Home > OB Visits, Weekly Updates > 31: 77.5% of 40

31: 77.5% of 40

31 weeks.  I think the most exciting thing about this week for me is that there are less than 9 weeks to go until Little Spark’s due date.  One digit; you don’t need all your fingers to count the weeks left.

I haven’t talked about food for a few weeks (I know that must be killing you all – ha!).  I still have problems stomaching garlic or leafy greens.  I’ve been told that will pass as soon as I’m un-Sparkied, so I’ve planted my garlic for next year and kept up the succession planting on my salad greens in anticipation.  I don’t know if it’s the winter weather or just greediness, but lately I want CHEESE.  Lots of cheese.

Early on I had to eat constantly or I’d be quite nauseous; now I’m usually fine being a bit more normal.  A few months ago I HAD to have brekkie as soon as I woke up – and sometimes had to have a snack in the middle of the night.  Monday’s a good example of how things have changed: I was busy doing housework in the morning so forgot to eat; we went out to lunch rather late and they didn’t have anything I could eat so only had a piece of cake at 2:45; had a pear when I got home; and only really ate at dinner!  Not healthy at all nor something I’ll let myself get away with more often, but it’s sort of nice to not be quite so much a slave to food.

My husband is still nesting.  In the last week he’s organised getting a heat pump for the living room/kitchen area.  This is the first time since I started living with him he’s done made a major purchase for the house himself; everything else we’ve done I’ve organised and paid for.  However he couldn’t have his son face the end of a Tasmanian winter with our pathetic heating.  Our house is impossible to heat; we have lots of small rooms with tall ceilings.  This will just heat the living and dining room, but we spend most of our time there.  The room slated to become Little Spark’s is quite small and has a relatively low ceiling, so a space heater should keep it warm quite easily.

And Monday while I was cleaning the bathroom, kitchen, etc he was getting miscellaneous stuff that had accumulated in the room destined to be Sparky’s out.  So now it’s sort of waiting for me.  It needs cleaning, then it needs to get organised.  All it has now is a stack of stuff in the corner that my husband’s gotten and an armchair ‘for breastfeeding’.  Huh.  I’m not feeling one with the room, but if I treat it as a project to be accomplished I’ll get there.

I saw the OB on Friday.  My OB, Warren, was away on leave so I saw Lisa Turner instead.  I was glad to be seeing her because depending upon on-call schedules it will be either Warren, Lisa Turner, or Steve Sonneveld who is there when Sparky arrives.  Warren’s my usual OB, and we started IVF with Steve (I prefer him to Bill!!), so I was keen to meet Lisa. I’m pleased to say she was really nice.

My blood pressure was up in the high part of normal.  They did a urine test to check for protein, but there was none.  And Lisa said that my blood pressure has actually been dropping, so she didn’t put me on the blood pressure medication that Warren said she probably would (and that he’s been threatening me with for the past 20 weeks – just do it!).

She did an ultrasound and said Sparky weighed about 1.5 kilos and was on track to weigh 3 kilos at birth (but of course this will be reviewed later).  Apparently he has a full head of hair which shows up on the ultrasound.  As usual, he was head down and bum up with an anterior spine.  Which would be a good position to be in if he plans on leaving his warm little home but makes it difficult for heart rate measurements.  After the appointment I realised Sparky’s supposed to DOUBLE his current rate in the next 9 weeks.  Double.  He’s already beginning to feel a bit weighty on my bladder and legs.

She asked me if I needed a certificate for work and when I wanted to stop working, so I’ve gone for leaving at 36 weeks.  So my last day at work (if I still have a job by then – it’s been quite stressful and uncertain) is 20 July.  I have put in my maternity leave form; it sounds like such a bizarre and unlikely thing for me to do.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily (OB said I’ll stop taking it sometime in the 3rd trimester)
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 20 June: Next OB appointment
  • 22 June: 32 weeks (the earliest I can give birth at my preferred hospital)
  • 16 July: Antenatal class
  • 19 July: Doctor’s session
  • 20 July: 36 weeks; last day at work! (25 working days left)
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: OB Visits, Weekly Updates
  1. Anxiousmummy
    15/06/2011 at 7:55 pm

    Yay for 31 weeks! And I love hearing about what you’re eating 🙂 It is so weird to think about how big he’ll be at birth ! I predict your appetite will increase but we’ll see 🙂 xxo

  2. 16/06/2011 at 12:40 am

    Yay for single digits!

  3. sooz
    16/06/2011 at 12:46 am

    Congrats on 31 weeks! You’re in the final stretch!

    I’m glad that everything seems to be going perfectly and your blood pressure (as well as your appetite) are a-ok. By the way…cheese is so yummy and it’s full of calcium. 🙂

  4. 16/06/2011 at 6:46 am

    I love the way you’re talking, now, too … like he is coming, and soon. Go, boy, go!! Glad you are both healthy… 🙂

  5. Jen
    16/06/2011 at 9:45 am

    Go go little spark! Before you know it, Sparky will be here! 🙂

  6. 16/06/2011 at 10:55 am

    Congratulations on reaching single digits…it is such an exciting milestone huh?! Glad you and spark are looking good and it sounds as though everything is coming together well at home.

  7. a
    16/06/2011 at 11:46 am

    9 more weeks…and only 5 more weeks of work! (I hope the work stress gets settled quickly)

    Glad to hear the blood pressure is still good – keep an eye on it, though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

