confined in there! I used drink juice, the sugar content used to wake C up and I would feel him kick me for a bit. Apparently they like to sleep a lot too towards this stage especially if you’re keeping yourself busy and moving around. The motions makes them sleep. I think by the time the cot arrives you will be starting the “nesting” stage and will enjoy getting the baby room sorted!

  5. Jen
    11/05/2011 at 4:04 pm

    Every time I read one of your posts, I sincerely cheer because I’m still just so darn happy that you are preggo. 🙂 I can’t believe you are at 26 weeks! Whoot!

    I so get the irrational crying aspect of pregnancy. It really does seem logical at the time! Hang in there!

  6. 12/05/2011 at 1:05 am

    Thanks for your posts lately. As stressful as adoption can be, I think what you are going through is really, really tough! I wouldn’t be able to control my worry either, can’t wait until you can get the reassurance of another ob visit.

  7. 12/05/2011 at 4:58 am

    hang in there!! you’re 2/3’s of the way through!! i had to LOL at the fact that you weren’t quite wearing your short. haha, i’ve put stuff on backwards and realized it immediately, but never quite missed an armhole. heehee :o) i’m sure sparky is doing a-okay in there and is just a mellow baby :o) xoxo.

  8. 12/05/2011 at 7:49 am

    N moved less towards the end … I think she had less room to move. Hang in there … and just wait … the postpartum hormones are just as much fun!

  9. 12/05/2011 at 2:10 pm

    I can relate completely to the things you are worried about – level of movement and feeling like you’re not really getting bigger. It’s exactly the same for me and we’re pretty much at exactly the same gestation. And others have said the same thing, so maybe we can all take comfort in the fact that we’re all feeling the same way, so it must be normal, right?

  10. 12/05/2011 at 5:47 pm

    I can’t believe you are 26 Weeks already. Congratulations and hang in there

  11. Helen
    12/05/2011 at 9:48 pm

    At almost 32 weeks I still won’t allow discussion of cots or any type of major purchase associated with this baby – I was told this weekend (with affection!) that I’m like a bear with a sore tooth right now, so hormones playing havoc here too, but I agree, it’s still easier than the IVF hormone nightmare 🙂 I also found that baby went quiet for a few days, scaring the bejeepers out of me, but the midwife (and a reassuring scan) explained that baby’s back was turned and movements were harder to detect. It’s happened a few times in the weeks since and never failed to induce mild panic, so, sorry, the fear doesn’t leave… hang in there!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

