Home > Ovum Donor Pregnancy > Annoyingly Paranoid or Responsibly Cautious?

Annoyingly Paranoid or Responsibly Cautious?

Yesterday in the wee small hours I woke up and eventually realised that my ring finger hurt.  My rings had been loose when I went to bed, but now my fingers were swollen.  I could – and quickly did – get my rings off my finger, but then what to do?

I had a shower. I tried to remain calm. I tried to figure out if I had any other signs that might indicate high blood pressure.  I had a slight ringing in my ears – however that could also be accounted for by my head cold.  Did I feel dizzy?  As soon as I wondered if I did, of course I felt slightly dizzy.  Had I talked myself into it or was I experiencing a real symptom?

I realised my brain was spinning out of control, so phoned the maternity ward.  They said to come in for monitoring – it was probably nothing and there was no need to rush, but it would be better to come on and check.

I woke my husband and told him what I was doing and why.  I told him he could come but didn’t have to (this was me trying to be completely non-hysterical!)  He said he’d stay home (poor guy – he only woke up enough to realise what was going on after I left, so then felt awful he hadn’t gone).  I fed my doggie; I didn’t rush.  I drove to hospital calmly, and then I didn’t scream at the building when I realised I didn’t know where the after-hours entry to the hospital was. I calmly went around to the emergency entry in back and a baffled nurse let me through staff areas to the main foyer.

At the maternity unit they were expecting me, so soon my wee was being checked for protein and I was being hooked up to monitors.

My blood pressure was up only slightly from what it had been at Warren’s office on Friday; nothing to be alarmed about.  I was kept on monitors for a while longer.  Sparky was doing great – except he seemed to be trying to escape from his monitor and kept jumping around.  Strangely after a while, when I was feeling almost relaxed, my blood pressure did spike.  Sigh.

Since my obstetrician was due in at 8 am, they kept me in and ordered brekkie.  At this point I was feeling fairly stupid for coming in, but I read my book and listened to Sparky – his heart beating and the pops and scrapes when he wiggled.
When Warren came he was as nice as the nurses had all been (and they were very nice).  He said he did want me watching out just in case and coming in to get checked if anything seemed worrisome.

So that was my Monday – wee small hours being paranoid, then home to get some sleep.  And now I tap out a blog post in bed, trying not to stress about the work I didn’t get done yesterday!

Categories: Ovum Donor Pregnancy
  1. a
    12/07/2011 at 10:41 am

    They have been worried about your blood pressure from the start. It could go out of control at any time (but it won’t, dammit!). Absolutely responsibly cautious. Better to be safe than to be having an emergency because you ignored something. Now, I just hope it doesn’t happen again!

  2. 12/07/2011 at 1:17 pm

    I hope you don’t get too many of these worries. I left my wedding ring on too late. It had to be cut off!

  3. 12/07/2011 at 6:36 pm

    I had to take off my engagement ring, but the wedding band is still on, we will see how long it stays on. I hope the BP is nothing to worry about and that it comes down. Check it daily if you can at a pharmacy if possible, here the pharmacies have BP machines.

  4. 12/07/2011 at 6:37 pm

    and definitely responsibly cautious. You are NOT paranoid!

  5. Still A Guest Room
    13/07/2011 at 12:35 am

    So glad all is well. Definitely better to play it safe!

  6. 13/07/2011 at 1:08 am

    I agree … better to be reassured, and to call them if you’re worried. That’s what they’re there for. I’m glad that it’s all OK … and hope that you don’t have occasion to feel that way again! You’re getting SO close … remember to breathe.

  7. 13/07/2011 at 3:23 am

    I’d say definitely responsibly cautious! I’m glad that everything went well and it wasn’t something serious. It’s always, always better to be safe…plus, at the very least it gives you peace of mind which is worth it’s weight in gold.

  8. 13/07/2011 at 5:21 am

    Responsibly cautious, I think you did exactly the right thing and woul dpossibly have done the same thing under those circumstances. And who cares about the work you didn;t get done, nothing is more important that your and Sparky’s health.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

