Home > Weekly Updates > 32: 80% of 40

32: 80% of 40

32 weeks.  8 weeks to EDD.  4 weeks to maternity leave.

Last night was the longest night of the year, so that means our days are finally getting longer!  With sunrise at 7:45 and sunset at 16:45 (but with mountains to our west making it seems earlier), I could really use some more daylight!!

The daylight for me this week has been surviving scary times on monitors.  I almost feel bad being OK now as another ivf  & loss survivor/donor-assisted bloggie friend who has a little boy at the same gestational age as Sparky isn’t doing so well.  She’s helped me feel sane when my thoughts are so different from what I think a normal woman would be at each stage of Sparky’s existence because she seems to be feeling the same things; I wish she wasn’t going through a scare bigger than mine.  Why can’t karma actually work the way it’s supposed to?

I’ve been trying to find positives from what I went through over the weekend.

  • Although it’s still a freaky place, I’m not as knee-shakingly terrified of the maternity ward as I was.  The nurses listened to me, they were concerned about Sparky and I, and they made sure I know I can always go there for help.
  • I’ve been able to talk to my husband about how I respond to stress so he understands that simple but unimportant questions might baffle me completely.  If I pause or say a confused ‘I don’t know’ he now knows that means I can’t grasp or care about the question and he should just decide.
  • I’ve made certain my husband knows where my hospital bag is and that in its front pocket there’s a note of other things to grab.
  • Our obstetrician updates a sheet for us at each visit with all my test results, blood pressure, etc; now we photocopy it immediately after the visit so we have one copy at home and one in the car, just in case (it was at home Saturday).

I also realise I actually have to start dealing with Sparky objects in my house.  I feel I need to ensure we’ll soon have the basics for him, just in case.  I have to wash some clothes (my husband wouldn’t think to wash anything – he’d just bring it to hospital  :-P).  I have to make my husband decide upon a cot (he fell in love with one he was going to order from the mainland, but they don’t have the colour he wanted in Australia; we’re going to get one locally this weekend!).  I have to make sure he helps me wash the walls and windows in Sparky’s room (again – not something he’d think of in a million years).  But he’s still nesting in his way; his latest purchase is a new vacuum cleaner.

Sparky’s being a good boy though.  He MOVES.  Lots.  Sometimes it’s startling when I get such a strong wiggle or kick suddenly.  He doesn’t let me slouch; if I do he puts pressure on my right ribs.  But I like the movement, even if it wakes me up.  At this point I’d rather he just stay inside forever.  He’s easy to feed and keep warm now.  I’m beginning to realise I’m totally fearless with giving myself injections but am terrified by the idea of having a little wiggler on the outside.  I know nothing about them.  On the other hand I already walk like a penguin; I can’t imagine what I’ll be like in a few weeks.

On the food front, I just want to live on dairy products.  A glass of chocolate milk with a scoop of vanilla ice cream seems like a perfectly reasonable meal to me at any time of day; I’m trying to restrain myself.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily (OB said I’ll stop taking it sometime in the 3rd trimester)
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 6 July: 34 weeks (the earliest I can give birth at my preferred hospital; I thought I was told 32 weeks when I registered, but I read something saying it was 34 weeks so have changed it)
  • 8 July: Next OB appointment
  • 16 July: Antenatal class
  • 19 July: Doctor’s session
  • 20 July: 36 weeks; last day at work! (20 working days left)
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 22/06/2011 at 2:24 pm

    80% is such a good rounded number. Sorry to read about your friends PG – I hope it all works out well in the end. I used to worry when C wriggled around too much like he was having a fit. Not surprisingly he is a wriggler now and won’t ever relax.

  2. 22/06/2011 at 4:35 pm

    I have been really useless at posting comments, but have been following along silently. I am so sorry you have had such scares, but so relieved that all is on track. WOW only 8 weeks to go – really not very long at all now and that must be such a relief for you. It seems you have finally found yourself in a place where you can face the coming reality that Sparky is going to be in your arms soon. Sendin gyou much love as you enter the final stages of the count down.

  3. a
    23/06/2011 at 12:00 pm

    80%! Almost there! I hope the worst is behind you…

    It’s probably a good idea to wash an outfit or two. Don’t push past your comfort zone, because newborns really don’t need much, and who doesn’t like shopping and cleaning when they’re zombie-like due to lack of sleep? 🙂 (Not to mention taking care of an infant)

    What’s wrong with a diet consisting of chocolate milk and ice cream?

  4. 23/06/2011 at 12:08 pm

    It’s a good thing I don’t live closer to you. I would absolutely be an enabler when it comes to your diet. Sparky is a smart little boy already. 😉

    8 weeks will pass in the blink of an eye … your little one will be here soon. I’m glad that you’re nesting in your own way!!

  5. 25/06/2011 at 7:04 am

    Love hearing the good news! I am so glad to know things are progressing well. I was sad to hear about your friend though.

  6. 28/06/2011 at 3:55 pm

    It sounds so strange to me that you just want to keep Sparky safely tucked away inside, as I’m so anxious to be done with the pregnancy part already. But, I have been wondering if living in this state of denial – of not actually believing there will be a take home baby at the end of it all – might leave us in shock if/when we do actually have someone to bring home. We infertiles spend so much time worrying about the pregnancy that maybe we don’t emotionally prepare as much as fertiles for the end-game. I’m so glad your husband is nesting, and that you’re doing all the things men don’t think to do.

    I don’t think you’ve got anything to worry about though. Even though you don’t know much about life with little people (and who does until it happens?), you’ve spent so much time loving and worrying about Sparky already that I know you’ll be great when he wriggles his way into your arms.

    Chocolate milk & ice cream….think of all the calcium you’re getting! Speaking of dairy, you’re only 8ish weeks away from brie – I might have to hate you a tiny bit for that!

  7. 28/06/2011 at 9:25 pm

    It sounds like you and your husband are in a really good place right now. My husband knows that if I get in a stressful situation, I just start agreeing with the person in authority. You both seem to be nesting in your own little way, getting the “spare room” ready for a new house-guest who will be arriving in eight weeks or so.

  8. Jess
    29/06/2011 at 1:17 pm

    Wowzers- 80%. Sorry to hear about your scare and your friend’s scare. Hang in there, Sparky!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

