Home > Weekly Updates > 27: 67.5% of 40

27: 67.5% of 40

27 weeks.  Six days away from our ‘well baby’ scan.  I hope it really is a well baby scan and nothing is wrong with Little Spark.  The normal pre-scan paranoia has kicked in.  Speaking of kicking, Sparky’s not been a very obedient boy about kicking.  He still isn’t kicking as often as he used to.  Maybe he doesn’t have as much space; maybe he’s facing my back.  Monday he did give me one HUGE kick, but one huge kick a few days ago does not a calm me make.  Since then there have been a few small wiggles but not much else.

My hormones continue to rage. I cried at a petrol station Saturday morning. I’d just been for a couple hour walk on the beach with The Fertile One, walking our dogs. It was quite windy, so the last hour or so I found really exhausting. All I wanted to do was get home and be horizontal for a bit. However I needed petrol. The petrol station seemed strangely busy, and when I went into pay I realised it was just because the woman behind the counter was SO clueless. As I stood in line I realised how crap I looked; because I’d been to the beach and the next thing I was going to do was gardening, I was wearing trakkie daks with lots of mud around the ankles and a hoodie that I’d actually dribbled my muesli on. Classy. Plus during the windy walk my hair had gone completely knotted and mad. All I needed now was an assortment of shopping bags and to sit in the gutter mumbling at passers by to complete the look. When I got to the counter, I told the woman which pump I’d used and she asked me whether I’d pumped $31 or $32. I had no idea, but she wanted to wait for the other person who’d pumped on my pump to get in line so she could ask that person. Yes, this is when I started to cry. At the time I knew I was being really irrational and over-the top, but I just couldn’t control it. Oh well, at least it was good for making some work friends laugh at me on Monday.

Mt Wellington from Howrah Beach

Walks at such a pretty place really shouldn't make you cry!

I’ve actually bought something for Sparky! I ordered an Ergo baby carrier (a while ago actually), and it arrived Friday. I just shoved it in a closet, but it’s in my house. And I did it all by myself.

I still go to antenatal aqua aerobics classes once a week.  To be honest it seems to me the instructor doesn’t work us very hard, although other whales in the class complain that it’s all very exhausting.  But to me I’m not there to chat in water with my body spilling out of my swimming costume; I’m there for a work out.

Sleep is still difficult. One night I woke up screaming with a bad leg cramp; my husband thought I’d just delivered Sparky.  At least it’s only happened once.  The usual suspects keeping me awake are hurting thighs, reflux, fear, blah, blah, blah.  Same old, but it’s certainly getting old.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily (OB said I’ll stop taking it sometime in the 3rd trimester)
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 24 May (6 days away!): ‘well baby’ scan
  • 25 May (7 days away!): 28 weeks (a random good sounding number)
  • 26 May (8 days away!): Next OB appointment
  • 13 June: Queen’s Birthday holiday
  • 22 June: 32 weeks (the earliest I could give birth at my chosen hospital)
  • 16 July: Antenatal class
  • 19 July: Doctor’s session
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 18/05/2011 at 3:35 pm

    That beach looks heavenly! Good on you for buying the Ergo, makes it so real that you’re having a baby. I agree, not much room in there now for Sparky to do his acrobatics. A good dose of juice should give you a reasurring wiggle.

  2. 18/05/2011 at 3:55 pm

    Hey, you’re not allowed to complain, at least you have great looking floors! (yep, I am still jealous). Just kidding. Happy someone else is a bit blimpy with me. If you haven’t cried at a dead bug yet, then you haven’t topped me off.

  3. Anxiousmummy
    18/05/2011 at 4:33 pm

    Yay! Didn’t realize the scan was so close, and don’t worry about Sparky, he’ll be fine 🙂 the petrol station thing, I totally get. You are hormonal! And being overtired will do it every time 😦 Also with the leg cramp, maybe try taking your vitamin at night? Add Gatorade too? They’re caused by lack of magnesium I think. I had them too, nothing worse than waking up screaming 😦 Look after you! ❤ me

  4. 18/05/2011 at 10:04 pm

    One of my good friends had actually just warned me this week that I’d likely start feeling less movement as I got farther along because he has less room to move so hope that makes you feel a bit better. I know it’s hard though, I always find those movements reassuring too and get freaked out when I feel them less often. Will be thinking of you and sending lots of positive thoughts for the well baby scan! That beach is amazing, you’re lucky to live in such a beautiful place! Ugh, the leg cramps…I’ve woken with a couple of horribly painful ones too..not fun! Love the ERGO carrier, I got one too a few weeks ago & can’t wait to use it!!! Hope the rest of your week goes well my friend ((hugs))

  5. 19/05/2011 at 12:59 am

    Oh that pic is just gorgeous! I wish I was there right now…

  6. sooz
    19/05/2011 at 1:09 am

    Your pic is beautiful! It just solidifies that I have to visit New Zealand.

    I’m so sorry that your Monday was so emotional. I know your scan will go perfectly and Sparky will be healthy and happy. 🙂

    By the way, what are trakkie daks?

  7. 19/05/2011 at 3:23 am

    You will love the Ergo! I also like the Moby, but it’s a bit more complicated to tie. I will tell Noa to have an intercontinental chat with Sparky and tell him to behave himself. If I were closer, I’d be over this afternoon with chocolate peanut butter pillows. You are entitled to cry whenever you feel like it … or laugh irrationally, too, if that happens!

    Hang in there … you really ARE doing wonderfully.

  8. 19/05/2011 at 5:23 am

    If it’s any comfort to you, I’ve noticed fewer good hard kicks at this point too. Lots of wiggles, though.

    The leg cramps are sooo painful! I had some horrible ones with my first two pregnancies but only little ones in my feet this time. I’m on calcium supplements, which supposedly helps. Who knows if that’s what made the difference, but it may be worth a try.

  9. a
    19/05/2011 at 12:29 pm

    Ooh – well baby scan! Can’t wait to hear that all is well, and you’re doing just fine. I hope you’ll find it reassuring, if only momentarily. 🙂

    I want to cry too when I deal with useless people anywhere…and I don’t have the excuse of raging hormones.

  10. chon
    20/05/2011 at 12:57 pm

    How exciting – baby scan! Beautiful picture. We live in a lovely country 🙂 And the crying thing. Honey you are very pregnant now you damn well deserve to cry – hormones be damned!! glad things are going very well for you and Sparky!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

