Home > Weekly Updates > 30: 75% of 40

30: 75% of 40

30 weeks.  This past week has been so full of ups and downs.  There’s been lots of good news and difficult news, which I wanted to write about but maybe in a different post.  But having a nice big, round ‘3’ seems good.  I assume it’s the last time the number at the front of how many weeks I am will change, so that’s scary and exciting.

Work is still uncertain.  In theory this organisational review will be completed by the end of the month, however as they hasn’t finalised the process or started any of the information gathering for it, I doubt it will be.  I meant to talk to my OB about when I should stop working last time I saw him, but as I was so worried about my cervix I completely forgot.  However according to HR rules I should have already informed my manager in writing about when I’ll be going.  Just going by when another friend and patient of Warren is doing, I have told him my last day is likely to be 20 July (when I hit 36 weeks).  Unfortunately my OB is on leave this week, so I’m seeing another one (Lisa Turner).  Hopefully she’ll be happy to recommend when I should stop working and give me the paperwork I need.  Assuming I still have a job then.

No change in the lack of sleep area!  Need to wake up and flip over onto other side because hips hurting = yes.  Need to wake up to drink water during the night = yes.  Need to wake up to go to the loo = yes.  Often awake between 3 – 6 am = yes.

My hormones gave me a bit of a respite.  I had about a week when I didn’t feel alternately weepy and rage-y.  Then Monday afternoon I had a meeting with someone off site.  It was actually with a child health nurse; I’m putting in an interface for the service that checks mums and bubs at regular intervals.  I started the meeting, and suddenly was crying.  I didn’t feel upset – I actually started laughing.  But I’ve never been so earnestly asked if I needed a cup of tea!  How embarrassing.  Hopefully the hormones settle back down and aren’t ramping up for more fun!

But all-in-all I’ve not been too bad physically.  Yes, I’m exhausted.  Yes, I’m beginning to feel the weight in my legs and my pelvic floor.  But I’ve not had any swelling or back pain.  Sparky moves fairly often, and I love that.  I don’t know what comes next or how to deal with it, so at this point I’d be happy if he just stayed inside forever.  This is the closest I’ve been to actually enjoying him.

Not that I’m without fears; I had such a vivid and horrible dream a few mornings ago.  I dreamt I’d just given birth to Sparky, and the nurses had Blobby there too.  They were showing me Blobby – he looked exactly as he had last time I saw him, in the same position etc – and I kept asking how Little Spark was – was he alive?  Was he OK? Could I see him?  But they kept showing me Blobby and commenting how great it was Sparky got to twice Blobby’s age.  I miss Blobby very much.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily (OB said I’ll stop taking it sometime in the 3rd trimester)
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 10 June: Next OB appointment (but with Lisa Turner instead of my normal OB)
  • 13 June: Queen’s Birthday holiday
  • 22 June: 32 weeks (the earliest I can give birth at my preferred hospital)
  • 16 July: Antenatal class
  • 19 July: Doctor’s session
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 08/06/2011 at 10:48 am

    Congratulations on reaching 30wks!!! Such an exciting milestone isn’t it?! I’m sorry about the mixed emotions, it is hard to alternately feel those emotions of missing our children who have gone and feeling excited about the arrival or our current babes. Consider yourself lucky you haven’t experienced any swelling, I started to have that these past few days and my poor feet are hurting! Continuing to send love & thoughts your way my friend ((hugs))

  2. a
    08/06/2011 at 11:33 am

    30 weeks is great. I’m sorry there’s work stress, but I hope you can get that settled in short order.

  3. 08/06/2011 at 11:41 am

    Ah, yes … those dreams. I remember them. Hang in there … you’re so close, and your Spark is waiting patiently to meet his mama. And I don’t know if you believe in this sort of thing, but I always feel like angel babies are watching over their siblings … Blobby is very much with you right now.

    And always, remember to breathe.

  4. 08/06/2011 at 12:35 pm

    Welcome the the “3’s”! I also started enjoying being PG around this time, although the pain increased and I started to get itchy. I agree with Justine, our dreams are ways for our lost loved ones to find us again. Blobby was saying hi. I hope the next OB session goes well.

  5. Beth
    08/06/2011 at 7:05 pm

    Well done on getting to 30 weeks, not long at all until you finish work. I smile when you said it would be the last time the front number ticks over, I have a feeling that this little one may keep you waiting longer than you had hoped as you are providing such a good home.

    Defo get the forms in with work as soon as possible, should hopefully protect you a bit from the restructuring as they will hopefully keep away from any sex discrimination case by making the pg lady redundant, and therefore there will be something to go back for.

    Feeling for you with your dream about Blobby, Blobby will be with you forever and is part of you. In the excitment of what is to come, some may forget the journey you have been on and the loss that you have suffered, but as long as you honour Blobby and gently remind others, then that is a positive way forward.

    B x

  6. sooz
    09/06/2011 at 1:29 am

    Congratulations! I can’t believe it’s already 30 weeks. You’re almost there!

    Hopefully, the work thing will be figured out soon and you’ll feel less stress.

  7. 09/06/2011 at 4:47 am

    30 weeks is a big milestone! I’m enjoying it more now, too. Hopefully we’ll both get a least a few weeks to enjoy before we start worrying about how these babies are going to get out!

  8. Mel
    10/06/2011 at 11:39 am

    30 weeks is a huge milestone. Congratulations on reaching that 75% mark. I can’t believe it’s just a few more weeks.

  9. 10/06/2011 at 1:18 pm

    Congratulations on making it to 30 weeks! That is such an important milestone to reach! I just started reading your blog so I had a bit to catch up on. I will be hoping and praying that everything continue to progress. It sounds like you are doing really well and your little one is healthy. I do hope you are able to get some naps in during the day to make up for all the lost sleep at night.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

