Home > Weekly Updates > 33: 82.5% of 40

33: 82.5% of 40

33 weeks.  7 weeks to EDD.  3 weeks to maternity leave.

Firstly, I’m excited to say that the bloggy friend I was worried about last week has had her boy and he’s doing really well!  I can’t tell you how thrilled it am!

Last weekend was a strange one for me.  It started going to The Fertile One’s daughter’s first birthday party.  It should have been Blobby’s first birthday too.  But I went along, took lots of photos, ate cake, and gave her a little stuffed schnauzer which she LOVED and wouldn’t put down (looks just like my dog, who she’s known since before birth because that’s how The Fertile One and I met – our dogs met online and we walk them together).

Then afterwards, we got a cot.  And a mattress.  And my husband fell in love with some bookends.  So now there’s a cot in my house – and on Sunday we even set it up.  Nothing else in the room is ready – it needs vacuuming again because of the messy box and packing materials the cot came in, and the wardrobe needs emptying and cleaning – but the cot’s a huge step for me.  I’ll open the window as much as I can so the mattress can air out (not easy with such short daylight hours).

As I was lumbering my way into the shower the other morning, I caught sight of my tummy and realised how many huge, blue blood vessels you can see all over it.  My body’s changed.  It’s been different changes then I had with Blobby; I have a very obvious linea negra with him, but not this time.  I think for a while my enormous breasts helped camouflage how enormous my tummy is, but there’s no getting around it’s enormity now.  It really feels like there’s soo much weight on my legs and pelvic floor; sometimes I think Sparky’s trying to push out.  I walk like a penguin, and sometimes literally push Sparky around in my tum to try to get him off my bladder.  If I try to walk quickly or walk downhill, the pressure on my bladder immediately makes me feel like I have to go to the loo – even if I just did.  I don’t sleep well.  I get on my side and rest Sparky on the mattress and feel comfy for a while – but then my hip hurts and I have to turn over – and that’s getting to be more difficult each week.

I’m most comfortable in the pool, and really would love to go more than once a week but I never seem to find the time.  I’ve been to 10 whale classes (antenatal aqua aerobics) so far, and look forward to it every week.  I don’t know that the teachers are very good, but I really love the feeling of being able to move and exercise to freely!

Work is fairly dismal.  We still have no idea if they are going to cut positions in my team, and the way the review team is going I won’t know before I go on maternity leave.  I have a huge amount of work to get done before maternity leave.  In fact, I’ll be training nurses my last afternoon!  Not counting today I have 15 more days at work.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin daily (OB said I’ll stop taking it sometime in the 3rd trimester)
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 6 July: 34 weeks (the earliest I can give birth at my preferred hospital; I thought I was told 32 weeks when I registered, but I read something saying it was 34 weeks so have changed it)
  • 8 July: Next OB appointment
  • 16 July: Antenatal class
  • 19 July: Doctor’s session
  • 20 July: 36 weeks; last day at work! (20 working days left)
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. chon1203
    29/06/2011 at 4:14 pm

    Ha ha ha I just had the funniest visuals! It is all going so well!! I can’t wait for the next few weeks when we get your announcement. Congrats on being over 80% x

  2. 29/06/2011 at 9:39 pm

    So glad to hear you’re doing well, just catching up & you’ve been on my mind often this past week! Sorry work has been so stressful, soon though it will not be as important. Continuing to send love and positive thoughts your way ((hugs))

  3. 30/06/2011 at 10:20 am

    Almost there and only 15 more days to go. Amazing! You must be so excited! I’ve never heard those classes called “whale” classes before. Very funny.

  4. a
    30/06/2011 at 12:39 pm

    You got a cot! Hurray! Just a short time left, really. I hope you’ll post a picture of Sparky when he arrives…

  5. 30/06/2011 at 12:53 pm

    I love how you put the percentage of the 40 weeks on your post. It feels strange to be so close after traveling such a long, hard road to get here. So glad you were able to get a cot. It’s really going to happen this time!

  6. 30/06/2011 at 4:38 pm

    I love swimming as well, and the whale aerobics made me laugh! You are far more advanced than I am with the cot, mine is only going to get shipped at the end of July, making me a bit nervous, ditto for the car seat and the stroller… I can see I am having to bring the baby home on the bike in a knapsack.

  7. 02/07/2011 at 9:00 am

    I hope works goes really fast and they don’t work you too hard. Glad the swimming is helping. Congratulations on 80%

  8. 07/07/2011 at 4:14 am

    I can’t even imagine pushing a baby around in the tummy! That must be quite a feeling 🙂

    Congrats on 33 weeks! It feels so, soooo far away for me 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

